Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2014
There's a common issue with learning new technologies when you have a few already under your belt. You have expectations about what and how you should learn based on your past experiences. Some people just bash through the discomfort, others get stuck looking for the perfect resources, others post on StackOverflow with requests for the "most efficient way of learning x".

This little book is great. Not actually perfect, but good enough for five stars certainly. The writing style is clear and he covers the material in a logical order which makes much more sense to someone who already has a technical foundation. There are little reassurances that if something doesn't make sense right now, either it will be covered very soon, or it is covered immediately in a side note.

He also doesn't force a particular viewpoint on the reader of how javascript should be used. He talks briefly about how and why it can be considered functional, and how it can be considered object oriented. He gives a little guidance of the "Don't make a square peg fit a round hole" type but doesn't get hung up on it all, which allows the book to flow.

highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
An interesting, and very readable, new take on Javascript. I liked the way that the early chapters emphasised how the language works, rather than just being a simple tutorial. The first part of the book certainly achieves what it sets out to do in terms of giving you a context to understand why it and HTML5 are as they are. If you've come from several other languages, I think it would help to read this book before you start hacking.

I appreciated the introduction to jQuery too. I was less diligent at following all the steps of the tutorial example, but I found the introduction to the debugger (I was using Chrome to follow the examples) to be useful. I downloaded the example code from the author's website and they worked for me.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2014
Very effective teaching style, just the right amount of detail. Its not a reference book but it does give enough that you understand the structure of a modern web app. Definitely not for beginners to web apps, you need to know how to program in a traditional language (C, C++, C#, Java etc) and a bit of HTML/CSS.

It's let down by poor editing (lots of typos) and by poor choice of fonts - the code in particular is too big and so too many lines wrap unnecessarily. If it hadn't been for that I'd have given 5 stars.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Perfect for people who are new to web development but familiar with programming in general. It lies somewhere between the 'green novice' hello world type books and the 'in at the deep end' mind boggler. A quick intro that sets you up on the right track quickly and gives a good base to build on.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
If a person has some experience with standard web development and wants to get an handle on the new stuff this is a great first read. For some developers it will be enough -- they'll just crack on with online resources and start building web apps; others may want to look into some of the Manning ".. in Action" series.

Even his quick tutorials on HTML5, Javascript and JQuery at the beginning taught me things I did not know (after a few years experience with these technologies).

As an intelligent intro this book could hardly be bettered!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
This is a quick but informative read. It aims to explain key aspects of these technologies to those with experience of other languages and programming environments. It did that exceptionally well for me. I wish I had found and read it earlier as it would have saved me time and frustration.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Not a primer for the novice, but if you've come from other popular languages particularly of the C++, Java, C# background then this is a great intro into how JS works and what differences and approaches you should be taking to make full use of JS. It is not going to teach you much about the basic familiar language structures that it has more or less in common with C like languages like loops and if-then-else not go into too much nitty gritty about syntax or any of the things you can learn from an API reference. It focuses on the idiosyncrasies and differences and the way you use JS most efficiently and the pitfalls and false expectations that people may bring from other languages.

So excellent if that is your need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
I am an experienced programmer, in multiple languages and technologies. For various reasons, I have not yet had to deal with the HTML5 and JavaScript stack. Now I do, and fast. This book has been really excellent for bringing me up to speed in how this works - I'm no longer peering at examples and comparing them to all the other technologies I know. If I need more information on specifics, I can get that elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Easy to read and walks you through step by step to learn some key features of JavaScript, jQuery and HTML5. As a backend developer who was wondering what was happening in that area, this has been very effective in giving me a good overall introduction to the topic. You won't be a master in either topic at the end of this book, but this is not the goal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Great book for getting more than an overview of these technologies without going into significant detail about each one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)