Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Generals in History
This is a fascinating treatise on ten of the most brilliant generals recorded in history. It chronicles their lives - exploring their successes and losses - and delves into their minds. By analysing their character traits the author has been able to pinpoint the very aspects which have allowed these generals to rise to the top and achieve success where others often failed.
Published 16 months ago by Rick

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
Pretty terrible, poorly written and sketchy. Read like a High School student's year end report. I would have trouble recommending it to my dog
Published 14 months ago by Pablo de la Guerra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Greatest Generals: 10 Commanders Who Conquered Empires, Revolutionized Warfare, and Changed History Forever (Paperback)
Pretty terrible, poorly written and sketchy. Read like a High School student's year end report. I would have trouble recommending it to my dog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History for the masses, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Mowatt "humour magnate" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
History throws up many notable people. Generals that made definitive decisions that changed the course of warfare are featured here.
I recommend this ebook for history students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Generals in History, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating treatise on ten of the most brilliant generals recorded in history. It chronicles their lives - exploring their successes and losses - and delves into their minds. By analysing their character traits the author has been able to pinpoint the very aspects which have allowed these generals to rise to the top and achieve success where others often failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time but the book was a trifle top level, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Greatest Generals: 10 Commanders Who Conquered Empires, Revolutionized Warfare, and Changed History Forever (Paperback)
The book arrived on time but the book is rather superficial as I was expecting more details about each general and while not a historian by any means I think there is data on each that could have provided a better précis on each.. A trivial point but the pages were very "yellowed"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book but the book quality is less than satisfactory., 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Greatest Generals: 10 Commanders Who Conquered Empires, Revolutionized Warfare, and Changed History Forever (Paperback)
This short book is great for those who is just starting to read about the history of warfare. It provides a brief background into the 10 greatest commanders and valid reasons why they are so great. The only complaint I have about this book is the quality of the book itself. The front cover looks like its been printed off with a toaster and it smells awfully a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining ( despite typo blemishes), 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Greatest Generals: 10 Commanders Who Conquered Empires, Revolutionized Warfare, and Changed History Forever (Paperback)
A fun quick read ( acquired it for my son) and super value for the price: that's my dominant thought. At a secondary level ( and in case there's a reprint at some point), it needs a thorough proof read to address numerous typos; also, I discerned a couple of factual innaccuracies especially in the chapter on Julius Caesar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History's Greatest Generals, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another quality read as you'd expect from author Scott Rank. The book is full of fascinating facts about some of the worlds greatest military generals through history. You will learn interesting insights into military strategy and also the psychology of these military minds. From the chapter about Genghis Khan causing global carbon levels to plummet up to more recent history with American military leader, Robert E. Lee, there is something of interest for anyone that enjoys reading about military strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and easy reading. I have read many books in this genre and this remains top of the list. A recommended buy if you like this type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's perfect. Though I missed some generals from this book, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Greatest Generals: 10 Commanders Who Conquered Empires, Revolutionized Warfare, and Changed History Forever (Paperback)
If you are a historian this book is too little for you. But if you only want a taster, it's perfect. Though I missed some generals from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews