Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish
I am not a beginner to CSS. I have been struggling my way through for quite a while. But my knowledge lacked structure and cohesion. This book has changed all that. Dr Andy is always a joy to read, well written and well thought out.
Published 16 months ago by Pearsonbrown

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor presentation
However good, bad or indifferent this book may be, be warned - on an admittedly old Kindle CSS code is barely readable and many screenshots are totally unreadable. Expanding text size does not affect code or screenshots, only the author's written text. The only thing discouraging me from asking Amazon for a refund is the fact that display is better, although not brilliant...
Published 17 months ago by P Brooks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a beginner to CSS. I have been struggling my way through for quite a while. But my knowledge lacked structure and cohesion. This book has changed all that. Dr Andy is always a joy to read, well written and well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginner's guide to CSS!, 4 Dec 2012
By 
John Coutts (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to run a small web design company in the early days of the World Wide Web, and before I gave that up to write full time, I dabbled in CSS, which was then an emerging technology. Since then I have tried to keep up to speed with the development of HTML and CSS.

This book is an excellent beginner's guide to the bewildering world of Cascading Style Sheets, which is actually not all that bewildering once you start to look into to it.

I confess I am still tempted to create a table to contain elements on a web page, but Andy's book has reminded me how easy it is to achieve the same effect - or better - with CSS.

This is a book I will keep referring to for as long as I create websites. Even with the ease that WordPress provides, it never hurts to know how to get behind the scenes, so to speak, and tweak things for yourself. It's a skill that will always come in handy.

Get this book if you want more control over your own websites!

John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The very best book to get started on CSS. You will learn and be able to do things straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after reading Andy's SEO one. I have been creating websites for some years but never learnt CSS. I don't like using tools such as Dreamweaver but needed to take my knowledge to the next level. This book has really helped and is full of useful examples. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clear concise helpful, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs (Evesham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book very clear and helpful. It puts into understandable words step by step instructions. It does exactly what it says on the "tin"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Beginners Steps At A Cheap Price, 24 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is extremely good for the cheap price. It does not tell you every little detail about CSS, yet, for a beginner it is incredible piece to start off with. Just follow the steps as the author goes through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor presentation, 19 Mar 2013
By 
P Brooks (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
However good, bad or indifferent this book may be, be warned - on an admittedly old Kindle CSS code is barely readable and many screenshots are totally unreadable. Expanding text size does not affect code or screenshots, only the author's written text. The only thing discouraging me from asking Amazon for a refund is the fact that display is better, although not brilliant on my Google Nexus 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CSS for Beginners: Learn to Tweak Your Website Design
CSS for Beginners: Learn to Tweak Your Website Design by Dr. Andy Williams (Paperback - 4 Sep 2013)
6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews