Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling follow up to Dark Space
Dark Space 2, The Invisible War continues the excellent space opera series, following on directly from the end of book 1.

As well as continuing the story and building the characters this also greatly fills in the back story whilst introducing a new dimension to the story, flitting backwards and forwards in time from the events that led to humanity being exiled...
Published 13 months ago by K. Trebell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Light Space Opera
OK light reading for the daily commute. Not hard SF. Plot a bit thin at times. Tech used is more 1940 than 35th (or whatever) century. I am sure naming one of the planets after a laxative was not intentional, but could have done with a bit of an edit!
Published 12 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling follow up to Dark Space, 2 Aug 2013
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Dark Space 2, The Invisible War continues the excellent space opera series, following on directly from the end of book 1.

As well as continuing the story and building the characters this also greatly fills in the back story whilst introducing a new dimension to the story, flitting backwards and forwards in time from the events that led to humanity being exiled to dark space and the present time.

The consequences of the events and reveals of book one are expanded upon as humanity continue to war amongst themselves even when faced with a greater threat. We learn more about the the nature of that threat and it's not entirely as expected, with a new faction introduced to the fray.

The space battles of the first book still take centre stage throughout the book and are again great fun to read.

Overall this is another excellent book. Scott has a very fluid and gripping writing style and keeps the story racing along even when this is clearly a middle act and building toward a hopefully thrilling climax. I can't wait to see how it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The plot and counterplot continues to keep one spellbound., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just hope that the third book is published in October. It is a story that you cannot put down and it leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Light Space Opera, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK light reading for the daily commute. Not hard SF. Plot a bit thin at times. Tech used is more 1940 than 35th (or whatever) century. I am sure naming one of the planets after a laxative was not intentional, but could have done with a bit of an edit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and frustrating, 17 Aug 2013
I want to know what happens as I like the world and plot. But I don't want to have to read the painful stomping of feelings and analysis of the same action from two angles all the time. Frustrating language and grammar. Hopefully he will improve with the next one and make them a bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just love a space opera, 5 Aug 2013
And this is one of them. The pages keep turning (alright the button keeps clicking) and we move from one cliff edge to the next. As with the first book we are left wanting more. Just how will mankind get its act together to survive? Will Alara and Ethan be re-united? Just what role will Hoff play if he ever becomes an Admiral again and will Tova and her kind look upon humans as something other than food?

This is a great deal of fun. Like all good story tellers, Jasper leaves us always wondering what next, waiting on the edges of our seats with our mouths open. I really am looking forward to the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 3 Aug 2013
The story and plot is extreamly well thought out and intense and very entertaining. I am not very good at waiting
But I guess I WILL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the momentum going until the last page!, 1 Aug 2013
This book at least equals if not exceeds DS1.

The story and characters from DS1 are developed but we also get a bit of background to DS1. Momentum has been maintained and each page turned eagerly. There are 2 main story lines that are neatly woven together. Regular recaps are useful without seeming repetitive.

I can't wait until DS3 becomes available in order to find out what happens next.

If you are looking for a well thought out story that is well written and easy to read, buy DS1 and then this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read from a very talented author!!, 24 July 2013
Just finished the entire book, what a climax! As with "Dark Space", "Dark Space II - The Invisible War" kept me totally hooked.

The way that Jasper describes the settings makes it very easy to visualise the surroundings, sense the atmosphere and to feel part of the action - totally immersive!

I am now eager to get hold of "Dark Space III - ???" and the others that will hopefully follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read. I look forward to the next in ..., 16 Aug 2014
The second book in the series continues the story in fast moving and exciting detail. The main characters are developed with more added which, together with the differring timelines associated with Destra and the addition of the Gors, adds dimensions to the main theme and creates exciting sub stories. The main villain, Brondi, continues to grow more evil and treacherous in a way that reminds of a Flemming type character. Whilst the twists and turns of misfortune of the 'heroes' make it difficult to predict outcomes. All set against the backdrop of galactic war and in fighting.

A good read. I look forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dark Space 2 continues where the first left off, in terms of narrative and pace. The action sequences are just as energised and exciting as I have come to expect from this series.
There is so much detail throughout the book, but most impressive is that which sneaks into the space battles. To be honest I feel I could fly a Nova quite competently after reading this book, the instructions are there in every detail.
Excellent fun. Can't wait to start Dark Space 3... Ruh-kah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Space (Book 2): The Invisible War
Dark Space (Book 2): The Invisible War by Jasper T. Scott (Paperback - 23 July 2013)
6.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews