Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please
I read all 4 of these books in the space of a few weeks, one after the other, finishing this one only a few days ago - and I am already missing Fronto and his adventures with his wine-drinking mates!! All 4 books are set in the 1st century BC around Julius Caesar's campaigns in Gaul (for those with a weak disposition, please note that some of the battle narrative is...
Published 23 months ago by Suey.B

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mules march on
Having read the previous books in the series I was looking forward to this one. However I felt the characters were a little two dimensional and could have been developed more. At times it felt more like a narrative than a story.
Published 19 months ago by Willibobs


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read all 4 of these books in the space of a few weeks, one after the other, finishing this one only a few days ago - and I am already missing Fronto and his adventures with his wine-drinking mates!! All 4 books are set in the 1st century BC around Julius Caesar's campaigns in Gaul (for those with a weak disposition, please note that some of the battle narrative is rather detailed, gruesome and violent!), it is so well written you can't help but feel like you are there with the characters, love the fact that the Gauls seem to have northern accents and between battles the main characters like to pop to the pub (a lot!!)

I am not an expert on roman history, battles or politics, but it made me want to find out about the real events, people and places that these stories take their inspiration from - and from what I can tell they're pretty close to the reality of Ceasars invasion of Gaul over the same 4 year period, although the only Fronto I could find that excelled in battle and became a Legate was a Marcus Claudius Fronto from the second century AD (killed in battle 170 AD)

Regardless of fact and fiction the stories are a wonderfully entertaining and absorbing read, so I hope that if you pick these books up you enjoy them as much as I did - and please, please Mr Turney, I do hope there are more tales of Fronto on the way . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. S. Buckingham (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without doubt the best in the series so far. Mr Turney expertly deals with the action of Caesar's legions' push across the Rhine and then into England, whilst simulaneously personalising, through Frodo's sister and betrothed, the increasingly politicised violence erupting in Rome. Lets hope Frontos knee get better soon. Bring on the Rubicon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as good as this authors previous booksn in this series ( i recomend them all ) a slight devation into politics but graphic enough to keep the reader interested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great series of books and book 4 is no let down
If you like Simon Scarrows' tales of Cato and Macro then this is a book for you.
It is very well written with a good story line - Roman Legions, lots of action with down to earth characters and just enough history.
I would definitely recommend this book to any historical fiction fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good content - good story well told - keeps you interested - description of geography, legion behaviour, uniform and weapons allows you to be in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has Fronto really hung up his gladius?, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just finished Marius' Mules IV and found it to be as excellent as the previous three, with one criticism. The ending seemed rather rushed and totally out of step with the pace and intensity of the rest of the story. In fact it almost felt like it had been written by someone else. However, I find Mr Turney an outstanding writer of this genre and with a great knowledge of Roman military life and the Caesar campaigns.

The book's abrupt ending leaves the reader with the impression that this will be the last of the Mules series, yet the story leaves enough unfinished threads for at least two further books. I for one will be very disappointed if this does end the series as I have only recently discovered Mr Turney and I would certainly rate his work on a par with Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. Once you start reading you just don't want to put the book (or Kindle) down. So come on Mr Turney - will there be a Mules V?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars up there with Simon Scarrow, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This the best kept secret in book writing, i loved every page and can't wait for any follow up books, this is as good a s Simon Scarrow, the plots are great and the stories twist and turn to keep you on edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Great Book, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Paperback)
I am a big fan of historical fiction but only found out about the Marius Mules series recently.
Finished the first book in two days then bought and rattled through the whole series in quick time.
Basically it follows one of Julius Caesar's Legion commanders (or Legate), Marcus Fronto, during the invasion of Gaul, each book taking one year of the campaign.
Marcus is a hard drinking soldiers' solider with little time for Politics which causes many clashes with not only Caesar but also some of the other commanders. He nevertheless is a masterful commander and doesn't mind getting his hands dirty to get the job done.
Well written and full of action, but also historically very informative.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mules march on, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the previous books in the series I was looking forward to this one. However I felt the characters were a little two dimensional and could have been developed more. At times it felt more like a narrative than a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marius mules 4, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ok novel but not his best, the plot goes backwards and forwards a little, and ends up unsatisfactorily, as though just trying to leave it for a sequal, disjointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles
Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles by S.J.A. Turney (Paperback - 16 May 2013)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews