Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet
Without doubt the best in the series so far. Mr Turney expertly deals with the action of Caesar's legions' push across the Rhine and then into England, whilst simulaneously personalising, through Frodo's sister and betrothed, the increasingly politicised violence erupting in Rome. Lets hope Frontos knee get better soon. Bring on the Rubicon
Published 19 months ago by Mr. S. Buckingham

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mules march on
Having read the previous books in the series I was looking forward to this one. However I felt the characters were a little two dimensional and could have been developed more. At times it felt more like a narrative than a story.
Published 11 months ago by Willibobs


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best yet, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am only half way through this book but already I have to say this is Turney's best work yet. It flows at a fast pace, links known facts into the Fronto- Caesar story seamlessly. There is plenty of action combined with double dealing and intrigue. All this set against the background of the conquest of germanic tribes and the invasion of Britain. Given the low price of the book then you have to ay that this is the best value read I have bought in years. Well done Mr Turney, more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marius Mules Conspiracy of Eagles, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best reads I've had the whole series just gripped me. Would highle recommend it to anyone history buff or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marius Mules, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Neil Horton "Neil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
S.J.A. Turney is my favourite author. Every book I have read in this series, has allowed by imagination to run wild,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fronto Continues his adventures across the Channel., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read about Legate Fronto and his battles with enemies of Rome and Caesar, lots of twists and turns to the plot but has Fonto met his match at last? Easy to read and very difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roman fiction history, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is what I like to read with good content and a fast theme difficult to put the book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars roland 021, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only just opened the book, so far it has been as good as the previous books by the same author, they run in sequence and I must admit they are all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fronto's latest adventure, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to put down. As thrilling as the previous novels in this series. Turney makes you feel as though you are right in the middle of the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fronto is getting a bit long in the tooth feeling his battle scars but still a capable soldier with good friends around him to keep him in nearly one piece, Caesar still up to his plots and schemes for power will Fronto be around for the downfall of Caesar?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marius Mules IV IS THIS THE END OF THE STORY?, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed the rise of the main characters through the previous three novels in this series, travelling with Julius Caeser through his rise to power, but this latest instalment left me wondering where it goes from here, is it the end, the way it has been left with Fronto leaving Caeser makes me wonder, as usual Fronto is central to the story and there are a couple of twists in the plot and a few red herrings thrown in for good measure and yes I fell for them one of them threw me in completley in the wrong direction, well written as usual and the main characters develop even further in this part of the series, some with more distinction than others, all in all a very good read but I fear it will be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE TO READ THE FULL SERIES TO GET THE BEST FROM THE STORIES, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Waited ages for the 4th book well worth the wait now waiting for the next installment. Will the marriage last will the friendship with Caesar also last what is the next sting in the tail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles
Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles by S.J.A. Turney (Paperback - 16 May 2013)
6.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews