Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opening insight into the harsh realities of love and it's destruction
A harrowing insight in the futile of love, as the author gutsily shares with us her most inner secrets about the various types of love she encountered with the four different men from around the world. From men who were ideally perfect in every way, to those who lavished her with gifts when wooing her of which she later discovered was really a façade for the control freak...
Published 9 months ago by Sky Nealon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from FictionZeal.com re: Love by Deception: A Harrowing True Story of Love and Betrayal by K.C. Barnard
I don’t know. I’ve never actually started a review with those three words. K.C. Barnard is the name the author uses. Her actual identity is hidden as this is a true story of her life and the domestic violence she faced – not once but four times. The identities of the men are also hidden. They are referenced as Devil Man; Cockroach; etc. We begin to...
Published 1 month ago by D. Coto


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opening insight into the harsh realities of love and it's destruction, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A harrowing insight in the futile of love, as the author gutsily shares with us her most inner secrets about the various types of love she encountered with the four different men from around the world. From men who were ideally perfect in every way, to those who lavished her with gifts when wooing her of which she later discovered was really a façade for the control freak within them, not to forget the threatening scenarios and terrifying taunts, smooth talking swindlers, dual personalities and good looks that can be deadly.

Overall if there is a cosmopolitan guide for women of what type of men to avoid, what to look out for, then this would be it, because the author's decades of experiences will definitely resonate with women who have faced similar bad situations, and those that of whom are currently unhappy, or have started noticing certain distasteful traits appear in their newly courting partner, to seriously contemplate on whether it's worthwhile to stay in a relationship that could potential rear its ugly head any moment soon and have it's full wrath on them.

This is a book that will help women many not to fall head over heels, and let their heart rule their heads upon experiencing the onset of love at first sight, especially men who seem too good to be true, and I truly hope that many will embrace and learn from the valuable lessons that the author has shared within this fantastic and emotionally touching book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Insanely intense! Riveting! A spectacular read! [SPOILER ALERT], 15 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal (Paperback)
[SPOILER ALERT]

Do men; more so, do people like those presented to us in K C Barnard’s story ‘Love and Deception’ truly exist in real life?

I genuinely believe that every woman should read this harrowing true story of abuse like none-other. What a truly amazing story! As the author states in the beginning of the book, “this book could inspire victims to gain strength, recognize patterns, or urge them to feel brave enough to leave” (p. 2). The last few chapters are an absolute must read as they can help women spot the warning signs of abusive relationships (hopefully) before it’s too late as well as provide women in those situations places to go to when seeking help. I will do my best to describe what a jaw-dropping and gut-wrenching story of brutality and inner strength this book is without just reading it word-by-word to you.

Let me begin with saying that I love K C Barnard’s style of writing; it’s so delicate and precise yet filled with so many emotions that come straight at you through her writing. She weaves together a story of adventure, pain, abuse, and strength that is unbelievable and utterly awe-inspiring.

Devil man…what a ridiculous and crazy story. It’s difficult to grasp that it’s real, let alone being told by the same woman who experienced it. What an amazing and strong woman the author is for sharing her terrifying story and the truth behind her emotions, which include denial and fear; and then to imagine going back on several occasions. As she states, “unless you have been in an abusive relationship where you are controlled and stripped of your confidence, then it will be hard to understand” (p. 63). The first few chapters about the ‘Devil Man’ are truly heart wrenching and terrifying. I just want to reach into the story and save her from getting hurt, save her from the pure evil, and take her away to somewhere safe. To think that he had all intentions of killing her on their last meeting is a shocker, but by God’s grace she was saved. I love this statement by the tarot card reader which sums up the situation all to well: “’Perhaps you have come face to face with the Devil himself. He comes in many disguises, and I think you may have had a lucky escape recently’. She said I had a guardian angel and I was to listen to my inner voice – stop ignoring it, as it always receives strong messages and you don’t do anything about them. ‘Good will always overcome evil,’ she said” (p. 94). At this point of the book, (the end of chapter 9) I was terrified to continue to read on because of the truly horrific things she has already experienced. I didn’t want to read about any more of her pain and suffering as I truly believe she doesn’t deserve anymore beyond the extreme amounts that she’s already suffered at the hand and mind of one man, the ‘Devil Man’. However, the preceding chapter was followed with shock, awareness, inspiration, and hope.

The next story of her love life with another man was sad in the sense that he was such a weasel of a man (hence the name ‘cockroach’) but was also happy because it didn’t end as badly as it had before and come to find out, it could have ended a lot worse. Though he was a deceitful man she was able to walk away without losing out on as much as other women before her had and without being hurt, like he did and continued to do with his ex, Emma (her pink dildo missing with the intention to be used by someone with an STD was a poor and pathetic setup for his divorce lies). It’s shocking that men like that exist but I have witnessed such men and women and know that they truly exist…unfortunately. The next two stories’ are just as riveting as before but with a lot more deceit (Tomcat) and Jekyll and Hyde characteristics (Floppy…named appropriately).

I would love to meet the author and simply hug her just knowing the things she’s experienced, the torment that she’s had to live through, and the bravery that she has for not only having the strength to fight back and leave but also for sharing something so intimate with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self-publishing at its best, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was 'right up my street'. I love real life stories, especially about women and their romantic relationships. I identified immediately with the author, as we are both around the same age, and both have made very poor choices when it comes to the men in our lives. I was instantly hooked from the first few pages. Although the book isn't a literary masterpiece, it is a brilliant story, very well told. Truth is definitely stranger than fiction!

I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys biographies and true life tales. I'm sure that most women, with a few failed relationships behind them, will empathise with the author. For those ladies lucky enough not to have encountered a toxic man, then this book also serves as a cautionary tale.

A must read account of love in its many guises. Self-publishing at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore any miserable women on here - this book is amazing!!, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal (Paperback)
Love by Deception is one of those books that you will want to give to all your closest friends and debate afterwards which character was the most unpleasant.

If you have been involved with controlling men or currently struggling in a relationship, this book will definitely be for you! A very dear friend of mine went through domestic violence with her partner and many hours were spent supporting her, which is why I felt drawn to this book and compelled to write this review. K.C. is candid about her shortcomings and has taken a brazenly personal risk regarding her experiences with dysfunctional men. Through her mistakes she is trying to warn us (think some people are missing the point here, and feel they have the right to judge and chastise her...duh). K.C. is in no way self-pitying, in fact the way she overcomes her obstacles is quite inspirational. She comes across as a humorous, unpretentious warm soul, and through her chatty narrative I really connect with her.

Abusive men are usually very charming, and can also come across as passive, so it doesn't seem to me that K.C. repeatedly fell into abusive relationships because she was looking for cheap thrills......each time she was cheated by their covert actions - what else should she do? Join a nunnery? I really don't get why the bitter women on here are blaming her?

Please, please ignore any negative reviews - this book is amazing and should be approached with an open mind. You really won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read from start to finish!, 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal (Paperback)
I have just finished reading LBD, and would like to thank the author for writing with such unreserved honesty about the thrills & spills of her life! I personally think it was well written, and I love the way the author draws you into her roller coaster life! Most importantly KC is trying to convey a crucial messages in her story, one which could save someone from the trauma of domestic abuse. There were quite a few laugh out loud one liners & I bet she is a great character to know! I would feel quite sad if other readers were to criticise the fact that her manuscript isn't perfect, perhaps they should look at the bigger picture and appreciate what the author is sharing with the world - kudos to this very brave woman !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful lady, so I hope more people read this ..., 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal (Paperback)
An INCREDIBLE read....I just couldn't put the book down. An unbelievable insight into human behaviour, both men & women. A real eye opener & a MUST read. It is the Authors first book & what a book. It shows real grit & honesty on her behalf, but also the lighter & funnier side came out too. This book will make you shout at the Author saying 'what are you doing...run way from him' You get so engrossed by what is happening to her but yet she doesn't make you feel sorry for her. It just shows this can happen to even a strong, beautiful lady, so I hope more people read this book, learn from it & see the signs of crazy men or hopefully it will help people in bad relationships to get the strength to leave before its too late. I bought this book from Amazon as a friend told me about this great read. I have since gone on to buy 5 copies for friends of mine & they all loved it! So if you want a fantastic book & not fictional, this is the book to get! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was happy, sad, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal (Paperback)
This true life account is a must read! I abandoned all my daily duties to become absorbed into Kc B's antics. WOW, nothing prepared me for the jaw dropping details and emotions. I was happy, sad, frustrated, worried (during some sections I turned the pages with trepidation biting my bottom lip), and then relieved. The author never asks for an sympathy and hold her hands up for being so trusting - it seems as if she has written this book to not only offload, but to also give a stark warning to others how easy it is to become entrapped in toxic relationships!! She's seems like a strong cookie who has her feet firmly on the ground - even though she's a free spirited woman, she sounds like a spunky character with plenty of backbone and a huge heart !! It's quite odd but after I finished LBD I missed her being around, like you do when a best friend goes home after a visit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from FictionZeal.com re: Love by Deception: A Harrowing True Story of Love and Betrayal by K.C. Barnard, 5 April 2015
I don’t know. I’ve never actually started a review with those three words. K.C. Barnard is the name the author uses. Her actual identity is hidden as this is a true story of her life and the domestic violence she faced – not once but four times. The identities of the men are also hidden. They are referenced as Devil Man; Cockroach; etc. We begin to piece together that she had grown up in a loving family; in fact, she was rather spoiled. She’s intelligent and currently has a career as a VIP flight attendant with a Saudi Royal family. But she takes us back on a journey of how she met these men; how she became involved with them; and how disastrous each one turned out.

It’s curious how her first serious relationship was with Mr. Happy. He was before Devil Man and the others. He was “a true gentleman with old-fashioned values, who wouldn’t dream of cheating, or mistreating a woman.” But, since she decided to call it quits with Mr. Happy, I assume he may also have been ‘Mr. Boring.’ Still … one can only hope she’ll someday find another Mr. Happy because he respected her and appeared to truly love her.

She says this book has been a ‘cathartic journey’ for her. Her hope is that other women in abusive relationships will give seriously thought to leaving their partner, or to at least seek out support. She references www.womensaid.org.uk and www.refuge.org.uk. The story is told in first person narrative, but personally, I can’t understand or relate to the mindset of women who stay in abusive relationships. I know that many women fall into the trap of believing that it will all work out; that he is sooo sorry; that he really does love me, even though in the next breath, he’s ready to issue another punch. Now, the reason for “I don’t know.” I applaud her efforts to reach out to other women and encourage them to take action to remedy their own circumstances. However, the writing itself was rather poor – lengthy; rambling; and too detailed. And so, I struggled with the rating and finally brought it up to a 3 just because there is a message here that others may need to heed. Also, since some are opposed to reading books with curse words, just know that the ‘f’ word is rather abundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true story of one woman's hellish journey through a succession of abusive relationships. A must read for men and women., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal (Paperback)
KC Barnard's frank and honest account of her time in a string of abusive relationships makes for tough reading, but she has an important story to tell.
It is beautifully written and, if it wasn't for the uneasy subject matter ... if she was writing about something more pleasent, I'd call it a page turner. However, domestivc violence and domestic abuse are not easy to read about, and seeing this fun, intelligent woman be dragged though the hell she describes is not nice. But what she does is describe in detail how the men who abused her started off as loving people, but slowly turned into monsters.
It is a sign of her inner strength that each time she managed to leave the relationship. Not only that, it is a book that should be read by anyone who is suffering from abuse in the home of any form. It shows that it is possible to escape and that there is help out there if you can muster the strength to seek it out.
You'll read it from cover to cover. At times you may feel uneasy about what you're reading, or even sick at times. I even wept at her plight. But when you've finished reading the final page, you'll be wiser, stronger and better equipped to see the warning signs, or (if you're already in a similar relationship) to know that it is possible to find the strength to leave your abuser and begin a better life.
A must read for both men and women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I felt I was actually in Nice witnessing one of the horrors with my own eyes, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal (Paperback)
An incredible story, well-written and presented in a way that immerses the reader in each event. I felt I was actually in Nice witnessing one of the horrors with my own eyes.

It tugs at many emotions and raises questions about the author and her abusers, but my overriding thought is that such events are occurring to someone, somewhere, right now. KC's book could be effective preventative medicine if every woman read it before embarking on any relationship ... a Highway Code of men to avoid.

We must admire KC for writing about her experiences, revealing her own weaknesses, expressing her anticipation, excitement and ultimate disappointment with each individual, but perhaps the therapy of revealing such traumas is uplifting for the author. Without doubt it is a compelling read and will add to the awareness of the frequency of abuse that never ceases to amaze us.

Where can KC go from here? Will we see another book from her? Is she safe?

Thank you KC Barnard ... a highly recommended book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love by Deception: A harrowing true story of love and betrayal
£7.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews