Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning read
A very good read with stunning imagery. The detail is well presented and the action is gripping. Looking forward to the next book, film or TV series and game app.
Published 2 months ago by Bazwah

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I've read an awful lot worse. The Fear Saga has potential
As others have said, it needs a decent editor. Some parts of the book drag a bit, but other parts are exciting reading. I've read an awful lot worse. The Fear Saga has potential, and I love the idea of the alien invaders' ships being visible for years as they decelerate towards Earth.

I'll certainly read the next book, hopefully it will be a 5 star read.
Published 15 days ago by Impatient Adult


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read with stunning imagery. The detail is well presented and the action is gripping. Looking forward to the next book, film or TV series and game app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent and Engrossing Read, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr Stephen Moss has written an engrossing tale that builds slowly, but surely - when the action kicks in it kicks in hard and fast. This tale ends with a Bang. Good stuff all round.
Will be purchasing the next when it appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started this review after a couple of chapters. Now I have finished and I have to say I was gripped right to the end, so much so that I do hope that Stephen Moss has book two pretty near ready. I wanna read it now!

It is a real page turner and really should be in a different category. It is sci fi certainly but the depth of the plot, the twists and turns and the complexity of the characters make it much more than that, it has real literary merit. I think this guy will go places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I've read an awful lot worse. The Fear Saga has potential, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As others have said, it needs a decent editor. Some parts of the book drag a bit, but other parts are exciting reading. I've read an awful lot worse. The Fear Saga has potential, and I love the idea of the alien invaders' ships being visible for years as they decelerate towards Earth.

I'll certainly read the next book, hopefully it will be a 5 star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really was fantastic, intelligent but far from perfect well developed aliens ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This really was fantastic, intelligent but far from perfect well developed aliens (to be honest a little more developed than some of the human characters). A nice balance between plot and just blowing things up.

Looking forward to the next book but a small warning to the author. The first book stays on the right side of American jingoism (ie it doesnt dominate it) but it could easily turn into an 'all American heroes' save the world in future books. Please could you try to cover how the whole world reacts, whether it unites or tears itself apart (realistically following on from the 1st book the world is more likely to blow itself up long before it has to worry about aliens)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a new twist on the old tale of aliens coming to earth with vastly superior technology, infiltrating society and expecting to win easily. But a small group of conspirators know what is going on and plot to defeat them. Loads of drama and space battles. I found some of the detailed passages a bit slow and skipped over them. A very satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Fear the Sky: 1 (The Fear Saga) (Paperback)
I had trouble putting it down and can't wait for the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable... keep up the good work Stephen!, 29 Jun 2014
By 
N. S. Farr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear the Sky: 1 (The Fear Saga) (Paperback)
Found it promoted on Facebook suggesting it was as good as some other authors... Hmmm... During reading Ian M Banks' last book I wasn't sure. However for a few quid as a kindle purchase I thought I would give it a go...
Although it suffers a little from being too explanatory at the start (eg the use of brand names to engage the reader), and some of the world agencies seem to have little or no processes and security in place, it is actually a very enjoyable read.

The timeline the story takes place is around the present and (taking my comments above) relatively believable it could happen. A good narrative keeps the story going and with a few minor twists (but no real cliffhangers) it keeps you coming back for more. Good to see this is the first of a trilogy telling the story as there is lots more to say from Stephen.

Keep up the good work Stephen (and if you want a poof reader for your next works to remove the typos and occasional incorrect words, happy to oblige!)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Moss has really nailed this one . . ., 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best SF novels I've read in quite a while. Whilst the broad plot is nothing new (alien invasion of Earth) the twists and turns it encompasses are laid out with precision, relevance and no small degree of suspense. Stephen's book skilfully combines some exceedingly well thought through science with believable fiction. Character development was pretty good too, although the logical, machine oriented minds of the alien race did tend to acquire a few less than rational characteristics as the story developed. But without that tiny flaw, the human race would surely have been doomed. It's quite a long book but there are no barren patches along the way in the sense that some novels seem to struggle for direction mid way. A real page turner amongst the genre, and I can't wait for the sequel. Nice one Mr Moss !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a truly fantastic read everything you want from a good science fiction novel can't wait to read this author's second book of the fear saga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear the Sky: 1 (The Fear Saga)
Fear the Sky: 1 (The Fear Saga) by Stephen Moss (Paperback - 1 Jun 2014)
9.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews