Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All aboard for the weirdest ride ever
Strange Air unearths a peculiar piece of railway history, a pneumatic railway running under Crystal Palace park, and gives it a bizarre and spooky twist. There have long been rumours of a carriage full of dead Victorians down there -- and these dead are not content to rest in peace...

The story switches in alternate chapters between Victorian engineer Thomas...
Published 20 months ago by Wembley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good read but the ending was slightly disappointing.
Published 9 months ago by Jim Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, original and enjoyable., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the dual aspect of this book. Both stories inevitably concluding together and then going a little further too. A mixture of local history, time travel and mild horror. Very cleverly woven together, well written and thoroughly enjoyable. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea, could have been better executed., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The high reviews lead me to expect great things of this book, so my disappointment is partly due to high expectations. The idea behind the story was both neat and interesting, but the writing was clunky and the last quarter of the book was both hurried and felt repetative. The modern bits of the book started well, the Victorian bits were not at any point, to my mind, gripping, and the last half of the book needed a firm editorial and a re-write. My favorite 'jarring' moment was a character referred to an item as having 'a unique flaw' - the dialogue felt contrived in that section of the book, and the level of the character's willing suspension of disbelief impacted negatively on mine. Was it meant to be an older children's book? I'd have loved it at eleven or twelve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific train of thought., 12 Mar. 2014
This is a darned good read. I found it a little bit slow to start with, but soon got caught up in the story. It is a great amalgam of history, folklore and the paranormal. I like Victorian history anyway and this takes the basics of real history and blends it with mystery. I look forward to more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird but wonderful, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Jane J "l4t" (Newark, Notts, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Odd (as not my usual genre) but pleasing. An alternate history with a dose of the supernatural.

I enjoyed the book, definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great story, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read with an unusual story line. I loved the fact that you could not see where the story was heading and the ending was not as I had expected which was great. I will look for more story' s by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars modern ghost story, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
felt it was a modern ghost story with a subject matter that any tube-train traveller could relate to. and enjoy comparisons with today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brown's excellent tale makes this a compelling journey for all!, 10 Feb. 2014
Like a steam train journey, solid, slow at the start, then accelerating forth, building its intricate stories spanning 150 or so years, and terminating at a screaming finale. Fiction based on well researched fact, it had me checking Wikipedia and Google to find out more about atmospheric railways and Thomas Webster Rammell, problem was this was at 2 am when I was juggling my compulsion to finish the book and needing a break.......reality became blurred, my resulting goosebumps testified where this spooked journey was taking me! Great read, helped somewhat by living under the shadow of the ghost of the Palace here in South London, but Brown's excellent tale makes it equally enjoyable for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put it down. Everything a good story should be. Why I have to write so many words when only two will do: read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read if not a bit technical, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this boom a lot, although not being mechanically minded I struggled at times with the more engineering relevant section. Good story though and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An inventive ghost story, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
R. S. Loch "rsloch" (the wilds of Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strange Air consists of the converging stories of Victorian engineer Thomas Rammell who plans to develop his pneumatic railway plus a sacked tube driver who is pulled back in time by a train carriage full of rather motive skeletons.

Inspired by a local urban legend the tale is enjoyable if a little silly at the end and inspires further investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Air
Strange Air by Tom Brown (Paperback - 29 Jun. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews