Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and concise framework for how product developers and managers should build great product in today's age
I loved this book. It brings together all the elements you need to make your products come alive and stay relevant and fresh in the eyes of consumers and users of your product.

Eyal uses the framework of Triggers, Actions, Variable Rewards and Investments to show how users are first made aware of their own need to use your product (their "itch"), then...
Published 13 months ago by Paul Zimmerman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars remixing is good when made subtly
The book borrows from "the power of habit" which is far more insightful and well-researched and the bj fogg model. It adds the "investment" step which in itself can fit in an article. It also introduces one new paradigm for ethical design (facilitator, dealer etc.) which isn't exactly cold fusion. I would've given 3 stars if the writing style wasn't so bland
Published 6 hours ago by Halim Georges Madi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Trigger, action, variable reward and investment., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I follow Nir's blog already, and was waiting for this book to be published to get it. Like you, you might be aware of the Hooked Model discussed in the book from his blog posts, yet the book explains the stuff mentioned in the blog posts in more details. Also the example and case studies given in the book puts you in the shoes of those entrepreneurs and how they keep the users of their products hooked. I recommend this book if you are an entrepreneur or just into behavioral psychology.

I blogged about the book here too. https://medium.com/@gr33ndata/hooked-how-to-build-habit-forming-products-9458f0ef38e6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read but, use it's techniques with caution., 22 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book about how to make your game more long lived however, I would exercise a note of caution in this regard as some of the techniques discussed border on trying to turn your audience into what amounts to junkies for your game. Constantly plowing their spare time and money into it and always looking for their next play session.

Some ideas in here are great for enhancing replay but, I would draw the line at using the techniques to effectively bleed your audience dry of their cash especially if your audience consists of young children and teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent ! really makes you think and get into action, 25 Mar. 2015
By 
Andy (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great book ! This is has thought me a few things and altered not only the way I look at things but how I will approach them. There is brilliant sound advice. I like how the chapter ends with a overview and a section of what we can do to use the advice and teachings. This ebook is not like other ebooks whereby the author is trying to market others products etc would recommend to all serious business people / entrepreneurs / product creators etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good to read, fun and easy. Strongly recommend if you want an easy way to understand habits and persuasive design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for builders and users., 23 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great read for anyone who either builds products, or for those who use them and are curious about how they are being brainwashed in the process.

I build / design products and I have gotten many excellent new ideas and improved understandings of concepts that i know will help me in my day job.

Well written and engaging to Joe Public and techies alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars remixing is good when made subtly, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book borrows from "the power of habit" which is far more insightful and well-researched and the bj fogg model. It adds the "investment" step which in itself can fit in an article. It also introduces one new paradigm for ethical design (facilitator, dealer etc.) which isn't exactly cold fusion. I would've given 3 stars if the writing style wasn't so bland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book/science on why and how people get "manipulated" to ..., 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book/science on why and how people get "manipulated" to use sevices/products (and confirmed my own theories) on Facebook/Smartphones / Gambling (stuff that i find idiotic but the sheeps love them). You can use this book FOR GOOD or for EVIL. I read it for learning how to protect myself + to use it in my marketing efforts for good products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was hooked, 17 Jan. 2015
I found this book fascinating with a great framework for creating habits with customers.

While I don't work in a Silicon Valley start-up or even strictly within the Tech scene, I can see how the framework can be applied to both the e-commerce and coaching businesses.

I'll definitely be recommending this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful read. The book clearly lays out some 'no-brainer' ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really useful read.

The book clearly lays out some 'no-brainer' theses and concepts. Some of these may be commonsense, but Nir Eyal explains them in a way that makes total sense and lets one articulate the points made much better than would have been the case before reading the book.

Recommended to any tech start-up founders / CEOs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great and actual, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even if you already are familiar with the models and psychological biases presented in the book, it still manages to compile very actual and recent mobile app examples of how others have applied them to generate real engagement. Nicely done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hooked: A Guide to Building Habit-Forming Products
Hooked: A Guide to Building Habit-Forming Products by Nir Eyal (Paperback - 26 Dec. 2013)
Used & New from: £212.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews