Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
A concise history of the wars of the Roses, this book acts as a reminder of events, who died where and when. If it has been a while since you looked at this period in history this book brings it all back and gives ideas for further reading. I enjoyed reading it.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs. J. Davies

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too basic
Perhaps I shouldn't have bought this book. I do know a bit about the Wars of the Roses and have read both fiction and non-fiction books on the subject.
I found this account accurate but too rushed. The names of various lords and earls were confusing and not clearly defined as fathers and sons or whatever.
A good book for a novice to the period perhaps and a good...
Published 10 months ago by Joy Temple


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Davies (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A concise history of the wars of the Roses, this book acts as a reminder of events, who died where and when. If it has been a while since you looked at this period in history this book brings it all back and gives ideas for further reading. I enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Vixx H "vixx811" (Cannock, Staffs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glimpse Of The Wars Of The Roses (Paperback)
I bought this little book for my mum as a small addition to her Christmas present and as soon as she saw it she opened it up and started to read. It is a concise, informative book which will either educate or re-inform you of various events, deaths etc. Matthew Lewis is a true Historian and we find his little books fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glimpse Of The Wars Of The Roses (Paperback)
Author succinctly covers all main facts and protagonists involved to enable you to get a good idea of the issues. His seemingly 'superficial' style misses out nothing of relevant and he seems balanced and objective. Look forward to his next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh View, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Matthew Lewis is an enthusiastic historian who has taken the limited information available and produced a very objective account of this notorious period of English history. His account is well written and he makes the complex family loyalties as clear as any I've read.

Highly recommended for anyone with an interest of this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glimpse Of The Wars Of The Roses (Paperback)
A very good summary but sometimes I had difficulty
remembering family relationships .
The length of the book is just about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too basic, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps I shouldn't have bought this book. I do know a bit about the Wars of the Roses and have read both fiction and non-fiction books on the subject.
I found this account accurate but too rushed. The names of various lords and earls were confusing and not clearly defined as fathers and sons or whatever.
A good book for a novice to the period perhaps and a good attempt at explaining the many confusing actions of the period, but it raised more questions in my mind than it answered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Glimpse Of The Wars Of The Roses
A Glimpse Of The Wars Of The Roses by Matthew Lewis (Paperback - 21 July 2013)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews