Customer Reviews


323 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical twists & turns set around a 16th century mystery.
An engaging historical mystery/adventure beginning in the 16th century and reaching all the way through to the present day. Plenty of movement as Helen Bryan spins out her plot to encompass events in both Spain and South America as five young girls attempt to escape a dreadful fate at the hands of the Spanish Inquisition. Their rescuers are a group of Spanish nuns who do...
Published 22 months ago by JK

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much left unanswered.
This was somewhat confusing, jumps to conclusions and leaves a lot unexplained.

Why has Salome got any special powers? Unlike her half brother she is the child of 2 normal, ordinary humans.

At the start of the book it explains that you need the medal to translate the chronicle, yet when Menina translates it she uses only a Latin phrasebook and her...
Published 10 months ago by Ali


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much left unanswered., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
This was somewhat confusing, jumps to conclusions and leaves a lot unexplained.

Why has Salome got any special powers? Unlike her half brother she is the child of 2 normal, ordinary humans.

At the start of the book it explains that you need the medal to translate the chronicle, yet when Menina translates it she uses only a Latin phrasebook and her own knowledge of Spanish.

What has the painter got to do with anything?

Antiques change hands all the time, so why does Menina assume that 16th century Salome is her ancestor? We don't know what happened to the medal between the 16th and 21st centuries.

Why did the 2 people following her just stop?

Her ex pursued her to Spain, then stopped. Why? Did the author forget about him?

If wanting to hide the chronicle and it's contents, why commission paintings showing the stories in the chronicle?

This book didn't make much sense.
This is badly thought out and reads like it was written in a bit of a hurry to meet deadlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical twists & turns set around a 16th century mystery., 17 May 2013
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
An engaging historical mystery/adventure beginning in the 16th century and reaching all the way through to the present day. Plenty of movement as Helen Bryan spins out her plot to encompass events in both Spain and South America as five young girls attempt to escape a dreadful fate at the hands of the Spanish Inquisition. Their rescuers are a group of Spanish nuns who do everything in their power to deliver the girls safely to a new life in the New World. Helen Bryan sets the scene well and her depiction of life in a 16th century convent was particularly good. Throughout the novel the girls are given plenty of time to develop and we learn a great deal about them. They're solidly written and believable characters and I had no problem bonding with them. By far the better parts of the novel are the historical elements. Once the plot reaches modern times and the solving of 'the mystery' I felt let down. There are too many long reaches, coincidences, and the character of Menina isn't robust enough to carry events forward. For an intelligent woman she really isn't too bright. Helen Bryan provides Menina with such massive clues as to her link with the nuns even I'd worked it out before she did. The big 'reveal' when all the questions are finally answered and the mystery solved is quite interesting but falls a little flat as it's not difficult to work out in advance. To summarise I'd say; The Sisterhood is an uplifting, engaging novel with much to say about the power of women and their ability to survive and endure. Well worth a read if you're a fan of historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 4 May 2013
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
This book can best be described as an epic historical mystery spanning from the 16th century to the present day. As the product description says, it tells the story of five girls who are taken in by the nuns in Spain and hidden from the Spanish Inquisition. They are then sent to the New World, entrusted with the Order's most treasured possessions to ensure their safety.

I particularly enjoyed the parts of the story in Spain and South America. I was totally lost in the tale, which is rich in detail about the way of life in the convents. In Spain we see them carrying on with their work with the ever present fear of the Inquisition. In South America we see them landing in a strange country, settling down amongst the native Incas and forging a place for themselves and their faith alongside the Inca priests.

I also enjoyed the individual stories of the girls - their backgrounds and how they came to arrive at the convent and what happened to them. Not all of them took Orders and some indeed went on to marry and have families of their own. There are a number of these background stories about the girls, which are all really good, fascinating reads but it could get a bit confusing at times trying to remember what had happened to each girl.

I was not quite so taken with the part of the story set in the present day and Menina. I just didn't quite warm to her, mainly because she just seemed to be "too good to be true". She was supposedly extremely intelligent, but even though the connections between her and the nuns in the story were staring her in the face, she seemed to take an age to start putting two and two together. The plot in this section of the story also seemed to rely a bit too much on "strange coincidences" and the last couple of chapters which rounded off the story and drew all the plot threads together just felt a bit too rushed. When the Order's big secret is finally revealed it makes interesting reading, if a little far fetched. That having been said, it is still a book that is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
COMPELLING READING.A JOURNEY THROUGH THE CENTURIES,MYSTERIOUS & ROMANTIC.NOT A SUBJECT MATTER I WOULD NORMALLY READ.WOULD WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual book, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
This book wsas interesting because it was 'something different'. The journey through the ages and the sometimes unexpected links holds the attention and it has a satisfactory ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb holiday reading, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down enjoyed the social history content and the intricate plot and sub plot throughout the storyline. my kind of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant historical book, 22 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Jennifer M. Marsh "chip addict" (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
I could not put it down, it was a brilliant story and very enjoyable to read. I want to read more by this authur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started so well, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
I was really really enjoying everything about this book - the characters, the storyline, the setting - up until about two thirds in, at which point it became too far fetched and confusing for it to be really enjoyable. It felt as if some parts of the book were really drawn out, while other parts, such as the ending, were hastily knocked together. There were also several aspects of the story which were not resolved, such as what happened to Menina's birth parents, who were the dodgy people looking for her and why did they suddenly just stop, where was the medal in the 400+ year gap between the chronicle and present day, what happened to Theo? But all in all it was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Enid Blyton meets Dan Brown and writes a fairytale., 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
I have to comment, just to balance the surprisingly positive reviews! This book is poorly conceived, written and edited, and I am not normally one to post overly critical reviews. Such a well worn, clichéd storyline, reading like Barbara Cartland on a bad day. Sorry, but about as bad as I've read in many a year, and you have been warned. Life is too short to read books like this when there are so many great books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sisterhood, 29 May 2013
By 
M. Lishman "literature lover" (north east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood (Kindle Edition)
very compelling book combining the past with the present. very hard to put down. Strongly recommended whether on holiday or home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sisterhood
The Sisterhood by Helen Bryan (MP3 CD - 15 April 2014)
£6.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews