Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Great Book
I am a big fan of historical fiction but only found out about the Marius Mules series recently.
Finished the first book in two days then bought and rattled through the whole series in quick time.
Basically it follows one of Julius Caesar's Legion commanders (or Legate), Marcus Fronto, during the invasion of Gaul, each book taking one year of the campaign...
Published 15 months ago by HPDS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Markus`mules v
Could not get into it tried my best I think I may have started the wrong book being book v

Outlook.com
Published 8 months ago by john the scot


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Great Book, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Paperback)
I am a big fan of historical fiction but only found out about the Marius Mules series recently.
Finished the first book in two days then bought and rattled through the whole series in quick time.
Basically it follows one of Julius Caesar's Legion commanders (or Legate), Marcus Fronto, during the invasion of Gaul, each book taking one year of the campaign.
Marcus is a hard drinking soldiers' solider with little time for Politics which causes many clashes with not only Caesar but also some of the other commanders. He nevertheless is a masterful commander and doesn't mind getting his hands dirty to get the job done.
Well written and full of action, but also historically very informative.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hades Gate a BLOCKBUSTER., 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Paperback)
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
In HADES GATE the fifth in the Marius Mules series Simon Turney has penned a real blockbuster, with a great narrative bursting with historical facts, combined with plenty of violent gritty action. Fast paced and compelling, I found I could not put it down. I believe that Simon has now earned a place alongside all the great contemporary Roman fiction authors. Well done and keep it coming.
For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MMV-Hades' Gate, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic and exciting read. Well done again. S.J.A..Turney.
So relieved that you are underway with VI and VII. It seems as though the series is going to get even better. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring it on, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read. Each book has made me become more involved with both the story and the characters. Can,t wait for VI & VII
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MM V, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent story, just gets better! looking forward to the next two books if they are to be campaign based. Get writing Mr. Turney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series gets better and better., 8 Sep 2013
By 
A. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic series of books, can highly recommend them to anyone who has an interest in fictional history. Characters are realistic and come to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improving with every book, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I took a bit of a punt on the first Marius Mules novel and enjoyed it enough to keep going. The focus on the daily functioning of a legion on campaign and the inter-action of soldiers was an interesting viewpoint for me, as was Mr Turney's portrayal of Caesar. The battle scenes were also extremely well described - as good as anything I have read. There were some factual errors here and there but nothing too annoying, however my main criticism was that I found the dialogue a bit stilted and forced at times. I believe Mr Turney self-publishes, or at least did for the earlier books, which unfortunately meant a lot of typos in the kindle version.

However, the books have improved with each new installment and the dialogue has become much more "natural" with a good dose of humour thrown in. The fifth book in the series had me gripped from start to finish and there were very few typos for a kindle book. It seems to me that the author has grown and developed along with his main characters and has now hit his stride, with the result being a well paced, well written book with interesting characters and plot. I hope this carries on in the 6th book - due out next year I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another thrilling instalment ........, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.... of Fronto and the myriad of amazing characters that Mr Turney has developed, blending fact and fiction into the most believable tales of battles, friendships, life, death, drinking, fighting, love and laughter - I could go on - around Rome and Julia's Caesar's campaigns across Europe

I started reading MM1 late last year after visiting Rome, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius. I then read MM2, 3 and 4 in quick succession, and, as this one wasn't out, I then went back and read the first 4 all over again because I enjoyed them so much - and that does NOT happen very often!! We were even inspired to visit Brittany (Armorica) this year and the sites of some of Caesar and Crassus' battles! So all I can say is if you have an interest in this genre of book, or perhaps just wondered what it would be like to live in these times, then I am sure these books will not disappoint.

Anyway, all that is left to say is thank you Mr Turney for another enjoyable read and, how could I forget, for letting one of the ladies pitch into a fight this time too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a worthy addition to the series., 15 Aug 2013
By 
John H. Turner "balletomane" (indianapolis, indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Paperback)
As dangerous as Gaul was, Rome was worse. While trying to absorb the Celtic tribes into their empire, the Romans were aggressively destroying their Republic. As Fronto, the protagonist, experiences the realities of both, we offered a choice of two evils to prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book 'five', 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After book four of 'Marius's Mules' I thought that that may be the end of the series so was surprised to find a book five for sale. It is a good read and opens up the story with detail of politics in Rome at that time and also Fronto's home life. While all this is going on the situation in Gaul goes from bad to worse leaving the prospect of a great book six. I can hardly wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate
Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate by S.J.A. Turney (Paperback - 16 May 2013)
£7.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews