Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WILL HE FALL IN LOVE?
Glee Pembroke had at nineteen received more than eight marriage proposals, unfortunately none of them were from Gregory Blankenship her brother's best friend. Glee has known Gregory all of her life and had loved him for most of it, but Gregory thinks of Glee as his best friends little sister.
Gregory Blankenship has never had the slightest intention of getting...
Published on 30 Oct. 2011 by L. Sims

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story
..but I thought some of the language used by Glee was a little bit contrived and didn't feel like a very good fit at times. Still, I enjoyed the story but wouldn't rate it as highly as some of cheryl bolen's previous work.
Published 20 months ago by Cynthia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WILL HE FALL IN LOVE?, 30 Oct. 2011
By 
L. Sims "Linda" (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Glee Pembroke had at nineteen received more than eight marriage proposals, unfortunately none of them were from Gregory Blankenship her brother's best friend. Glee has known Gregory all of her life and had loved him for most of it, but Gregory thinks of Glee as his best friends little sister.
Gregory Blankenship has never had the slightest intention of getting married but now with the death of his Father and the terms of the will dictating that if Gregory is not married by his twenty fifth birthday then the entire estate will go to his younger brother. Gregorys twenty fifth birthday is only six weeks away. Glee manages to discover this latest bit of news and proposes a marriage of convenience to Gregory but he will not hear of it. Desperate and not wanting the object of her love to marry anyone else Glee manages to make it look as if he as compromised her, Glee is ecstatic but,Gregory is furious. To try to smooth things over Glee promises she will be more like a best friend, and he can carry on with all of his usual pursuits including keeping his mistress. Secretly she intends to make him fall in love with her.
This is another entertaining and amusing read from this author. The scrapes that Glee gets herself into are by turn humorous, and at other times dangerous. Poor Gregory's life is turned upside down by his wife's behaviour, she is on first name terms with his close friends insisting she is one of the "bloods" and encourages them in their schoolboy pranks.
The story is well paced and balanced the characters are very believable and not all fussy as in some regency romances. A great addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn., 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This novel left me cold, bored and frankly disheartened. The plot was slow and at times tedious. I simply gave up this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good., 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This second book is clever and endearing and a fabulous romp in Bath Society. Some very funny bits - Glee is a lovable character, for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Missing pages, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would like to change this book as half the pages are totally blank!

I still want to read it but there are so many blank pages it is impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely story written with humour as well. I enjoyed this book very much. Not the 1st I have read in Brides of Bath series. Each is a complete book in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brides of Bath, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished reading book 2 in this series and have enjoyed it as much as the first. I do so enjoy this type of series, you not only get to see how the people in this story get on, but how life has progressed for those from the previous books, very enjoyable. I'm now greatly looking forward to book 3, especially as I cannot remember which of the many it could be, it will be about.
Sue P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great summer read, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great escape read, romantic heroes, no bad language and plots that have some hair-pin bends, not enjoyed a read so much since Georgette Heyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
..but I thought some of the language used by Glee was a little bit contrived and didn't feel like a very good fit at times. Still, I enjoyed the story but wouldn't rate it as highly as some of cheryl bolen's previous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Sunningdale England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second in the series I have read. Cheryl Bolens Characters pull you in and you care what happens to them. The descriptions easily take me into the regency period and like a true good read this book entertains from the beginning. I was totally absorbed into the story and am definitely going to purchase the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great regency romance from Bolen, 11 Jun. 2013
I read book 4 first and decided to read book 2 next as I wanted to read about Glee and Blanks's relationship. I loved the characters, especially the way Glee and Banks matured, and although somewhat predictable I enjoyed the story. Minor issues included writing Felicity when Glee was meant once or twice and, in my opinion, Blanks getting over his fear of impregnating Glee a little too suddenly. This does not detract from the fact that, as with all Bolen's books, I am left wanting more, and raring to read the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

With His Ring: 2 (The Brides of Bath)
With His Ring: 2 (The Brides of Bath) by Cheryl Bolen (Paperback - 30 July 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews