Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morpheus in the Otherworld
Rollo Tomassi is one of the Big Names and Elders of the Manosphere. But before you read his advice and theories, here's some context.

In the UK, forty per cent of marriages end in divorce over a twenty year period, and thirty per cent of marriages end in divorce within ten years. Almost one in three children are raised in single-parent families, of which 85%...
Published 18 months ago by Paul Woodfine

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A different view
Due to circumstances I won't bother to lay out, I became interested in hearing about what a lot of the concepts the so called 'manosphere' promulgate with the blog of the Rational Male being highlighted as a good first place to look. He has a book? Awesome! Makes my life easier. Anyway The book itself is mainly a collection of his first year of blogging with a bit of...
Published 17 months ago by Cylux


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morpheus in the Otherworld, 29 Oct. 2013
By 
Paul Woodfine (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Kindle Edition)
Rollo Tomassi is one of the Big Names and Elders of the Manosphere. But before you read his advice and theories, here's some context.

In the UK, forty per cent of marriages end in divorce over a twenty year period, and thirty per cent of marriages end in divorce within ten years. Almost one in three children are raised in single-parent families, of which 85% are headed by the woman: nearly 5m boys and girls are growing up without even the presence of a father-figure, and it's been that way since the mid-1990's (UK Labour Force Survey 2012). One out of the next three twenty-somethings you meet won't know what it is to have a man in the home. At the other end of the scale, 10%-20% of married couples under 50 have perfunctory, once-a-month-or-less sex lives (Kinsey 2010) right alongside 60% or so of under-29 single men.

Sounds terrible, a society in the course of destroying itself.

Except that there are 11m boys and girls growing up in functional two-parent families, parents who, to judge by the statistic that over half the married couples under 59 have sex on a weekly basis, are in decent, mutually satisfying relationships. So the glass is more than half-full, not broken on the floor.

More than half the world is Normal and has a reasonably satisfactory life, and the remaining fair chunk is some kind of mess that can range from a mild lack of social skills to the nightmare of a violent bi-polar partner. What doesn't come out in the numbers is that the two worlds rarely intersect: Normals raised in functioning households almost only ever associate with other Normals who were raised in functioning households. The Others - the screw-ups and socially-inept, the addicts, drunks, head-cases, users, abusers, shrews and swine, the Entitled Princesses, petty criminals, Daddy's Girls and Mommy's Boys - can only associate with each other, because the Normals simply don't go there. The emotional pain, the loneliness, the rage, anger and hopelessness, the euphoria, giddiness and lust, the booze, drugs, food, self-harm, obsessions, ONE-itis, fear, emptiness and confusion... everybody in Otherland has felt a lot of it from time to time.

This is the world Rollo is writing about. I live there and I prefer to describe and think about it in moral terms. Rollo prefers a scientific - or at least evo-psycho - approach. He sees all those messed-up behaviours, especially the awful behaviour of women, and the way men are exploited by society to women's benefit, and thinks there is a pattern behind a lot of it. He mines, more deeply than anyone else, two ideas: a behaviour pattern called hypergamy and a social structure called the Feminine Imperative.

Put these ideas together and we have a nightmare vision of a society in which, because all women are hypergamous, none of them are loyal, none can be trusted, all of them will challenge and test at any random time over any random fictitious issue, and any of them might detonate the marriage and family on a whim. In Rollo's relationships men do not have a moment's respite: like Bruce Springsteen's cab driver, we have to prove it to the boss every day, to the wife every night and to the kids at the weekend. Women are not supporters and comforters, but wilful, demanding drains on a man's time and energy. Keeping a marriage going means acting Alpha all the time - like the State's security forces, a husband must always be "on", while his guerilla-warfare wife can take time off to recuperate, build up strength and then make her next strike.

The Feminine Imperative is the idea that society, economies and legal systems are not organised to benefit a small number of rich and powerful people, but rather to finance the needs and random whims of mostly privileged white women who create laws, policy guidance and media programming to propagate the idea that Anything She Wants, She Should Have, And Men Should Pay For It. Just as "hypergamy" is Rollo's take on "all men are bastards", so "The Feminine Imperative" is his twist on "The Patriarchy".

Read The Rational Male with that context and it's okay: read it as if it's an explanation of every woman's behaviour, and the way you would expect your sister's suitors to behave, and you're going to start throwing the book against the wall. Unless you live in Otherland as well. I need to add that Rollo does not believe in Normal as I've described it: he really does seem to think that all wives are hypergamy-bombs only prevented from exploding by sufficient amounts of Alpha husbanding.

<Digression mode on> Attempting to explain crazy is always a mistake. The point about crazy is that it can't be explained: that's what crazy means. The worst behaviour in Otherland is crazy, much of the rest is simply rude, crass and thoughtless, and what's left is just klutzy. None of that needs complicated explanations. The evo-psycho stuff in the book is optional, and I prefer to treat it that way.

Life in Otherland has two basic shapes: I can join in with the chaos and abuse to whatever degree I can tolerate, or I can withdraw as much as possible and live a self-disciplined life. That is where MGTOW comes from: MGTOW's are avoiding the crazies and the users, and since they live in Otherland, that's a lot of the women. Rollo doesn't recommend MGTOW, but he does have a lot of other advice: some of it may strike you as paranoid, but remember he's advising men who don't have the radar to avoid relationships with full-blown DSM-V personality disordered women. <\Digression mode off>

The Red Pill / Blue Pill thing? In the movie, the Red Pill is what forces the Matrix to reject you. Understanding that you live in Otherland, where the women are potentially toxic and an entire chunk of the legal system and popular culture is devoted to serving their needs and making you think they are actually "normal"... that's a Red enough Pill. But what's really going to bake your noodle later on is, asking why an entire chunk of the legal system is dedicated to supporting dysfunctional people, and why so much popular culture seems to be devoted to the portrayal of the dysfunctional lives of Otherland, and especially to making men look stupid. (Here's a clue: follow the money.)

Should you read the book and the blog? Not if you are female. Unless you have worked with manipulative and dysfunctional women as a social worker or psychiatrist, nothing in your life can prepare you for the world Rollo describes, and you will never recover from the shock. If you are a regular middle-aged bloke who has marital intimacy on a weekly basis, the chances are you will wonder what kind of world and people need to read and think this stuff. If you are one of the men whose wives have stopped having sex with them, if you can't get over The One, if you don't understand why some girls say you're nice and then sleep with the Bad Boy, if you wonder where the positive male role models are in popular culture, if "you've felt...your entire life, that there's something wrong with the world. You don't know what it is, but it's there, like a splinter in your mind, driving you mad" then Rollo is your Morpheus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound, enlightening, life changing, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Paperback)
I firmly believe that there should be a campaign for this to be compulsory reading for all school children, judges, political people etc.....Only then will we truly live in an equal society consciously aware of both sexes differences and not this feminine tragedy of a society where men sublimely exist in pain and ache for their god given right to be masculine a put society right were common sense and intelligence prevail....who knows maybe things could work properly again or maybe even better, another decade more of this frightens me, it's all so pathetic. Until then if your a man cling to it like it was your personal bible before they get it burned :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All men need to read this book..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Kindle Edition)
Just read this book and was completely blown away by it - it made absolute 100% sense. I suspect that any negative reviews this book gets will be from people (especially men) who are still 'plugged in'. Up until recently I would have considered myself feminist in outlook, but reality has a way of intruding upon ideals

As a man 20-years married, this book shed a lot of light on the dynamics of my own marriage and has given me ideas to cope with the 'hypergamy' displayed by my wife. As Rollo points out , hypergamy is not a conscious thing. but men definitely need to be aware of it. I had never heard of Hypergamy before, and unfortunately it didn't seem to be defined anywhere, so I had to look it up in a dictionary.

Fortunately I had had read 'The Game' so was able to understand the references to that. The big question for me is: I have a 16-year old son who has just got his first girlfriend - do I try to get him to take the red pill?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A different view, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Paperback)
Due to circumstances I won't bother to lay out, I became interested in hearing about what a lot of the concepts the so called 'manosphere' promulgate with the blog of the Rational Male being highlighted as a good first place to look. He has a book? Awesome! Makes my life easier. Anyway The book itself is mainly a collection of his first year of blogging with a bit of extra commentary here and there, unfortunately this proves to be the book's main weak point - ostensibly this book is aimed at the uninitiated (which I was) but frequently it casually throws in potentially alien concepts, like Game, discussed in a fashion that the reader knows full well what he's referring to for a significant length of the book, before he finally gets around to explaining just what the hell said concept actually is. There's also a bit of egregious editing early on in the book where a whole paragraph is repeated in the transition between chapters, which raises questions as to how qualified his proof reader was. I feel he might have been better served crafting a narrative from his available material than doing a copy-paste from his blog output.

And better served he would be because if you're able to persevere with the book it quickly becomes fascinating, it truly is a different way of looking at the world which, no doubt to the chagrin of others, does appear to be quite valid. There's even the danger that Rollo's observations and attendant theories make sense of the 'Feminist Sex Wars' to the point that their happening was an easily predicted foregone conclusion, because Hypergamy. A lot of the advice he gives is pretty decent too, if in some cases rather mundane with a mix of shocking naivety on the part of men; for example his advice on always using condoms contains the idea that it's overwhelmingly women that convince men to not wear condoms because they want to 'feel them', while my own advocacy of condoms has instead hit the wall of men refusing to bother because they want to 'feel them' and instead pushing their girlfriends to take the pill. All in all however if you're looking for something to challenge your world view and change how you look at the world I recommend getting this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital Reading Material, 22 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Rational Male (Paperback)
Great book, should be required reading for every man aged 14 and over. Once you read this book you cannot unlearn the information contained within, and you'll begin to observe things like Social Conventions and Hypergamy in your day-to-day business. Wish this had been released earlier in my life.

Tomassi writes in a sophisticated, but easy to follow style, and the specific chapters make sure everything is relatively well-ordered. Perhaps could have done with a better proof-read, but this is not a serious issue.

4.5/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I do now however feel terribly depressed no matter how many women I sleep with, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Kindle Edition)
I can't overstate the impact this has had on my clarity on the true nature of the male/female dichotomy. I do now however feel terribly depressed no matter how many women I sleep with. Only buy this book if you can handle the truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars red pill for you, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Kindle Edition)
should be read by anyone involved with a women.
should be read by anyone thinking of getting involved with a women,
should be read by anyone that just broke up with a women
...
take the red pill and wake up from fem-centric societal conditioning
and start seeing through all the nonsense that surrounds male to female dynamics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requisite reading material for any man, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Paperback)
This book is unparalleled in the insights it has given me about male-female attraction dynamics, the true nature of women, and the lies feminist socialisation has conditioned in you. I have been an avid reader of 'game' material for the past 2 years, yet the Author STILL floored me with his awareness and intuition of the world we live in today and its implications for men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Saving Book. Swallow the red pill with caution., 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Paperback)
Life saving Book.

Found this book at a tough period in my life.

I have had horrifying glimpses and experiences of the true nature of women, having been told my whole life that they were a mystery and the fairer sex/better than men.

After dating many girls in the western world and being chewed up and spat out in some cases, i realised how my upbringing of being a super nice guy to women and treating them amazingly was killing me (a common male experience.) Even after learning lessons before, this conditioning still affected me.

This book is like opening your eyes, it is lifting the cloudy glasses from your hazy eyes, and seeing the stark reality and true ways of relationship and the way women work.

All I wish was that I had found it earlier.

Swallow the red pill with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars now I'm happier than ever having my eyes opened, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rational Male (Paperback)
Life changing! Truly awe inspiring words of wisdom from the author I had difficulty putting this book down. It opened my eyes to how I'd been conditioned all these years, now I'm happier than ever having my eyes opened. I'm more comfortable in my own skin & more confident as a result. I was lost in my own brain, struggling to understand myself, hoping that something would just change, that I'd just change some how into someone better, not knowing how to do this I got depressed & lived in a constant state of ambiguity of emotions, then I found the light, now I'm happy, calm, relaxed & have better relationships with both men & women.

My greatest thanks are owed to the author, a thanks so deep I can't express it with words alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rational Male
The Rational Male by Rollo Tomassi (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2013)
£6.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews