Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Saints.
Some saints are well known like Sy Francis of Assisi. Many more are distant echoes lost in a bygone age. Reading their stories is often heartbreaking when you see how they suffered for their faith. Also some are simple and inspirational. In their historical context they convey a whiff of past times when the Church was much more to everyone for good and for ill.
Published on 6 April 2011 by M. Taplin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lives of the Saints.
I found it hard to read. Each story i felt it was rushed..Could not digest the store's. So lost interest.
Published 14 months ago by p aul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Saints., 6 April 2011
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some saints are well known like Sy Francis of Assisi. Many more are distant echoes lost in a bygone age. Reading their stories is often heartbreaking when you see how they suffered for their faith. Also some are simple and inspirational. In their historical context they convey a whiff of past times when the Church was much more to everyone for good and for ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, 22 July 2012
By 
Peter (Cheadle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are running a confirmation class and looking for info on all the saints then this is it. Children are not getting it in school but you can give them the knowledge with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful start to the day, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are so many wonderful saints who go unnoticed and very little known about them, we seem to acknowledge and venerate the more well known, this book by Alban Butler brings in other's to whet your appetite for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lives of the Saints., 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found it hard to read. Each story i felt it was rushed..Could not digest the store's. So lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic read for the faithful, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All life, human and divine is here. At last I've found out the saint appropriate to my birthday. only 65 years of waiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars devotions, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An old book like this neednt be difficult to read, I urge anyone thinking about it to go ahead as this book is charmingly written and really encourages a good heart and a Catholic lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lives of saints, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its ok, I wanted more about how they were percecuted and how, if they were, murdered. I like the fact that its in date order that helpful especially if you have a child and want to give it the same name as the saint it was born on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lives of the Saints
Lives of the Saints by Alban Butler (Paperback - 8 Dec 2013)
6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews