Customer Reviews


407 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great pleasure to read an original
A beautiful book that after years of wanting to read has finally been achieved. It was most enjoyed and brought back many childhood memories of the story being told. A classic that warms the heart when read. Pleasure to read.
Published 18 months ago by Daniela

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Movie!
I found the book hard work at times but in its better moments, it is a good tale with a very clear moral message.
Published 5 months ago by Christoff


‹ Previous | 138 39 40 41 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
A fan of Charles Dickens. This is an excellent quick read, especially at Christmas time; reminds you of what really matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic - great read, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
I read this book in just a few hours. I wanted to read something "Christmasy" and knew the story but had never read the book. This was my first Charles Dickens and was easier to read than I thought. I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.

A quick, easy read and perfect to get you in the Christmas spirit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic for everyone to read, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
I have seen many different versions of the film, didn't get round to reading the book. The book is far better a classic that is still relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the heartiest of stories, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
It's the story you know in its true form. No adaptation can quite match the empathy created by Dickens in these pages. Read it when nights grow cold to keep you warm, and to delight in the prospects of all you are yet to be! Merry Christmas!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just gorgeous, 16 Nov 2012
By 
L. Brown (N E England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
Everyone knows the story, it's been redone so many times as film, cartoon, etc. etc. but nothing beats settling down and reading Dickens' own words, even if on an electronic device which Dickens would be astounded at!. Just a superb, heartwarming story, written beautifully. I never bore of it, could read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Classic, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
As the old saying goes 'If it ain't broke, don't mend it'. 'A Christmas Carol' is simply excellent and should be a 'must' on all school reading lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Lassic!, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
It's a long time since I read this last and even though I've seen all the film adaptations, nothing beats the original story. Dickens's descriptions and detail are legendary; it's set me up perfectly for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cosy Read, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
I love this story, and all the TV versions are nothing on the original. Charles Dickens descriptive writing style gives this book a family feel and allows you to picture everything yourself. It is a fantastic read, quite short and simple but entertaining and keeps you sucked in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Put yourself in the Christmas spirit, 8 Nov 2012
By 
M. Harmshaw "Harmy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
A lovely short story that never fails to put me in the Christmas spirit. This book has been dramatised so many times for screen and stage and some are very good. The book will always have a little more magic for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will warm any heart, 18 Aug 2012
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. For some reason I've put off reading it for years, and now that I've read it, I wonder why. It was a delightful tale of the joy that Christmas can bring to our lives. Scrooge is well depicted as a grumpy individual, but the transformation that the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future bring about will warm any heart. I'd recommend this book to any and every reading person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 138 39 40 41 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (Paperback - 5 Nov 2013)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews