Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not like the author hasn't proven herself with the simply impeccable ...
Review

No messing around on this one, straight into a simple question, please read these two books and someone please tell me how on earth these are being self published and are not coming out via a major publishing house?

Its not like the author hasn't proven herself with the simply impeccable Order of the Sanguines series, she and James Rollins...
Published 1 month ago by Parm

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not so good
writing is a bit sort of plain for me - stark - it feels derivative - i know Cantrell has many followers who adore her work, but i am just left cold
Published 8 months ago by Leslie Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not like the author hasn't proven herself with the simply impeccable ..., 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Beneath: 1 (A Joe Tesla Novel) (Paperback)
Review

No messing around on this one, straight into a simple question, please read these two books and someone please tell me how on earth these are being self published and are not coming out via a major publishing house?

Its not like the author hasn't proven herself with the simply impeccable Order of the Sanguines series, she and James Rollins have created one of my favorite supernatural series of all time, each author seemingly bringing something better, deeper out of the others writing.

The Tesla series is an excellent, original and addictive series. Book 2 the Tesla Legacy shows some of the skills that i think consciously or unconsciously that she has drawn from writing with James Rollins, im going to be very intrigued to read his next stand alone, i feel he will also have picked up something.

I find that the series is very brave with its lead character, trapped as he is by his agoraphobia, any resolving of a crime or running from authorities, criminal, anyone at all is hindered, restricted to the tunnels. But those tunnels are vast, bigger than you can imagine. They go everywhere and give access to so much. Rebecca Cantrell brings those tunnels to life, makes them living arteries to the world of Joe Tesla. Unlike many authors she also knows the power of the supporting cast, who are drawn in, filled out and made fully fledged members of the plot, so you care what happens to them.

I rocketed through both of these books in a couple of days, and really want to get my hands on book three. Rebecca Cantrell is firmly ensconced as one of my go to Thriller writers now, bring on book 3

Highly recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start to finish. The only reason I ..., 9 Sept. 2014
By 
ADS (United Kindom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gripping from start to finish. The only reason I didn't give this five star is because the ending was rather abrupt. Otherwise, this is a highly entertaining book that does not bore you with irrelevant information and is full of fascinating characters (Joe Tesla being the prime one) that you wouldn't mind hanging out with. Above ground, preferably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Deep underground there is a house amongst the train tunnels which is occupied by an agoraphobic computer geek. Tesla, accompanied by his dog, become a force to be reckoned with. I look forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars claustrophobia underground, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Christine M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Joe Tesla is agoraphobic and lives a New York life, underground away from people. Luckily he is rich and can afford to live in a posh underground mansion with his dog. He becomes caught up in a plot involving Dr Dubois infecting humans, germ warfare style. We follow Tesla, as he comes across a body and goes on the run to escape a killer.

An enjoyable adventure, that made me feel slightly claustrophobic. Amazing that most of the story takes place underground and Joe manages to survive this strange lifestyle with his faithful dog. After the historical Hannah Vogel series, I wondered if Rebecca Cantrell could work her magic again. She did. I really loved it and hope we see more of Joe Tesla again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1st Novel I'd read by Rebecca Cantrell although read a book shed written with James Rollins which prompted me to read this. Very good read and will definitely read her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars None, 24 Oct. 2014
I enjoyed the book, I read it not in one session but quite quickly. However, I somehow doubt that any member of the Tesla family would call their dog Edison!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... different story line to Rebecca's other books which are excellent reads. I really enjoyed this book it was ..., 31 Jan. 2015
Totally different story line to Rebecca's other books which are excellent reads. I really enjoyed this book it was so different set in a world of tunnels. It is exciting from begining to end. I love the relationship between Joe Tesla and his dog Edison. It made you think how hard it must be to have acrophobia like Joe but he seems to cope and find adventure. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hero Software Engineer Related to Nikola Tesla!, 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Janeyjane_UK "Based in Hull, East Yorkshire, ... (Hull, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not often that a software engineer gets to be the crime fiction hero, particularly when he's a direct descendant of my hero, Nikola Tesla. Loved the Joe Tesla character, nerdy and anti-social enough to be credible, and living in a to-die-for location. And he has a dog called Edison - love the nerdy joke. Can't wait for book 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 29 Jan. 2014
A cracking read from start to finish. It draws you in from the very first chapter with a compelling central character in the shape of Joe Tesla - not forgetting his canine companion, Edison. Really well written by a master storyteller who also writes the Blood Gospel series with James Rollins.
An absolute steal. Looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual tale but very readable., 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this unusual story and I will try other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Beneath: 1 (A Joe Tesla Novel)
The World Beneath: 1 (A Joe Tesla Novel) by Rebecca Cantrell (Paperback - 25 Nov. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews