Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end
A grand tale of the Roman conquests and the life and times of Artorius and his friends and fellow soldiers. A shame that the tale ends here.
Published 8 months ago by james dixon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the last campaign
Interesting that the invasion of Britain was lead by a centurion! The author suggests that the legion was led by the leading centurion making decisions on behalf of the absent legate during the conquest of Britain seems implausible but made for interesting reading!
Published 5 months ago by Sundodger56


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A grand tale of the Roman conquests and the life and times of Artorius and his friends and fellow soldiers. A shame that the tale ends here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine conclusion, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Rome: The Last Campaign: Book Six of the Artorian Chronicles: 6 (Paperback)
A fine conclusion to this series about the Roman legions, covering the invasion of Britain in the name of Emperor Claudius. The organization and disposal of the army is covered in interesting detail, as is the political situation amongst the tribes. The battle scenes are, as always, exciting and gruesomely bloody. I have enjoyed the series.
Now the nerdy bit: there is an odd mixture of American and British English in a few places, and of metric and Imperial units of distance - Roman soldiers did not speak of metres, which had not been invented. I did wince at the number of sentences ending with prepositions, but this is a sign of my 1950s education, and is not necessarily wrong. Some thankfully rare spelling mistakes, which I can't be bothered to list, except for the constant annoying use of 'capitol' when he means 'capital'. Poor proof-reading is a hazard with these self-published books, but the flow is not much interrupted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED., 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. C. Wharton (northampton U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Rome: The Last Campaign: Book Six of the Artorian Chronicles: 6 (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed after the previous books in the series but I was not put off the authors books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent series, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have followed this series reading each book as soon as it was published, great story line from the start as a young man to the end as a vetern. All the different thems and battles were well detailed with the human elements assisting the story, sorry to see this one end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars roman history fiction, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book the last one of the series so far enjoyed it very much as with the others in the series. fast pacing story with good character's well worth the time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Artourian chronicalls, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only major complaints about this book is that it's the last in the series of "The Artourian chronicals".
It's a shame that there was only one book for the invasion of Brittania.
On the whole a thouroghally enjoyable series.
Recommended read for all ages groups (12+)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the last campaign, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting that the invasion of Britain was lead by a centurion! The author suggests that the legion was led by the leading centurion making decisions on behalf of the absent legate during the conquest of Britain seems implausible but made for interesting reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommend this series to readers of Roman Novel's. Shame that such series do have to end, and to think that I only read the first in series as a time filler, while I waited for more Riches and Scarrow to get their next novel's on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fitting end to a very good series of books, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've now reached the end of Artorius career in the legions .
The opening to the book leaves you in suspense as to the final outcome
The books have been well worth the read as good as any series out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST OF THE SERIES, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I CHOSE THIS RATING BECAUSE ALTHOUGH I WAS INTERESTED IN THE FINAL CHAPTERS OF THIS SERIES OF BOOKS IT FELT THAT YOU WERE LEFT HANGING AGAIN AS IF THERE SHOULD BE ANOTHER BOOK TO FOLLOW. HOWEVER JAMES MACE HAS THE ABILITY TO MAKE YOU FEEL AS IF YOU ARE ACTUALLY INVOLVED IN THIS HISTORICAL ERA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soldier of Rome: The Last Campaign: Book Six of the Artorian Chronicles: 6
8.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews