Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the parts one & two
After reading part one then part two , I thought it may be an hard act to follow but most certainly not.!!
hilariously real & a must read. 10 Points Mr Lowe.....
Published 7 months ago by GH

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The moanings of a southern retired gentleman
This is the third book I have read by this author. With trepidation and hopefullness that as he became more settled in Spain that he would grow to be more open to life. Some of his stories are humerous, but I find his take on life very narrow and opinionated. I didn't bother finishing this book.
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. L. W. Baxendale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the parts one & two, 3 Dec 2013
This review is from: Spanish Journals: The Posthumous Diary of an Expat: Part Three: Consolidation (Paperback)
After reading part one then part two , I thought it may be an hard act to follow but most certainly not.!!
hilariously real & a must read. 10 Points Mr Lowe.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still in pursuit of the Spanish simple life., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ernest continues his pursuit of completing his Spanish integration and becoming a mere Spanish peasant farmer.

Eager to become self-sufficient and live off the land, he scatters seeds aplenty - producing calamity, chaos and comedy.

Taking matters into his own hands results in a twitchy conversation with la policia, which again requires a female's touch - from his wife Pamela - to resolve.

The mix of characters - both ex-pat and native - keeps the journal fresh and entertaining.

But will Ernest realise his dream before Old Father Time catches up with him?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for Parts 1-3, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Stewart Muir (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spanish Journals: The Posthumous Diary of an Expat: Part Three: Consolidation (Paperback)
The thought of reading ex-pat diary entries may appear boring & repetitive, ... but in fact it is none of these. There is not really a plot as such, as this would make the diary less believable. So instead there are themes/ threads that evolve like in real life. These threads are rarely put to bed, so they build up from one book to another.
These diaries are funny, with a host of comic characters that generally grow funnier as you get to understand them. The main character, Ernest Postlethwaite, I feel sorry for, made more intense by the fact we know that he dies prematurely, and his wife publishes his work. He tries so hard, and yet progress is so slow ... does that sound familiar? Amongst other themes, is his strife for a 'Good Life' (remember Richard Briers & Felicity Kendal?) But this lifestyle is far from what his wife Pamela had in mind when they moved to Spain. Pamela is as sharp as a knife ... but how does he meet his early death?
This work has been written by someone who knows about ex-pat life in Spain, and readers who are themselves in this position will be able to relate to many of the episodes in Ernest's Spanish life. All 3 parts are recommended reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant wait for the next installment, Mr Lowe really has you believeing that they are actual journals the way they are written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed all 3 of the Spanish Journals - looking forward to many more of these funny and believable stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total send-up!!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have thoroughly enjoyed the three volumes. How could anyone not realise they were spoofs? They embody the very worst traits of the Brit abroad and are written with such humour. Thank goodness Ernesto does not exist in reality though I am sure some real people come close. The thing that keeps me reading, is wondering when and how his long suffering wife is to be freed to enjoy her life in Spain where she has made so many good friends of all nationalities.I feel bad that I want to know how he meets his demise!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun read and informative too, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all 3 were so funny, enjoyable and informative I really laughed out loud. When's Part 4 coming out please as I need to know what happened next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ernisto blunders on..., 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the third part of this humorous diary, Ernest - or `Ernesto' as he now prefers to be known - carries on where he left off in part two, attending several `typically Spanish' events with hilarious consequences, embarking on further travels, trying to resolve his legal wrangles etc. etc. As amusing as ever, our hero shows no signs of slacking, and you almost come to believe that he really exists. Bring on part four... will it be the last?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had me in Stitches, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as good as the first two. I shall continue to follow Earnest's adventures in Spain. A joy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and real, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, funny and informative. I have read all three and enjoyed the journey, sad to get to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spanish Journals: The Posthumous Diary of an Expat: Part Three: Consolidation
5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews