Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars61
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2013
Fred Schafer has done it again. If you have seen the movie "Midnight in Paris" and enjoyed it, there is a very good chance that you will also enjoy "The 92-Year-Old Lady Who Made Me Steal A Dead Man's Car". The story is totally different, but the idea behind the story is similar. This novel is a mix of classic literature, literary fiction, crime, and philosophy all embedded in unpredictable mystery. This is a great book which would make a great movie. I loved it. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Starting from the flashpoint of a chance meeting - I found this book a page turner to the end.
There are layers of intrigue. Very clever and remarkably witty. I found myself wondering too, if this book was part biographical, part memoir - because the dialogue and underlying thoughts were so real. A wonderful exploration into the literary world, part history and part cultural, "The 92 year old lady who made me steal a dead man's car" is intriguing, well-written and fresh writing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
The main plot of this story is a new take on a theme already extensively covered by Jasper Fforde in the Thursday Next series, namely the idea of a parallel "literary universe" in which characters from novels exist in person. Unlike Fforde's stories, in which a physical character moves between the two worlds, Mr. Schaefer has his literary characters turning up in the "real" world with the explicit aim of getting parts of their stories re-written. It's a great story in itself but, for reasons that aren't immediately obvious, we are also treated to a sub-plot around the central (real) character's past time as a vigilante which, in my opinion, adds little more than padding and distraction from the main plot. There is also a lengthy passage of philosophical debate which is perhaps more understandable given some of Mr. Schaefer's other works. All in all an enjoyable, humorous and easy read but just as enjoyable, if not more so, without the sub-plot.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
This is a fascinating book, cleverly written from start to finish. It is an interesting and intriguing novel that made me laugh out loud many times. I love books like this! The plot is absorbing, witty and certainly different from anything that I have read before.

Eberhardt Walker is a vigilante who takes revenge on rapists in a way that makes your eyes water. He meets up with 92 year old, Irene Sonntag and their strange adventure begins. This eccentric old lady has been getting visits from a variety of literary characters with hilarious consequences. I really laughed out loud when the literary Jesus appeared one evening and made a request for his image to be improved. Hilarious! The book also challenges the reader to think about a variety issues raised.

The author, Fred Shaffer writes seamlessly and keeps the reader hooked from the start.

I would highly recommend this book and will be checking out the author's other novels.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
I really enjoyed the authors "Short and Wonderful Life of Henry Hemingway" and the title of this one alone caught my attention. This novel carries over some themes already mentioned in the earlier book, most notably the philosophical debates concerning The Big Bang, the philosophies of Schopenhauer, Sophism, Existentialism and more (if that isn't a heady enough brew). Which is not to say that this is a turgid philosophical treatise by any stretch but rather it's a rollicking surreal ambitious novel that is so fun, it doesn't care what ideological structures it lambasts with its playful irreverence. Echoes of Pirandello's "Six Characters in Search of an Author," and the more recent movie, "Stranger Than Fiction," abound at least in so far as literary characters are given their own voice to speak their minds to their authors or anyone else who would care to hear what they have to say. And what they have to say may surprise you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I must admit to being a sucker for a good philosophical debate, so was delighted to find Fred Schäfer’s “The 92-Year-Old Lady Who Made Me Steal a Dead Man’s Car”.
This novel is simply brilliant. Told in a lucid style despite complex arguments, it impresses with a well-formed story and an ending that satisfies.
To tell anything of the story would mean spoiling surprises for others, but I can say it was interesting to see Jay Gatsby come to life.
Around three-quarters of the way through the story I was reminded of Jostein Gaarder’s “Sophie’s World” and the joy I experienced while reading that novel.
This book has inspired me to further reading - namely Durrell’s “The Alexandria Quartet”.
I highly recommend “The 92-Year-Old Lady Who Made Me Steal a Dead Man’s Car”.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Very clever, witty and well written. Having enjoyed the 100 year-old man, decided to give another odd-titled book a go. Great decision.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
An extremely humorous book with a clever and thought provoking plot. Fred Schafer is one of my favorite authors and he never disappoints. With explosive suspense, funny tit-bits, and dark dramatic events throughout, he manages to capture a unique witty side to the characters and combine a sense of reality amongst them. Combining crime, mystery, intrigue, classic literature with a fresh modern approach and you get a cleverly executed backbone to a thrilling read. The main characters, Irene, whom is the old lady, and Eberhardt, a writer in his thirties, these two are drafted with such loyal and strong personalities that only this author knows how to muster up. An unmistakeably hilarious ending, you will be delighted to add this one to your collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I can honestly say I've never read anything quite like this book. It's funny, ironic, and thought provoking, all of it tinged with a bit of dark drama. With such a complex plot this book could so easily have gone wrong - leaving the reader bewildered by the fanciful turn of events, but instead the author has done a masterful job of taking us along on a great ride as the protagonist, Eberhardt Walker a writer who, almost as an aside, goes about ridding the city of brutal criminals, in between having fascinating philosophical conversations with great literary characters. I enjoyed this book from beginning to end, so The 92 Year Old Lady Who Made Me Steal a Dead Man's Car is an easy book to recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
This book is like an explosion of creativity! It's full of amazing events. It's a rollercoaster ride that combines everyday realities with fictional characters from books by famous and unknown authors. And the most amazing thing is, on a philosophical level it all makes perfect sense. At least that's the conclusion of three high ranking law enforcement officers towards the end of the book. Their conclusion is based on a philosophical discussion that has everything in it: fun, serious thinking, mystery and lots of suspense. For people who like literary fiction, reading this book will provide them with hours of pleasure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.