Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story of love and loss.
Samantha Adams is a lawyer working in her fathers firm. When she hears her Grandmother has passed away she feels little except some residual anger that the woman she barely remembers left them all behind when she was three. She is shocked and surprised when a parcel arrives and she finds that her Gran has recognized her in her will and left her letters and mementos. As...
Published 7 months ago by VelvetLounger

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable, and drawn out
I bought this book because of the good reviews it had here on Amazon, I was so disappointed. The story line is slow, and predictable. Two females are best friends and are in love with each other, but neither has the guts to tell the other. 'Will she?, wont she?' story drags on for the whole book. Obviously just my own opinion.
Published 10 months ago by Bette Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story of love and loss., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Samantha Adams is a lawyer working in her fathers firm. When she hears her Grandmother has passed away she feels little except some residual anger that the woman she barely remembers left them all behind when she was three. She is shocked and surprised when a parcel arrives and she finds that her Gran has recognized her in her will and left her letters and mementos. As far as she is aware her Gran left and never looked back.

To help her decide whether to honor her Grans last request for a trip down memory lane she turns to lesbian BFF, Ellis Hudson. Also a lawyer working for Sam’s Dad, Ellis harbors more than friendship for Sam, but with her background on the wrong side of the tracks and her fear of losing what contact she has, Ellis has never told Sam just how she feels. Instead she keeps her feelijgs locked away and poses as a player on the scene.

They decide to take the road trip across country, visiting Grandma Lou’s memories. Ellis can’t imagine a month without Sam and secretly hopes her friend will finally notice her. Sam knows she needs Ellis with her, but isn’t prepared to face up to why. The trip will make both of them confront their own fears and could be the make-or-break of their relationship.

------------

This is an interesting story of love and loss. It is a thoughtful exploration of how one woman’s homophobia and anger can rip apart a family and the loss such hatred can cause.

Sam and El are wonderful characters. Intelligent, successful, warm and loving, yet humanized and made real by their inner battles and fear. Sam is scared of acknowledging who she is because the cost could be so high. Ellis is afraid to let go of her history and recognize who she has become in case she isn’t good enough for the woman she loves. The journey cross country shows both women that they need to let go of their past in order to really live their ‘now’ and to build their future.

The story is charmingly filled with memories of women’s baseball during the war years, a common thread which brought the earlier generation together and fills the trip with meaning. It gives a continuity of feel to our meetings with Sunny, Charlie and Lou. These three wonderful women barely take a backseat to Sam and Ellis, their presence is so strong. We meet Sunny and Charlie, but it is Lou that dominates the book. The strength of her character, warmth of her love and heartache of her loss, is the life story that makes Sam and Ellis finally understand what is at stake in their own lives.

Syd Parkers writing is always hugely enjoyable. She is a master of character and creates people we really engage with. They are then set in a plot well researched and thought through which adds a realism to the story. As always this is well written and a joy to read.

Every book Syd writes is on my re-read pile and this is no exception. Her writing just gets better with each new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful romantic story, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Lawyer, Samantha Adams, (Sam) grew up not knowing her grandmother. Now it's too late, she's dead. Sam receives a box of memorabilia from her grandmother's lawyer and learns that she is her grandmother, Louise Elizabeth Barrett's (Lou) heir. With one small caveat, Lou wants Sam to take a road trip to get to know about her life and the people she loved. Sam also learns that her own mother had kept Sam and her grandmother apart when Lou had allegedly abandoned her family for her lover, Charlie.

Now Sam is going to get to know Lou. Much to her mother's disgust, Sam is going on the road trip with her best friend, lawyer, Ellis Hudson in compliance with her grandmother's final request. Along the way Sam and Ellis come to realize that the box of Lou's memorabilia contains items that she should return to their rightful owners. It's a heart rending and momentous journey, filled with fun, love and more than anything, Sam is getting to know all about Lou, her life and her loves. She is also getting to see Ellis in a different light too.

Ellis has secretly been in love with Sam since they first met eight years previously. She's single and has had a series of one night stands. If she can't have Sam, she doesn't want anyone. As difficult as this journey will be, it's make or break time. Ellis knows she must either let go of her dreams for a romance with Sam or try to get Sam to see what is right in front of her, smoldering in her own heart. Will Ellis be successful, or will Sam remain as blind as ever to her own feelings?

Another winning story from the very talented Syd Parker. Each time I pick up a book by this wonderful author, I'm secure in the knowledge that it's going to be a well written, well researched page turner and different from her previous books, but even more important to me is that I know I will love it. There are some author's books I will buy without reading the synopsis, Syd is one such author. She never, ever lets me down.

This story has a baseball background and is all about family love, loss and betrayal. It's also about finding oneself. Finding out who you are and who you want to be. There is a simmering romantic theme throughout too.

When a big wrong has been done to two people and it's too late to put it right, will one person be able to forgive the other person?

Both Sam and Ellis are loveable well formed main characters, multidimensional and so easy to get to know. They interact well together and are backed up by a strong cast of secondary characters, each essential in the progression of the story right through to it's very satisfying ending.

Syd's writing simply keeps on going from strength to strength. Each time I read a new book from Syd, it becomes my new favorite. This one is no exception. It's in my favorites folder to be read time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bridges can be rebuilt eventually if we try, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Syd Parker writes another great book.
The Story revolves around a journey by Samantha following the death of her grandmother who she last saw aged three and finding out how alike they are. But the twist is why she left in the first place, Read it you get the chance well worth it.
For me 5 stars at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
This has a good back story but is a bit predictable. its well written (mostly) but some of the dialogue does seem a bit stilted but mostly I wanted things to happen more quickly - it felt a bit slow. The feelings between Sam and Ellis are always there and I wanted Ellis to take control and DO something much sooner so that the trip could have been more about them exploring each other and their relationship rather than just about Sam and her grandmother. That said its a good read and I would recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant reading..., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
This book was a nicely written love story. It centres around a young woman names Sam who receives unexpected letters and items from a late grandmother she never knew. Her grandmother never had the chance of getting to know Sam in real life, so in death she orchestrates it so Sam can go on a trip across America to get to know her grandmother and everything that made her her, and all she lived for. Sam is also long-standing friends with a woman named Ellis, who she has no idea Ellis is in love with her

There are many heart wrenching moments on the journey as Sam gets to know what her grandmother was like, and in the process, discovers things about herself too.

I found that I read the book quite quickly, and although it is not short by any means, some 200+ pages, I felt like I could have happily read a lot more. There is a lot of indecision by the two characters, and it seems everyone else who meets them knows they are meant to be together, which in reality seemed a bit corny to me. I also would have liked to see some more character development of Ellis at the start of the book as she is portrayed as a womaniser because of her unrequited love for Sam, but we don't really get to see this in the book. It sort of goes straight into the road trip that they go on, and Ellis is a constant presence by Sam's side, pining for her. There are a couple of good tense (sexually) moments between the characters, but had the book been longer, I think there would have been more room to explore further.

It's a nice book, and many people could probably relate to a lot of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
This was the first Syd Parker book I have read and it won't be the last, an unusual story that held my attention from cover to cover. Great characters on a wonderful journey of discovery, both about the past and themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never fails to deliver, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Paperback)
Syd Parker books are romantic, beautiful and above all entertaining. "Remember Me" dose not fail to deliver. It is an encharnting story of two best Lesbian friends that fall in love but cant tell each other. It is a journey about self discovery and will strike a light in many readers hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Escapism, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Victoria A. Hall "Ziggy66" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Loved the read escape to another world... love the romance and how the Times have changed ... compulsive read couldn't put it down once I started....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All about the journey, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Miss S. M. Hall "opinionated" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
I love this book and will probably read it over and over again. I know there's a 'will they won't they' sub-plot which helps the story along, and possibly exasperates some readers, but I liked it because the characters were very real. The crux of the book for me was the need to belong, to know where you're from. It's that thing when old friends of the family say 'when you smile you look just like your gran'. Do I? Wow. That's history, family, genes, right there - and to many of us that matters. If you want to read the book just for the love story between Sam and Ellis, then fine, but you'll have a much better ride if you read the love story between Sam and her grandmother. Cracking book Syd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER HIT, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember Me (Kindle Edition)
Syd Parker has the uncanny ability to drag her readers into another world from page one and that's exactly what she does in this book. A road trip combined with the character's uncertainty for one another, drag us into a world of tension and years of unrequited love about ready to boil over. A great idea translated into a wonderful story. May we be blessed with many more from this wonderful author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remember Me
Remember Me by Syd Parker (Paperback - 31 Dec 2013)
£5.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews