Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read for Any Old School Football Casual
Very good read for any old school Football casual and probably a real eye opener for the modern Football fan. Well written and about much much more than just the Football or the violence. On a personal level it gave rise to many old memories, some good, some bad! Having read numerous books on a similar subject mostly some Years back now I have to say this is amongst the...
Published 18 days ago by S J Marriott

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average hoolie book
pretty average book, like his honesty , much too much crap about clothes,don't think i would buy again from this author
Published 10 months ago by garyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average hoolie book, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
pretty average book, like his honesty , much too much crap about clothes,don't think i would buy again from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read for Any Old School Football Casual, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
Very good read for any old school Football casual and probably a real eye opener for the modern Football fan. Well written and about much much more than just the Football or the violence. On a personal level it gave rise to many old memories, some good, some bad! Having read numerous books on a similar subject mostly some Years back now I have to say this is amongst the very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant. Well written takes me back to my youth in Nottingham. Although I'm Forest it was just like that back then.

uredz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultra violence, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
Great book a trip down memory lane the casuals the clothes I even remember the man city match in 85 I read this book in 3 days and can't wait to read the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable read, a winner!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
Skilfully written in true Mark Barry style; fresh, honest, REAL writing. From the first to the last page I was captured by the narrator's account of football from the good old days. I could hear the chants, smell the violence and taste their fear. Truly memorable ending. You don't have to be male or a football fanatic to enjoy this incredible novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking good read for an East Midlands football supporter, 10 Aug 2013
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this book a lot , with myself being from Nottingham and following the other football team from the city most public houses and areas were all places in which I have visited. An excellent read from start to finish a true football story before the game was taken over by money and TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will strike a chord with fans of a certain age!, 30 July 2012
This review is from: Ultra Violence: 1 (Paperback)
I'll be honest, don't read that many books but right from the first page found it difficult to put down. Is a bit quirky with plenty of black humour and local referencing is bang on. Obviously a very talented writer. Worth a punt imo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "A real life all inside a book", 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
"Just finished the book, took me about 3 days to read it, did not want to put it down after starting it. A really fascinating read about a group of men who follow their football team. An insight into the ups and downs of being a football hooligan and it also tells the true story that not all football hooligans are stupid and from the gutters. An intriguing read which you will feel part of the more you read. A very strong recommend from me and I look forward already to the new book coming out next year"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
Author Mark Barry delivers quality again!

I am an American reading about football known to us as soccer; but there is so much more to this story. The relationship aspect which is described from the main character to his wife, his son, his boss, and his peers are well developed and easy to visualize.

In true form Author Mark Barry produced a novel that told a unique story with many hard truths in it. I could visualize the sights, smell the smells, cringed at the bullying that occurred, the urine references and the blood bath violence that occurred but this is what the story was about.

Adding in the failing marriage, the circumstance at the job, the pub, the fear, the attitudes - all of it was so real, so tangible.

When the description of the fighting occurs and even the scant hint of it I remember the snippets on the television that shows the crowds in an uproar and think this just isn't a book - it is based off of real events that have occurred. Passion for a sport, not unheard of here in America either.

I found the use of language at times to be a bit difficult to understand because of the cliche's and insults that those across the pond use in contrast to what we over here use but it is not offsetting to the story at all.

This book, as with his others, draws you in and takes you into events you have never experienced before. Get it. Read it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultra Violence (Kindle Edition)
Ace, didn't stop smiling from start to finish, great book with references to a bigone era in Nottingham with some great references to the old football pubs which are sadly no more. Great football related references as well, not on a scale to compete with the usual football books from down south, but believable and strangely funny in parts. Great read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultra Violence: (Second Edition)
Ultra Violence: (Second Edition) by Mark Barry (Paperback - 19 Aug 2013)
6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews