Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's back, Watson
When last we heard of Sherlock Holmes, he had plummeted from Reichenbach Falls along with the evil Professor Moriarty.

But after years of fans badgering him to bring Holmes back, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle finally relented in "The Return of Sherlock Holmes." The stories in here aren't quite as gripping as the previous collections, but there's still plenty of...
Published on 2 May 2011 by E. A Solinas

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Stephen Hawking reading Sherlock Holmes
Simply put this book is FREE without the audiobook link. My advice is download the FREE book not this one.

The audiobook is from the Gutenberg Project, which for this book uses computer generated text-to-speech in the voice of Stephen Hawking. Not that one minds listening to Hawking's dulcet tones but after 5 minutes it does begin to grate on the ears. Not...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's back, Watson, 2 May 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When last we heard of Sherlock Holmes, he had plummeted from Reichenbach Falls along with the evil Professor Moriarty.

But after years of fans badgering him to bring Holmes back, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle finally relented in "The Return of Sherlock Holmes." The stories in here aren't quite as gripping as the previous collections, but there's still plenty of striking, mind-bending mysteries for the legendary detective to unwind.

A few years after Holmes' death, Watson has settled into a routine as a regular doctor, although he becomes interested in the locked-room murder of the Honourable Ronald Adair. But then a strange old man comes into Watson's office, and reveals himself to be none other than Sherlock Holmes. Watson promptly faints from the shock.

But when he wakes up, Holmes reveals that he has been traveling the world and avoiding Moriarty's equally nasty confederates. And before he can resume normal life at Baker Street, he and Watson must catch the last of these evil men -- which may be connected to Adair's death.

After that, Holmes and Watson fall back into solving cases: a young man who is accused of murdering his strangely friendly client; a string of stick figures, a music teacher followed by a cyclist, a boy kidnapped from his school, a harpoon impalement, blackmail and high society scandal, shattered Napoleonic busts, stolen exams, a Russian lady, a rugby player's disappearance, a brutal murder that isn't what it seems, and a missing document that could lead to a massive war.

"The Return of Sherlock Holmes" occasionally feels a little unenthusiastic, probably because Doyle had really intended to kill off Holmes because he wanted to focus on "important" novels. Fortunately, even lesser Holmes mysteries are still brilliant -- there are twisted crimes, malevolent schemers, and some puzzles that only Holmes can unravel.

And as usual, Doyle crafts two kinds of crimes/mysteries -- the ones that are ultra-simple but turn out to have hidden kinks, and the ones that seem impossible to solve but are actually shockingly simple. But things don't always end in the same way ("The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton" ends in a really shocking manner), and the culprits aren't always dealt with in the same way.

It's also really fun to see Watson and Holmes working together again, especially after Holmes makes such a dramatic, energetic reentry in the very first story. And it's very cute to see Watson pass out because he's so shocked and thrilled that Holmes is alive. The characters seem even faster friends, especially when it's revealed that Watson has gotten Holmes off of cocaine (which was still used medicinally at the time).

"Return of Sherlock Holmes" suffers from a few patches of unenthusiastic writing, but Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's mysteries are still brilliant brain-benders. The Great Detective is back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Sherlock Holmes, 28 July 2002
By A Customer
I must confess that I was somewhat hesitant to read any of the stories past "The Final Problem". The way that story was written, I could think of no plausible way for Doyle to explain Holmes' "death". A series of lame stories, such as Holmes wandering around with amnesia, kept popping into my head which is probably a testament to the stupidity of some modern fiction. But naturally, I could not live the rest of my life without reading every Holmes story that Doyle wrote. Well, after reading "The Empty House", I was completely ashamed of myself for ever having doubted the talent and the brillance of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. He managed to write an entirely plausible explanation. For the most part, I did not find the other stories in this volume to be quite as enjoyable as the ones in the adventures and memoirs but they are still very good. I would recommend these stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Stephen Hawking reading Sherlock Holmes, 16 Feb 2011
Simply put this book is FREE without the audiobook link. My advice is download the FREE book not this one.

The audiobook is from the Gutenberg Project, which for this book uses computer generated text-to-speech in the voice of Stephen Hawking. Not that one minds listening to Hawking's dulcet tones but after 5 minutes it does begin to grate on the ears. Not conducive to listening to in the car, which was the reason I bought this version.

The irony is that these audiobook downloads are in fact FREE so one is merely paying for a link. The product in my view is therefore a gross example of online miss-selling as no where does the product information state that the audiobook is a computer voice. Now one might conclude that for the princely sum [] the book in itself is a cheap deal, and that may be so but as it is advertised alongside the free version it is rather cynical not to assume that the [] is payment for the audiobook. Well what more can one say? Always be wary of so called freebies?

All things are relative and I can afford to waste a few pounds now and again but this type of marketing is not what we expect from a reputable online store. It is the sort of behaviour expected of a cowboy car dealer not the largest bookshop on the planet. Come on Amazon, we love you but some things cannot be excused.

It would have received 0 Stars if that had been possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of Sherlock Holmes: Arthur Conan Doyle - A singular series of adventures, 11 April 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
As all Sherlockians know, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle had become disenchanted with his creation and seemingly rather finally killed him off in 1893 by dropping him into the seething abyss of the Reichenbach falls. But the public were not to be denied, and Doyle was induced to publish the Hound of the Baskervilles in 1902 (though still set before Holmes' supposed death) and, following the success of that story he penned a series of short stories for monthly publication in 1903/4 in which he resurrected the great Detective and described his career through the latter half of the 1890's. This collection of 13 stories gathered together and published as a book in 1905 was the result.

The thirteen stories here are some of my favourites in the Holmes canon. The Empty House sees the return of our hero from hiss self imposed exile. It seems that a decade earlier Doyle had already considered resurrection for Holmes, as he had the actual occurrence happen off page, making it easy for him to bring him back. As well as the drama of the return, there is also some high drama surrounding the death of Ronald Adair, and the hunt for his murderer. The series then runs through The Adventure of the Norwood Builder, The Adventure of the Dancing Men, The Adventure of the Solitary Cyclist, The Adventure of the Priory School, The Adventure of Black Peter, The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton, The Adventure of the Six Napoleons, The Adventure of the Three Students, The Adventure of the Golden Pince-Nez, The Adventure of the Missing Three-Quarter, The Adventure of the Abbey Grange and The Adventure of the Second Stain, and sees Holmes engaged to be married, spearing pigs with harpoons, cycling through the fens and generally bringing the truth to light and villains to justice.

Well written, with engaging mysteries and a sense of adventure, these are thrilling tales that will keep the reader gripped. Just as interesting as the mysteries are the tales that are not told -in these stories Watson gives us intriguing glimpses of other cases, such as that of the notorious canary trainer. I really wish that some of these had been written! 5 stars for this gripping and entertaining set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of Sherlock Holmes: Arthur Conan Doyle - A singular series of adventures, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
As all Sherlockians know, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle had become disenchanted with his creation and seemingly rather finally killed him off in 1893 by dropping him into the seething abyss of the Reichenbach falls. But the public were not to be denied, and Doyle was induced to publish the Hound of the Baskervilles in 1902 (though still set before Holmes' supposed death) and, following the success of that story he penned a series of short stories for monthly publication in 1903/4 in which he resurrected the great Detective and described his career through the latter half of the 1890's. This collection of 13 stories gathered together and published as a book in 1905 was the result.

The thirteen stories here are some of my favourites in the Holmes canon. The Empty House sees the return of our hero from hiss self imposed exile. It seems that a decade earlier Doyle had already considered resurrection for Holmes, as he had the actual occurrence happen off page, making it easy for him to bring him back. As well as the drama of the return, there is also some high drama surrounding the death of Ronald Adair, and the hunt for his murderer. The series then runs through The Adventure of the Norwood Builder, The Adventure of the Dancing Men, The Adventure of the Solitary Cyclist, The Adventure of the Priory School, The Adventure of Black Peter, The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton, The Adventure of the Six Napoleons, The Adventure of the Three Students, The Adventure of the Golden Pince-Nez, The Adventure of the Missing Three-Quarter, The Adventure of the Abbey Grange and The Adventure of the Second Stain, and sees Holmes engaged to be married, spearing pigs with harpoons, cycling through the fens and generally bringing the truth to light and villains to justice.

Well written, with engaging mysteries and a sense of adventure, these are thrilling tales that will keep the reader gripped. Just as interesting as the mysteries are the tales that are not told -in these stories Watson gives us intriguing glimpses of other cases, such as that of the notorious canary trainer. I really wish that some of these had been written! 5 stars for this gripping and entertaining set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed this book very much. What a great writer. Could read it again and again. Now for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Arthur Conan Doyle - The Return of Sherlock Holmes | Review, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Now, I'm already inclined to give this book a good review because I happen to own a beautiful copy in hardback, but they say you should never judge a book by its cover. In this case, though, you'd be right to.

See, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is a fantastic writer, and certainly the best of his era in my opinion - every Sherlock Holmes story is a treasure, even the ones that he wrote in his later years when his creativity was beginning to dwindle, and this collection features twelve of them - sheer bliss!

But then, Conan Doyle published a whole bunch of short story collections, so what makes this so special? Well, perhaps it's the fact that it almost didn't exist at all - it was Conan Doyle's first collection of Sherlock Holmes stories for twelve years, and came after the apparent death of the detective at the hands of Colonel Moriarty at the Reichenbach Falls. The public outcry at the great detective's demise was so great that the author was forced to resurrect his creation, and this is the result.

There are several stories in this collection that are particularly worth attention, like The Adventure of the Dancing Men, which is notable for being one of only two stories in which Holmes' client dies after asking for his help. The Adventure of Black Peter is also notable because of the gruesome nature of the murder - the victim is harpooned and, as Holmes observes, it takes a lot of strength and skill to harpoon someone and stick them in to a wall.

The collection ends on a prophetic note - Holmes retires and forbids Watson to publish any more stories. For how long, you wonder, will that continue? It's elementary, my dear Watson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game well and truley afoot Watson, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wanted a traditional Sherlock Holmes and this does not disappoint!
Recommend this to all Conan Doyle fans. Baker street irregular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes, 7 July 2013
By 
L. Monkman "Fireman Les" (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a lot to say about this book other than...I love Arthur Conan Doyle and his Sherlock Holmes mysteries...Brilliant...!!! Outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Sherlock Holmes, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm glad to announce that Sherlock Holmes didn't die at Reichenbach Falls and these stories prove it. Our hero is back in more tales as good as ever. Great edition by Wordworth, whose book I shall seek out due to their great value for money. I hope I didn't spoil anyone's read but it was first published 100 years ago so my revealing spoiler should be common knowledge by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Return of Sherlock Holmes
The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - 26 Feb 2014)
4.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews