Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, fun read.
A Lasting Love Affair by P. O. Dixon

The premise of this story was... brave! The idea of having her most beloved sister die (sorry if you consider that a spoiler, but you find it out pretty quickly when you start reading anyway!) was a very interesting path to go down as well as being very shocking and surprising, and original for I haven’t read one...
Published 12 months ago by Sophie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! a very bad affair.
I am not in the habit of writing reviews but I think readers should be warned. This is a shameless exploitation of the success of P and P. and has nothing much to do with the original story and characters( appart from the using of their names). Jane Austen must have shuddered in her tomb! Neither the caracters nor the situations are credible.For example : Elizabeth is...
Published 7 months ago by bleuvert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, fun read., 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Lasting Love Affair by P. O. Dixon

The premise of this story was... brave! The idea of having her most beloved sister die (sorry if you consider that a spoiler, but you find it out pretty quickly when you start reading anyway!) was a very interesting path to go down as well as being very shocking and surprising, and original for I haven’t read one before where Jane dies. The way in which she dies is actually very clever, however I will not give that away!  

Darcy and Lizzy were as cute as ever in this tale. Unlike what we are used to, they become good friends very quickly, and they are really sweet.  Lizzy finds in him someone to confide as Darcy is much more agreeable. It was a nice change to have her already considering Darcy a friend rather than being so prejudiced against him. As the friendship grows to something more, there are some very sweet and romantic moments.
 
Lizzy is quite altered in this variation, understandably, due to her loss. To help her deal with her heartache she writes letters to her deceased sister, which is a very sensible idea and one I can relate to, for writing down your feelings often makes pain easier. As well as writing to her sister, Darcy comes along and seems to be able to help her through her sadness and break the wall she has built around her heart, trying to protect herself from further heartache. But do not fear, for although Lizzy is suffering the pain of loss, it hasn't quite dampened all her spirit and there are still some wonderfully witty comments and conversations!
 
An interesting side we get to see to Darcy in this variation was jealousy! The addition of the dashing Lord Holland made for some competition, which was fun to read. Even though he was jealous, it was nice to see Darcy so sure of his affection and willing to go against his family straight away. 

A few fun additional characters were, as already mentioned, Lord Hollond and also the lovely Miss Lancaster, who become a good friend to Lizzy. The conversations between the four of them were fun, even if Holland isn't at all pleased with the attentions Darcy is showing Lizzy! 
 
Another character was Lizzy's estranged Aunt, Lady Vanessa. She reminded me a little of Lady Catherine, but luckily she is much nicer than Lady Catherine! As we know, it was Aunt Gardiner who was the means of uniting Darcy and Lizzy, but it was fun to have a different aunt responsible for the being the means of uniting Darcy and Lizzy. 
 
The writing in the story was very good. While the story was very fast moving, it flowed well and the language was very appropriate to the time, very much in the style of Jane Austen.  This was a fun, quick, easy read, not without its angst, but also with touches of humour and romance.  
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! a very bad affair., 14 Aug. 2014
This review is from: A Lasting Love Affair: Darcy and Elizabeth (A Pride and Prejudice Variation): 1 (A Darcy and Elizabeth Love Affair) (Paperback)
I am not in the habit of writing reviews but I think readers should be warned. This is a shameless exploitation of the success of P and P. and has nothing much to do with the original story and characters( appart from the using of their names). Jane Austen must have shuddered in her tomb! Neither the caracters nor the situations are credible.For example : Elizabeth is colourless and disbelieves Darcy for no good reason, even after their early "friendship" - Darcy is an amateur of horse races - Lady Catherine dies of exhaustion after pursuing Elizabeth all over England. A lot of new caracters are introduced, each shallower than the other, and they relagate Austen personnages to a mere mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth and Mr Darcy new, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book left off from original book good story line very readable. Pity about american spelling but still a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a lasting love affair, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really romantic story with a new variation. All the usual characters are represented and indeed live up to expectations. The introduction of new yet well connected characters adds a depth and interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable variation, 30 July 2014
The author's writing style flows easily and the story allowed Elizabeth's character to develop. This rates well against other variations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick but satisfying read, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a book to read whilst travelling back from holiday and this fit the bill nicely. I do like Pam Dixon's work and enjoyed this one very much. She has dared to do something to a major character that surprised me at the start but it was vital to the plot. Darcy seems somewhat more determined from the start than the original, but this is a variation and doesn't pretend to be anything else and this is quite a unique take! My only wish in the end was that there was more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews