Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And essential book for all Sous Vide cooks
I backed Codlo on Kickstarter, and, despite not yet receiving the device itself, I've already got my money's worth from this brilliant recipe book. It's got a huge range of different recipes for all levels of difficulty, that will launch your sous viding career and impress everyone you feed.

Add to that a huge amount of information about the technique itself...
Published 13 months ago by SmileyBen

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is only an advert for CODLA
Very disappointed with this book which was not cheap and was really only an advert for CODLA. A very small amount of information and even less recipes
Published 5 months ago by Fred Biro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And essential book for all Sous Vide cooks, 31 May 2014
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
I backed Codlo on Kickstarter, and, despite not yet receiving the device itself, I've already got my money's worth from this brilliant recipe book. It's got a huge range of different recipes for all levels of difficulty, that will launch your sous viding career and impress everyone you feed.

Add to that a huge amount of information about the technique itself (which can risk food poisoning if you haven't got to grips with the method - just like any cooking technique) and you'll feel really ready to get going.

I've made several of the dishes, and everyone has come out just as expected (which, after all, is one of the benefits of sous vide!) - so this is the recipe book I turn to every time I'm trying to cook a fancy dinner with little stress or even effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sous-vide cooking with or without the Codlo device, 28 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
A superb cookboock dedicated to sous-vide cooking. Great editing value.
It covers a large range of recipes, with mouth-wetting pictures ... and good advices from how to make the meal to storage and planning in order to best enjoy the food.
Very helpful, beautiful and useful addition to any kitchen (cooking sous-vide)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that makes you want to cook sous-vide always, 13 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
The book makes the case for sous vide - from the basic principles through to the results you can achieve, in detail.

Split in to sections for different meats, fish, seafood and vegetables, each chapter offers a multitude of varied and delicious full meals to show off the potential of the technique in each case.

Starting from the basics means you can build up a confidence in how to safely cook delicious sous-vide, and the level of detail gives you the foundation on which to try your own experiments.

I would highly recommend this as an excellent primer on the subject. It is full of well-put principles, detailed instructions and beautiful photography all of which make you want to try each of the many recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Must have if you're into Sous-Vide cooking!, 27 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
Great level-by-level approach to sous-vide cooking - from simple to super-sophisticated.

Pictures are gorgeous and very motivating to get cooking ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple and beautifully illustrated and all the ones I've tried so far ..., 10 Dec. 2014
By 
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
I recently became a proud Codlo owner (I backed on Kickstarter) and this book has been invaluable!
The recipes are clear, simple and beautifully illustrated and all the ones I've tried so far work brilliantly (and are delicious).
I'd have been lost without this, so recommend it to anyone with a Codlo or anyone looking to get into sous vide cooking in a straightforward non-scary way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has all the basics and wounderfully simple recipes, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
T. Baumann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
Ok, this book is kind of product specific. But if you ignore the few pages that describe the Codlo you still get a lot of great sous vide advice from this book.
Most recipes are wonderfully simple and inspiring.
But it goes way beyond being a recipe book, it also gives you all you need to actually understand the basics of sous vide yourself.
It has clever and well annotated temperature tables for all sorts of meats like fish, chicken beef, pork and eggs.
It even goes introduces techniques like brining and also explains timing aspects of sous vide as well.

Recipes are written in steps and organized in remaining cooking time. So you know exactly when to start and when to do what to have your dish ready in time.
Very thoughtful and I might say quite nerdy. Perhaps one day we will get recipes on gantt charts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Grace!, 7 May 2015
By 
Jonathan Lang (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
An excellent companion for anyone starting out with sous-vide - giving you a good, clear understanding of the principles, and recipes that work really well. Though the best sous-vide recipe is also the simplest: a 64-degree boiled egg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally an understandable sous-vide guide!, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
For the sous-vide beginner (and enthusiast), this is a no-brainer. Really simplifies a cooking method that sometimes seems so complex. Every main food category (eggs, chicken, meats, veg etc) are covered really clearly, has a great set of 'cheat sheets' that make understanding cooking temperatures really easy. Pictures are lovely - great addition to my cookbook collection!

Although I use this with the Codlo (which is a great product in itself), the recipes and temperatures in this book work with any SV machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sous-Vide Cooking, 5 Mar. 2015
By 
Julie Williams (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
Bought for husband who bought himself a reasonable priced (around £100) Sous-Vide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful very useful guide to Sous-Vide, 15 May 2014
This review is from: Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide (Paperback)
Although this guide is product specific, I have found it invaluable as a general guide to sous-vide principles and specific cooking temperatures and times as well as a great source of inspiration.

The recipes are of a very high quality, pair food very well, and include other techniques like brining, purees and jus. There are great photos and a good variety of dishes (from Caribean to Asian to European).

There are fantastic diagrams showing meat cuts teamed with sous-vide times and temperatures for particular thicknesses as well as great tips.

Overall a great resource for anyone interested in sous-vide cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Codlo Sous-Vide Guide & Recipes: The ultimate guide to cooking sous-vide
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews