Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic introduction to ARM Assembler, 4 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Moody (Pinner, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've only given it 4 stars because, to my mind, there are rather too many errors. I know there's an 'Errata' section on the author's website, but that only helps once you've realised there's an error: the uninitiated are likely to be confused - and given that the author devotes a lot of space to explaining the basics of assembler programming, it's plain the uninitiated are the intended audience. As one who was initiated a long time ago (I first learned an assembly language in 1966), I almost inevitably found most of these explanations tedious, but I accept they're going to be very useful to a lot of people.
If you want to learn about ARM assembler, this book is the obvious choice: in fact, apart from the Baking Pi course from the Cambridge University - which requires a spare computer, and probably stronger nerves - it's just about the only choice.
Recommended, but beware of the errors - and if you've done any assembler programming before, be prepared to skip large chunks of the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raspberry Pi Assembly Language RASPBIAN Beginners: Hands on Guide, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Assembly Language RASPBIAN Beginners: Hands On Guide (Paperback)
Excellent little book. Uses the linux gcc toolchain rather than the riscos basic assembler, so its easy to try the examples directly under raspbian. I did a lot of X86 assembler coding at one time ( ugh! ) and had forgotten just how brilliant the ARM instruction set is. Very easy to memorise and get coding. Shows how to interface assembler to C as well. Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone looking to learn ARM assembly language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i was looking for, 8 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Assembly Language RASPBIAN Beginners: Hands On Guide (Paperback)
This was just the book I was looking for. Not only does it teach you how about programming the ARM chip it also delves into some of the specifics of the Raspberry Pi itself, and those topics you find unanswered in the forums. This book is worth it for that fact alone providing chapters on things like Thumb Code, Floating Point and programming the GPIO. This is all the advanced stuff in the final chapters of the book. The journey there in 260 pages is very enjoyable and although I am not a novice to programming in assembler the introductory chapters on using the GCC Assembler and Compiler where very instructive and what had looked at the onset to be a difficult tasks was in fact described in very easy terms. The programs as printed all worked with no issues and the text contained useful information on how to identify and locate issues when programs don't work as expected. Very useful.

Uniquely I think, the book also shows how you can take existing C programs written for the GCC compiler (and there are plenty around) and covert them into assembly language programs for the Raspberry Pi. I know nothing about C but that didn't stop me from `having a go' and this reverse engineering process was very interesting and I have been learning a lot from it. The book also covers how to use Raspbian Syscalls and the libc functions - with plenty of examples to play with.

I have a Gertboard attached to my Raspberry Pi, so the details about programming the GPIO port were very useful. I now understand how to use the GPIO registers and have no issues turning leds lights on and off via machine code.

In summary this is an excellent book which is a must-buy for anyone who wants to learn how to program their Raspberry Pi at the most fundamental level. Well priced and well written, and the print version I have is well-laid out and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book got me started with ARM assembler just as it claimed it would, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Assembly Language RASPBIAN Beginners: Hands On Guide (Paperback)
The book got me started with ARM assembler just as it claimed it would. There are quite a few minor errors in the text. Whilst a beginner with ARM, I am experienced with other assembly programming. GDB was not present in the version of Raspbian ('squeeze') I got with my RPi. So far I have been unable to download the sample programs and updates from the companion website - clicking the button just hangs. Nevertheless a useful purchase in spite of the above comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars co processor info, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Assembly Language RASPBIAN Beginners: Hands On Guide (Paperback)
especially liked the info on the floating point co processor.
I prefer RiscOS but will be giving Raspbian a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Assembly Language RASPBIAN Beginners: Hands On Guide (Paperback)
Can't wait to get my head around this stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raspberry Pi Assembly Language RASPBIAN Beginners: Hands On Guide
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews