Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Goldfinch Review
Not as comprehensive as Id hoped---I'm not sure that I shall purchase the book, but it arrived in good condition and i good time.
Published 13 months ago by Pat Willis

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the point?
Who wants to pay £4 just to read a review of the book ?

Rip off and costs almost as much as the real book.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the point?, 20 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
Who wants to pay £4 just to read a review of the book ?

Rip off and costs almost as much as the real book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not The Goldfinch but a REVIEW of it, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Ms. S. Arthur (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
The bbok has the wrong name.
It should be called Review of The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.

I was looking for the paperback version of The Goldfinch. Didn't know it wasn't out yet, and mistakenly bought this paperback which looked like it was that book, but had Review tucked away at the end of the title.

It read like it was people making up things to say about the book.
It was not helpdul.

I have given it away to the Oxfam 2nd hand bookshop. Maybe someone else will apprciate it, but not any9one at my book group where I read out extracts from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Mistaken Order, 7 Feb. 2014
By 
A . J . Reynolds "AJ" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
Ordered this by mistake , having read it cannot understand why anyone would bother , can't see the point , just read the book for yourself !!!!! Expert Book Reviews indeed !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very amateur, 16 April 2014
By 
Mary Hoffman "Stravagante" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
I bought this because my book group are reading the Goldfinch. It is totally anonymous so we don't know whose opinions these are but they even get one of the character's names wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unclear, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
I thought I was purchasing the whole book...not a review!...My fault but I think it wasn't made clear.....so very disapointed...I want to read the book not a review.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a con, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
bought this as was not made clear that it wasn't the paperback, even so it was a con - content not worth the postage to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
Very poor - gives no evidence that the self-styled 'expert reviewer' even finished the book ... don't waste your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars review, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
I wanted a BOOK not a review. i `ve wasted over £4 what`s more I sent a £15 gift token and I don` t think I`ve been credited with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Goldfinch Review, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
Not as comprehensive as Id hoped---I'm not sure that I shall purchase the book, but it arrived in good condition and i good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first Donna Tartt read., 30 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Book Review: The Goldfinch (Paperback)
Well now, where to begin. Writing as an avid reader although not always of what I would class as literary fiction, I was curious as to what makes a book a literary novel and win glittering prizes and wonderful reviews as opposed to, say, a good easy read best seller of a read - for example J K Rowlings new detective genre.
It isn't I didn't t like the book because I did - it was beautifully written,the dialogue feels real and the characters were intriguing. As an 'ordinary reader' it wasn't difficult to read, I got hooked into the book and kept reading as I could empathise with the main character and his terrible loss and the unfortunate and sad life he found himself living. I wanted to know what would happen to him. I found myself caring a great deal. Boris was well written and I loved the way he spoke and thought. A compelling character on par with - say - the Artful Dodger. As others have said, this book does have Dickensian qualities despite it being indisputably American through and through..
It was so very American though in all respects.

I struggled with the start very slow and turgid and kept wondering when the story would take off. I do see though the foundations needed to be laid so we could follow what came from his mother's death..

My biggest difficulty was the heavy art stuff. I know next to nothing about art. I was interested - up to a point - to learn - but it was too much for me. I began skipping some of the longer sections on art and furniture and philosophy wanting to get back to the great plot rather than wading through pages and pages on art most irritating when between the protagonist and an art thief drug addict.
So, a bit pretentious in places for me with too much stream of consciousness stuff when I was impatient to get back to the story. Disappointing ending too. Can quite see though now what makes it a literary novel. Glad I read it. Bit gloomy but good plot and well drawn character and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Book Review: The Goldfinch
Book Review: The Goldfinch by Expert Book Reviews (Paperback - 13 Dec. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews