Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus the Son of Man (linked table of contents, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good price for a nice book.
easily downloaded.
good if you like poetry.
I'm a fan of the authour.
Try some of his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly easy reading, very easy to get into, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Jesus the Son of Man (Paperback)
This was bought as a gift for my mum. I had a quick skim through it too, and we both agreed it's very easy reading, simply and clearly written. I will definitely be borrowing it or getting my own copy, as it is very relevant and helpful for someone looking to gain more understanding of Jesus and the people around him than can be obtained from the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus the Son of Man (Paperback)
Got this for my husband who is a big fan of Kahlil Gibran. He says he thoroughly enjoyed it which was no great surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :love ths book!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus the Son of Man (Paperback)
A beautifully written perspective of Jesus from various angles. An open mind is needed to review the possibilities of these opinions even though it is a fiction I found it beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Different View of Bible Readings, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book one has to read slowly a small section at a time. Kahlil Gibran in his subtle and exciting way puts a twist on every story. We are told the story of Ciaphas the High Priest and his justification for executing Jesus. The stories bring to life the Biblical characters associated with Jesus, and show their relationship to Him and the events of that time. I found this very useful in helping my understanding of the historical background of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Melted heart, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On-site. Thought buster.Love with peace of heart.
I LOVE this book. If I write too much as requested then it is dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 360 degrees of Jesus, 27 Nov 2010
[Note: this is a review on the content vs the actual Kindle version] Gibran's reputation as a poet and profound thinker is confirmed in this book.

He employs history, Biblical text and his imagination to conjure 'interviews' with folks who may have been intimate with Jesus or affected by His presence from a distance.

His insight is exceptionally believable and he takes you on a journey that is both mystical and practical with the varying points of view. The positives are for believers primarily, and one will be filled with a sense of awe and intimacy toward Jesus. Nevertheless the voice of skeptics is heard, though in the minority, but it is given due attention.

The downside may be for those who are not so poetically inclined. Khalil's voice through those who admire Jesus is extremely metaphoric and it may be lost on those who need a more 'down to earth' description of feelings, emotions and attitudes. I felt at times that the discourses were perhaps too symbolic, though one understood the implication of the experience of encountering Jesus as beyond words.

In the end one is left understanding Jesus' impact more but hungering to know Him in a way that is more understandable than the sometimes amorphous descriptions by Gibran's characters. The interviews are fairly short and this makes it a manageable read for the most 'unbookish' of us.

All the same a great read and a classic anyone should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus the Son of Man, 20 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gibran's Jesus the Son of Man is an aid to prayer and reflection. I'm still reflecting on the Mary Magdalen section. Then maybe I'll move onto others of the many characters around Jesus. I can't recommend this book highly enough for anyone of any faith or none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesus the Son of Man
Jesus the Son of Man by Kahlil Gibran (Paperback - 21 Aug 2013)
5.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews