Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
84
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2013
Having greatly enjoyed John's previous book, "Inside (one man's experience of prison)", I was intruiged to see how he would approach the entirely different subject of his life as a professional golfer. This book does not disappoint, John's golf career takes place on the stage of the top professional golf tours, but it is a world away from the pampered existence of the likes of Tiger Woods etc. John tells his story in a way that makes you feel you are walking the fairways, and sitting in the locker room alongside him, as he journies throught the highs and lows of his career. Even if you are not a huge golf fan, there is plenty to enjoy in this book - it is a tale of working hard, and trying many different methods along the way, in order to achieve your goal in life. John has a brilliant way of throwing in humourous "one liners", which really do make you laugh out loud, although he soon brings you down to earth, with the realities of the pressure involved in performing within a very public arena - particularly when things are going badly. I highly recommend this book, and just hope that John has kept back some tales of his life on tour, so that we can look forward to a follow up to this excellent read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Reading a Professional golfer's book, the game seems so easy and the trophies are clocked up with monotonous regularity that to those who have played the game, even at the most-modest level, are left with an awe at their ability and a total inadequacy of their own talents. But it is not always so! John Hoskison's well-written tale shows that even one so talented and regardless of the titles and trophies that John won, self-doubt can strike. John has written of his success but the reader also sees failure, a failure that is so true in its description to the amateur. That John overcame the problem (Am I spoiling the story?) is worth a read. Loved it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
This book really went down well with my husband he was even trying to share some tales from it with me! he has also lent it to his golf partner so clearly it got the seal of approval--the twist at the end really came as a shock to him!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
As a struggling professional golfer myself I found I could relate to so many of the experiences Hoskison talks about in this book. The final chapter hits you like a bombshell. His has been an extremely eventful life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
A great insight into life as a pro golfer. Showing that even at they're level of skill they can still be affected by all the same troubles us amateurs have. John's other books including " a golf swing you can trust" is in my opinion a very good book which breaks down the golf swing in easy to understand stages which helped me a lot and is definitely worth a read if your struggling with your golf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
I didn't know the full Hoskison story before I read this book & it certainly provides the full circle of life & golf. I enjoyed it a lot, the author's honesty & openness essential to the read & the message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This was an engaging book and any golfer would identify with John and his travails. It chronicles a particular period in golfing history when the European Tour was emerging as a real alternative to the US with the breakthrough of Seve, Faldo, Lyle et al.

Of interest to any golfing nut and those who recall the "golden age" with affection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I am a keen golfer but I hadn't heard of John Hoskison prior to reading this book. It was an interesting read to some degree and I enjoyed going back the days when he was trying to mix it with the young Seve, Woosie and Faldo. However, Hoskison also seems over keen to inform us of his sex life and the spelling throughout the book is atrocious.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
This is a well written insight into the life of those who just bubble under the too flight of original golfers. If you don't know John Hoskinson's story then do read it - there is a shocking end to the book which makes you want to read more about John (which I have!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
A very well written book that is a great insight to the mental side of golf. Very interesting insight into what is required of a pro Golfer to be a success.

I laughed out load on numerous occasions .

Look out for the twist at the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)