Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incisive and poignant analysis of Piketty' book
This short summary spanning over 41 pages gave me a holistic view of the capitalistic economic structure, which Thomas Piketty has so elegantly discussed in his own book. I can now appreciate the view-point of the anti-capitalist movement. I would give it a 5 star rating for logical and very elegant presentation of complex economic issues - the capital/income ratio; past,...
Published 4 months ago by Dr. Anisur Rahman

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Brief!
Not value for money- I had the entirely wrong impression that this was a book,when it is the size of a pamphlet and I am not convinced it was an adequate summary of the original.
Published 3 months ago by christine panks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incisive and poignant analysis of Piketty' book, 24 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
This short summary spanning over 41 pages gave me a holistic view of the capitalistic economic structure, which Thomas Piketty has so elegantly discussed in his own book. I can now appreciate the view-point of the anti-capitalist movement. I would give it a 5 star rating for logical and very elegant presentation of complex economic issues - the capital/income ratio; past, present and future trend in wealth concentrations. This book (as well as the original Piketty's book) should be read by all discerning readers to have a clear view of economic trend, both nationally and internationally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admirably clear and accessible, 15 April 2014
By 
Norman Housley (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
Well done Thibeault on producing such an admirable and helpful summary of Piketty's monumental thesis. The book can be read in about an hour and leaves you with a sound grasp of Piketty's argument, accompanied by URLs that take you to the crucial graphs.
The key point to emerge from Piketty, as far as I am concerned, is that he thoroughly demolishes the trickle down claim of the free marketeers - trickle down does not happen, instead capital accumulation cuts itself loose from economic growth and becomes self-perpetuating and socially exclusive to the nth degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Structured and meticulous, 31 May 2014
By 
Serghiou Const (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
Presently - and not only presently - there is a staggering and increasing wealth inequality in the developed world while the incomes of the large majority have stagnated.

The reason is that capital - and the wealth it generates - tends to accumulate faster than the rate of economic growth in capitalist societies. Additionally wealth not only tends to accumulate, but to become more and more concentrated at the top. To obtain an idea of the dizzying concentration of wealth at the top suffice it to cite that the capital ownership in USA presently of the top 10% stands at 70% while at the top 1% at nearly 35% while in Britain and France the corresponding figures are not substantially different.

The natural tendency of capital to accumulate and to become ever more concentrated largely explains the high degree of inequality that was witnessed in the developed world in the early part of the twentieth century. This inequality was largely reduced in the interwar years. The reason for this is that the major events of the first half of the twentieth century - the two world wars and the Great Depression - reduced capital's natural tendency to accumulate, and also destroyed large stocks of wealth. The end result was that by the time World War II was over, inequality in the developed world had reached an all-time low.

After the second world war, various political and economic measures - progressive taxation, rent control, increasing minimum wages, and expanded welfare programs - worked to redistribute this growing capital, thus preventing inequality from growing as quickly as it would become otherwise.

In the 1980s, though, the developed countries eliminated many of the measures that prevented inequality from rising according to its natural tendency. The consequence was that inequality reasserted itself in a major way, such that is nearly as extreme to-day as it was on the run up to the Great Depression. The historical evidence indicates that capital will likely continue to accumulate and become ever more concentrated, such that we will witness an even greater level of inequality in the future.

The author (Thomas Piketty) believes that the best and fairest solution to these problems would be progressive taxation applied to the wealthiest individuals.The author recognizes that in a world of financial globalization - where there is a high degree of competition for capital - it is extremely difficult to apply the appropriate tax scheme without the cooperation and coordinated effort of the international community - and this is hard to achieve.

The alternative is less savoring that is reverting to protectionism and nationalism and possibly social explosion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Piketty-endorsed?, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
I ask because as far as I can tell, it does what it says on the cover, which is to say, summarizes the controversial doorstop-tome of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the 21st Century' into an easy-to-read 40-page lite bite.

It goes without saying, however, that I haven't ploughed through the full text, so how neatly this captures Piketty's arguments, I'm unable to say. It also ought to go without saying that I'm no economist (or I'd read the whole thing with a glass of wine and gleeful abandon?) so I also can't comment on Piketty's arguments, beyond saying that to anyone who thinks and feels that wealth distribution should not increasingly favour the top decile at the expense of the bottom 50%, this makes sense. In fact, the author's findings and his suggestions for checking capitalism's ever-increasing concentration of wealth, are only what many of us have intuited from the everyday business of living in a capitalist world.

Since I've read reviews of the original work, I can at least say that this gives the gist of Piketty's ideas, so if you're interested in those without the minutiae of detail, labyrinthine economic discourse and a good many charts and graphs, this is a worthwhile read. There are one or two typos, but nothing to obscure the meaning, and the major graphs etc. are given as URLs for looking up online at leisure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We need more of these summaries, 7 Jun 2014
By 
A. Tsapatsaris "mody" (N.Makri,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
Need a bit more.but its very good in giving a synoptic picture of this excellent and path breaking book.I red the book and I have certain objections on the rather simplistic interpretation of Marx's theories. The little book is to the point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the book read the summary, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
This is an excellent summary, I've tried to find time to read the original complete but this summary was really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice quick read summary, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
Gave a nice quick summary of the mayor points in the book, I would recommend "excecutive summaries" to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
I am a great fan of these summary books of many subjects and this is no exception. I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Brief!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
Not value for money- I had the entirely wrong impression that this was a book,when it is the size of a pamphlet and I am not convinced it was an adequate summary of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century' (Paperback)
Not willing g to write a review, just stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Executive Summary of Thomas Piketty's 'Capital in the Twenty-First Century'
Used & New from: 2.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews