Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars43
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2014
If you aren't familiar with The Zeitgeist Movement, this is the place to start. It is, by the movement's open admission, also available for free on the Zeitgeist Movement's website and many other places.

Beginning with an overview of the history of economics, this work builds the case for an economy based on rationality, science, and a global integrated technological focus to maximize the wellbeing of all within a carefully curated biosphere. Life-requirements, social stressors and their resolution, relevant education, transport technologies, architecture possibilities - it's all here. 900+ sources and other footnotes back up and present the data on resources, land use, technical innovations already possible, educational imperatives, public health. It is compiled and edited by some twenty members of the movement over the last few years (their credits are in the book.)

This is systems theory applied for public health concern.

It is your right and future to be finally and actually served by competent, upgrade-able, open and available systems without a price tag. Imagine that. And then glance at the news and see your "governments" prevaricating and shimmying out of any responsibility for the destruction wrought upon the public by climate change, industrial pollution, resource depletion and wasteful life-blind cancer-logic capitalism.

Want a genuine society? How about an actual civilization on this planet, thriving in the sunlight of a new enlightenment? Governments won't do it for you. However, we all will, when we finally work together. Perhaps you think that's fanciful or utopian. Humans getting on? Solutions and resolutions to problems rather than patch work sellable servicing of problems? Impossible, you say?

How robbed of hope you must be to think that. But if you find yourself here, always having wondered if humanity weren't on some kind of "wrong path", but couldn't put your finger on what it was that was amiss - you may be pleasantly surprised.

This is a long overdue shot across the bows, in the value war of scientific understanding, technical morality and life itself versus the outdated, dangerous and wasteful practices of traditional economics, which will in fact kill us in the end.

Get informed, and start to form the future you have always deserved.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This book and the Movement connected has enough answers and solutions to really transition our society into a sustainable, advanced and actual Civilization. You should read it whether you're into Science or not, for the simple fact that we're all Natural Scientists anyway. Whether you like it or not, you're part of this Movement, so you may as well get involved with local projects to make the Transition into a Resource Based Economy. It is for you, it is for us!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Essential reading for everyone, also a very good source to refer back to if you ever want to quote TZM stance on things
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
This book is simply the most important piece of work humans have ever created and should be in every school library and talked about it to kids. The train of thought and logic in it is just unquestionable, but be aware: you need to be able to forget your preconceptions and use your brain instead of approaching things with a closed preconditioned mind, you need to be able to detach yourself from your learnt doctrines if they don't make sense. If you approach this book with an open mind it will truly change your life.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Awakening,
Empowering,
Inspiring,
Challenging - A call to each one of us to use our talents and contribute to allow a sustainable and humane global society to exist on this planet, sooner rather than later.

5 stars are not enough
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Even if you've never heard of TZM and/or don't care about TZM, you should read this book as it is packed with useful information and well-made arguments in favour of a Natural Law Resource Based Economy - the only economic model that makes sense for humanity in the 21st Century
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I so wish this book had been available when I was young, spending my evenings watching the Vietnam war on the news, the cold war, the Cuba crisis and endless other awful things going on in this world and desperately searching for any Ideas for how this world could be a better place but only ever being able to see huge flaws with every idea that I ever came across and ending up giving up with the whole idea that a 'better world' was possible. Blaming it on things (that I now know to be wrong) like 'human nature' etc, I sure never thought to blame the 'system' itself.........I simply cannot find any 'major' flaws with the Non monetary, natural law, Resource based economic system that is being advocated by the Zeitgeist movement. ...a much better world IS possible, and the best thing about it is that it's not only possible, it's actually quite easy, if it's what people want. I sure hope the young generation or anyone older who fears for the future of their own children, studies this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
This book suggests to look at and criticise our civilisation, recognize it's problems (and in fact, the root cause of these problems, not a surface scratch), yet suggesting a new way of thinking, a new train of thought, to use our ever increasing scientific knowledge to better our environment, social and physical health, and our civilisation and ourselves at once.

This book is _not_ some kind merely philosophical or futuristic fantasy - it's based on true and very well sourced facts, current and historical trends, respected views and derived logical conclusions.

There is no physical reason to have billions of people in our word to suffer of malnutrition, preventable diseases, water contamination, stress and inequality. It's all signs are of inefficient, archaic, competition-based and self-interest oriented, waste generating and environment destroying system called "the market economy".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Arrived on time and we'll packaged. The layout and print quality are to a high standard. Great read so far (half way through) the information is presented in a clear and thought provoking way. I would love to see the concepts and ideas which have been laid out reach a much wider audience so society can truly progress to a much more sustainable and healthy system.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Take a look around you, does the world make sense today? 85 people with the wealth of the 3.5 billion poorest, 1 billion starving.

The Zeitgeist movement is not presenting a utopia, just something much better than the current paradigm. Everything talked about in this book is within the power of society to achieve now and forever change the human journey. We have the tools and technology to feed, power, house and provide water to every person on the planet -RIGHT NOW, but the rules of how the economy works today means it is not achievable. Don't just believe what is written in this book, check the sources that are provided and go even further with your own research. I promise if you read this with an open mind it will change your life.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.