Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 27 Dec 2006
I was given this book by my mum (she's buddhist, I'm not) and although I'm not buddhist, nor do I ever intend to be, it doesn't matter with this book. It's not a screaming buddhist sermon, it's not being thrown in your face. It's a book about this monk and the people, situations, stories he has faced during his time as a monk. There are some fantastic stories and I'm halfway through at the moment and enlightened. It's giving me a whole new perspective - not a buddhist one, a happy, postitive one. It approaches everything that may be wrong with your outlook.

If you want to be a better person, read the book, it might just help you like it has me, or if you are struggling to cope with something, read the book, again it will help you

I was given the book, now i'm buying it for my brother and a spare for a friend who may need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent BUT!!!!!, 25 Mar 2009
By 
G. Tighe "(Vixana)" (Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book but excatly the same as Who Ordered This Truckload of Dung?: Inspiring Stories for Welcoming Life's Difficulties. Well worth buying a copy of either, but not both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simplistically, charmingly, resonant., 4 Oct 2010
Perhaps you can judge a book by who you'd give it to.

A book which I'd give to a lot of people to help them have happy lives is, by that criteria, a good book.

In fact it's a great book.

That said, whilst this is a charming collection of strands, knitted pleasingly into a nice warm scarf... it ain't all that deep.

Excellent introduction to Buddhism.

Not the most profound thing since the crossword.

Delicious refreshment if you're already moderately well versed in Buddhist writing, but just need something to kick start your daily life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can not help but feel better!, 21 April 2009
Buy this book if you want to feel better about yourself and be guided to living a happy and compassionate life.

I know I will buy this book over and over again for others - it's funny and soothing, food for the Soul.

Ajahn Braham has a YouTube channel! There are lots of Dhamma talks there and they are all spiritually enlightening. He has the most wicked sense of humour - as you listen to his Dhamma talks, you will laugh and heal at the same time. He's magic, I appreciate him so much for serving us in this way.
[]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need to be a monk, but it helps to see through their eyes!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ajahn Brahm is an hugely entertaining Buddhist monk who came from London, having studied at Cambridge, UK and now living in W.Australia where he runs retreats for those wishing to come to peace and consolidate their learning s.
this book is a resume of the talks (available via YouTube), the like you may never have heard or seen before. Brahm is almost more a stand up, or sit down comedian with his wit and repartee.
Invaluable knowledge, sadness and joy can all be found in this timeless classic.
Is it for you? YES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for the Library of Life - Opening the Door of Your Heart, 27 April 2012
The seller supplied the book in a very timely fashion. Thanks that you have this title available as we have no immediate access here in the US. We were able to listen via audio book but being able to access one story at a time, to hold the words in your hands, is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book to own, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good book to have beside me on the bedside table. Very good stories. Would recommend it to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple versions of the stories told in Ajahn Brahm's talks, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple and to the point, nicely organised into themes and written in a way which makes it accessible to anyone, in the same way as Ajahn Brahm's inspiring talks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, inspiring and uplifting., 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely collection of funny, inspiring and uplifting stories. You don't have to be a Buddhist to enjoy them. Thank you Ajahn Brahm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stories!, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the different real life stories, teaching us the hidden meaning of life :) thanks Ajahn Brahm for the stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Opening the Door of Your Heart
Opening the Door of Your Heart by Ajahn Brahm (MP3 CD - 16 Sep 2014)
£7.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews