Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST I HEARD FROM POPE FRANCIS SO FAR !
Indeed a very good book written at "the appropriate time" for believers. The language used is simple. Therefore it makes very easy reading & comprehension of Pope Francis' message. Don't just read it once, do at least a second and a third reading.

This book also makes an easy-to-use Reference book for the people in the pews.

If you are...
Published 18 months ago by cyril gabriel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Presentation of Evangelii Gaudium
The printing of the document in the booklet was far too small to make for comfortable reading. but it is important for me to own
this copy.
Published 15 months ago by Elizabeth Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST I HEARD FROM POPE FRANCIS SO FAR !, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Paperback)
Indeed a very good book written at "the appropriate time" for believers. The language used is simple. Therefore it makes very easy reading & comprehension of Pope Francis' message. Don't just read it once, do at least a second and a third reading.

This book also makes an easy-to-use Reference book for the people in the pews.

If you are thinking of getting a personal copy, get one more for a Best Friend or a Neighbour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Paperback)
I have NEVER read an encyclical written by a Pope previously because they are not typically written for the person in the pew. This one is very readable and easy to understand. More importantly it addresses issues that I believe most Christians are very interested in.Even my 25 year old goddaughter is reading it without any prodding.This is a Pope who truly knows how to engage a mass audience of non theologians. Bravo Papa Francesco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this!, 22 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Paperback)
I cannot praise this document too highly. At last a Papal document that reads as if it has been written by a human being and one with a sense of humour at that. But do not buy this; go to the Vatican website, choose your preferred language and download the pdf. All you then need to do to read it on a Kindle is email it to your Kindle's email address with the word "convert" in the title line. It will make a pretty decent, but not perfect, job of fitting it to you Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where is Francis leading us?, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To a Christian brought up on the Hell Fire and Damnation approach, this is a breath of fresh air. It feeds my hope for renewal within the Roman Catholic world. There are plenty of words directed at the clergy, but it is also a call for every member to become fully active and responsible and to experience the joy and let go unnecessary burdens. It is sympathetic to difference. I am reading it quite slowly, because there is a lot to think about, even if the language is relatively simple, but sometimes though I understand the words I am not completely clear about the intended meaning. I bought the kindle version; in hindsight I would have preferred the paper back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evangeli Gaudium, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant and inspiring. We have waited a long time for a work such as this. Written in an easy and approachable manner. It is also very non-denominational so that it can appeal across the board to seekers of the truth whatever their denomination or even if they have none at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A call to Christians to get our act together, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what Catholicism is about. It is a call to put all our petty differences aside and to follow Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Presentation of Evangelii Gaudium, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Paperback)
The printing of the document in the booklet was far too small to make for comfortable reading. but it is important for me to own
this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apostolic Exhortation, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Paperback)
This is inspired writing that is written in an accessible way - this should be on the reading list of all Catholics and many other believers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The joy of the real world we live in, 11 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium (Paperback)
`The Joy of the Gospel' is a work of love and compassion for those who prefer to live in a vacuum - for that I give it high marks. Yet, how about the joy of the real world we live in? Francis ignores the issues of the day as if they didn't exist. For example, consider homosexuality.

Benedict defines homosexuality as an intrinsic disorder; a position roundly supported by the Old Testament where the penalty is death. Leviticus 20: "If a man lie with mankind, as with womankind, both have committed an abomination, they shall surely be put to death."

But, we don't live in the Old Testament; do we. We live in the New Testament.

In the New Testament (Corinthians 6 and again in Romans 1) the penalty is worse than death - permanent exclusion from heaven: "Be not deceived, neither the immoral, not adulterers, nor effeminates, nor homosexual offenders...will inherit the kingdom of heaven."

Benedict's definition is also consistent with Canon Law: `homosexuality is a sinful disorder.' Like any head of state a pope takes an oath to preserve and protect the constitution - in the case of the Roman Catholic Church - the constitution is Canon Law.

Francis comes along: "If someone is gay and he searches for the Lord and has goodwill who am I to judge?" One would wonder how a pope can set aside Canon Law he is sworn to defend and protect?

Francis is responding to a higher order. Christ's instruction: `Love thy Neighbor as Thyself.' Reminiscent of John Paul I who as a cardinal once brought his struggle for homosexuals into the Sistine Chapel: "The day is not far off when we will have to answer to these people who through the years have been humiliated, whose rights have been ignored, whose human dignity has been offended, their identity denied and their liberty oppressed. What is more, we will have to answer to the God who created them." See John Paul I biography The Vatican Murders: The Life and Death of John Paul I .

There is not a whisper of this kind of thing in this book. It is as if Francis has no real responsibilities in this world. No mention of women ordination, celibacy, contraception, abortion, pedophilia, or any of a host of other issues that face the Church today. There is no real meat here. Just a repetition of verses and generalities carefully engineered to steer the mind away from the real world we live in into a world of ecclesiastical bliss.

Why would a book which only wealth is excerpts from the gospels reap five stars?

Vatican censorship? Reviews of those who prefer to ignore the issues of the day? More likely, courage; in grading `pope' books one risks one's salvation.

A five star book? How about a debate between these two men who have reached the pinnacle of Catholic faith on homosexuality or any of the others issues of the real world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Down to earth, challenging and inspiring, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Plenty of tough medicine that will shake many clerics - and 'practising' christians and lay folk. This is truly inspirational, and pretty shaming too.The messages hit so many nails on the head and cast rays of light onto the sorry state of mankind and the global culture. To anyone who considers the vatican to be self centred and self serving, this uncompromising foray will give great hope that there's going to be one huge shake-up. I hope Pope Francis lives to see significant progress towards his inspirational vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium
The Joy of the Gospel: Evangelii Gaudium by Pope Francis (Paperback - 26 Nov. 2013)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews