Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky sense of humour
The style rambles about over a series of subjects, wandering off at tangents as the author's whim takes him and in such a manner lives up to its title. You may need the right offbeat, laidback sense of humour to appreciate the Jerome's musings on the vagaries of life but it's a gently amusing, and at times, laugh out loud way of idling away a lazy day or dipping in and...
Published 21 months ago by Bri

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars yes the humour is a bit dated. Yes you ...
yes the humour is a bit dated. Yes you will need to research some of the items mentioned. Yes I will be reading more. Three men in a boat ! come on there is so much more to Jerome K Jerome.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs Mavis Davison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky sense of humour, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The style rambles about over a series of subjects, wandering off at tangents as the author's whim takes him and in such a manner lives up to its title. You may need the right offbeat, laidback sense of humour to appreciate the Jerome's musings on the vagaries of life but it's a gently amusing, and at times, laugh out loud way of idling away a lazy day or dipping in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for idle moments, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
A collection of short essays about nothing much in particular, written in the inimitable style of the 19th century. Jerome K. Jerome is something of a one-hit wonder with his Three Men In A Boat. This has not the charm of that work, naturally, as it lacks the story and the characters of a novel. But when you have an idle ten minutes here and there, one or two of these little essays is a welcome distraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it., 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny and very true - even against modern times.
Easy style of writing and easy to read with 'bite' sized chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In this, JKJ reminds me occasionally of Mark Twain ..., 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this, JKJ reminds me occasionally of Mark Twain. Some of the items are amusing and encouraging though in others I don't concur with his values. Still worth a read, and a listen too on librivox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars yes the humour is a bit dated. Yes you ..., 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
yes the humour is a bit dated. Yes you will need to research some of the items mentioned. Yes I will be reading more. Three men in a boat ! come on there is so much more to Jerome K Jerome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as hoped for, 30 Nov. 2014
By 
Tim the Shack "TIM" (WINCHELSEA BEACH, UK) - See all my reviews
I gof this after readng "3 Men in a boat", hoping to be equally impressed, but wasn't. Disappointing really, but will read more by Jerome K Jerome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rambling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not had time to read it yet, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Three men in a boat, so thought I would try another book by JKJ, but not read it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow
The Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow by Jerome K. Jerome (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2013)
£5.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews