Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great read!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
Funny just doesn't cut it. This book is hysterical. It's also heartwarming, heartwrenching and poignant in places. If you're a fan of Bill Bryson, you'll love James Conmy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will LLOL (literally laugh out loud), 15 April 2014
By 
E. Kay "Eeek" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
Funny, wry observations on family life with young children, awkward social moments, and navigating social niceties in the workplace. Mr. Conmy brilliantly catalogues those moments when that voice in our head gives us bad advice and leaves us wanting the world to swallow us whole at that very moment. They are his experiences, but we all laugh out loud because anyone who has been left crimson after a social faux pas or an innocent, but terribly direct question from a child can relate.

I am looking forward to his next instalment as his children begin school, he hits his next “significant birthday” and more people who put the ‘strange’ into stranger sit next to him on his train journeys in to London….
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If a book could be a rueful cuddle..., 14 April 2014
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
James Conmy has a wonderful take on the world; at the same time witty, tender and sharp. His stories are delicious, they make you nod and grin as you read them, in recognition and delight. I've been following his work for a few years online, it totally deserves a book and it's a thrill to find he's published one. His inimitable conversations with his brain are deceptively anecdotal; with a feather-light touch and huge wit he illuminates all our everyday skirmishes with life, love and other people. Mostly love. Reading Conmy is a total delight and leaves you wanting to write yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning! Do not read in public!!!!!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
This book is an absolute must read! I have many a time had to put this back in my bag on the train as I've made myself look a fool laughing out loud!! Fantastic genuine,funny book written by a very nice chap indeed! Well Done James..get on with book no 2 now please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
Great read, lots of laugh out loud moments, I would highly recommend to everyone! Well done jimbob can't wait for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly brilliant!, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
Laugh till it hurts... laugh till you cry... this book will make you do both! Genius book, extremely well written. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant observational humour in literary form. Very funny!, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
If you're someone who is easily embarrassed, I'd recommend you don't read this on a train, plane, bus or indeed in any public place. This book elicited a steady stream of snorts, giggles and outright guffaws, and many an "oh god yes, I'm so glad it's not just me!" Insightful, funny, wistful and yet down to earth, it's a joy to read. The only downside was that many of his hilarious anecdotes seemed all too short, where I was hoping for further detail or was left wondering what happened next. But like all good artists, James has left his audience on a high, wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 15 July 2014
By 
Tracey Collier (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Paperback)
I've lost count of the number of times I've laughed out loud in the work's (packed) canteen, reading this. We all have that voice in our head that constantly questions everything we do and James' take on numerous, everyday situations that 'that' voice always seems to have an opinion of, is proper spit-your-coffee-out-giggling stuff. A seriously belly-achingly funny read. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fab book... so funny, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Paperback)
I've read some of James Conmy's work before but this book had it all and more.... so funny in places I actually cried with laughter! Tales about life, relationships and raising children...excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shut Up Brain! (Kindle Edition)
Proper laugh out loud stories, Id love to be inside the Authors head for a day xxx I will never look at a coffee shop the same again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shut Up Brain!
Shut Up Brain! by James Conmy (Paperback - 7 July 2014)
£6.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews