Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louise Husted
Raine Millers Cherry Girl had me captivated from start to finish. Emotional and so heartwarming. Neil so loves Elaina with all his heart and i fell in love with them both. Neil wanted his Cherry Girl and boy he got her hook line and sinker. Raine you have excelled yourself yet again and you left my heart warm and fuzzy. I thank you Raine Miller xxx
Published 15 months ago by Louise Husted

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 "Let me explain" stars
I enjoyed the first part of the book, but then I found it quite dragging. It didn't help that I didn't particularly identify (or like) the main characters. I found her to be a little childish and him a little unrealistic.
Plus if I'm honest I couldn't quite get over the fact that if she had given him 5 minutes they could have saved themselves from spending all that...
Published 11 months ago by ElizaReadAlot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louise Husted, 1 Dec. 2013
Raine Millers Cherry Girl had me captivated from start to finish. Emotional and so heartwarming. Neil so loves Elaina with all his heart and i fell in love with them both. Neil wanted his Cherry Girl and boy he got her hook line and sinker. Raine you have excelled yourself yet again and you left my heart warm and fuzzy. I thank you Raine Miller xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 18 Sept. 2014
What can I say about Cherry Girl other then it is quite possibly one of the most beautiful love stories I've read in a long time. Raine Miller nails it again. This book is standalone but if you've read The Blackstone Affair series you will be familiar with the characters. The story centers around Neil and Elaina, they have known each other since they were children. Elaina immediately falls in love with Neil, but how does a 10 year old profess her undying love to a 17 year old? Years pass and two remain close, it isn't until Neil is sent off to war that you start to see a shift in feelings. Fast forward 4 years later and Neil and Elaina are finally able to act of the feelings they have been harboring for one and other. But just as fast as they come together, they are torn apart. I don't want to write anymore because I don't want to give the whole story away. But I can honestly say this is Hand's Down Raine Miller's best work to date. Please check this book out. You will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Love Story that Transcends Time, 2 Mar. 2014
Cherry Girl is another beautiful story from Raine Miller. This lady is a rock star in my opinion in that I have loved every book she's written. This is a standalone book that introduces us to Neil McManus and Elaina Morrison, two characters that we are introduced to in Raine's Blackstone series. If you've read the Blackstone series, we briefly meet Neil there as Ethan's right hand man working at Blackstone Security. In Cherry Girl, we get the full Neil, in all his beautiful glory.

Neil and Elaina first meet when a seventeen year old Neil comes to ten year old Elaina's house as a guest of her brother Ian. Elaina's family adopts Neil as a member of their family since Neil has no real home to speak of. Elaina falls in love with Neil when he winks at her across the table and so starts the love story. Neil joins the military after school and becomes SF special forces. When he is home on leave he visits with her family but primarily spends time with his girlfriend Cora who Elaina hates with a passion. All the while Neil stays in contact with Elaina but treats her like a sister. Tragedy strikes Elaina's family and her whole life changes.

When Elaina is 18 Neil comes home on leave and the dynamic between him and Elaina shifts. Their feelings for each other are finally expressed and their love story finally starts. But outside forces seek to tear them apart and Neil and Elaina are pulled apart for 5 long years. Fate decides to step in and bring these two back together and their road back to each other is just beautiful.

"I opened my eyes and traced over every part of his features, as beautiful now as he'd always been when he was a boy of seventeen and winked at me over the dinner table." "On the night Ian brought you to us, I fell in love with you and knew I'd just met the boy I would marry someday. For me, it has only ever been....you." Elaina, speaking to Neil.

This book spans a period of 15 years and as usual, Raine pulls you directly into the story and you feel you are right there with Neil and Elaina, feeling every emotion they feel. I laughed with these two, I cried, ALOT! with them. I cursed at the circumstances that kept them apart and I screamed at my tablet when I wanted to shake one or the other of them for being stubborn or blind and for not communicating with each other. But pain and hurt makes people do things that make it worse before it gets better.

The love that Neil and Elaina have for each other is truly a beautiful thing. I wanted to crawl in the book and be Elaina and experience Neil's love and sexual expertise. Raine doesn't disappoint with the hot steamy sex. And I will just say that I will never look at a picture window the same way again!!

One thing I love about all of Raine's books is the web she weaves with references from her other books. In Cherry Girl we get some references to Halborough Hall, which is from her book The Undoing of a Libertine and we also learn more about in Eyes Wide Open. We get a little bit of Ethan Blackstone, who is the main character in her Blackstone series and quite a hottie in his own right.

If you've read any of Raine's other books then you know you will love this book also. It is beautiful and heartbreaking, but also heartwarming as well. It has everything I look for in a good love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raine is an amazing author! I loved the Blackstone books, but Neil and Elaina's story is just fantastic! This is a great read of love, separation and pleasure. Definitely a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating love story, 15 Dec. 2013
By 
Nicola_1202 (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I loved this. It's beautiful, emotional, touching, witty and captivating and I fell in love with both Neil and Elaina. Whilst both featured prominently in the Blackstone series, this can be read as a standalone.

Their love-story over the years stole my heart more than Ethan and Brynne's (although in fairness you can't compare the two). If you are a true romantic you will absolutely love the emotion that 'Cherry Girl' invokes. I felt their joy, pain, happiness and sorrows and with no exasperating cliffhangers and nothing left unanswered, it left me feeling complete.

Raine Miller has nailed it with this one for me. From the perfect British-isms to the love scenes and everything in between, it's quite simply a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Blackstone spinoff, 3 Dec. 2014
This is a sweet, second chance love story between two childhood friends, Neil and Elaina, who get together, split up then find one another again. The story begins when Elaina is 10 and Neil 14 and follows their story over fifteen years as he joins the army, fights in Afghanistan and returns to work with Ethan at Blackstone security while she goes a little wild then works
abroad as a aupair before returning to work at Blackstone.

I loved them as a couple and the smut was sizzling hot, but there wasn't very much story in this outside of them and I kind of missed that outside tension. I loved the Neil Elaina described at the start, the protective, slightly dark and mysterious character, but once the first person narrative came from him, much of that mystery was stripped away and at some points he seemed a bit wet. I wanted to see more of the hard mystery man and less of the lovestruck sap.

This story is set in the UK and I have to say had a Dick Van Dyke feel to it at times with the quaint not quite right British colloquialisms (I spat my tea when someone said 'stone the crows') and phrases like 'downtown London' (it's always 'City Centre' over here) but it made me smile.

That said, it flowed well and was a sweet and hot story that I enjoyed for a couple of hours, so no complaints really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 July 2014
I actually read this book as part of the Spice Box set and it captivated me so much had to leave a separate review i am so grateful for these sets that introduced Raine to me as a new author. I thought it brilliant so sweet but full of passion it was so heartwarming and will certainly seek out more books in this series. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... wasn't his story but all in all a very good book., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did wish for more of Ethan but alas it wasn't his story but all in all a very good book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found all Raine Miller books very good reading, loved how you can associate all her past and present characters in all the books Raine writes, will certainly look forward to more of her writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the story of Ethan Blackstone's best friend Neil who he served with in the Special Forces and who he now works with. Neil met Elania as a young child through her brother Ian and both held a love so deep for each other from the beginning that family knew they would eventually be together. Neil was home from war and Elania had just broken up with her boyfriend when they first come together but a change or circumstances and lies told separates them again and not until many years later are they thrown back together with a little help from family and the truths are learnt. Its an amazing story of love and determination and an excellent read plus we get to see more of Ethan Blackstone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cherry Girl: Neil & Elaina #1 (Blackstone Affair)
Cherry Girl: Neil & Elaina #1 (Blackstone Affair) by Raine Miller (Paperback - 25 Dec. 2013)
£8.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews