Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Jehovah's Witnesses should read this, 31 July 2013
By 
Ms. M. E. Ferrier (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
As someone who believed Jehovah's Witnesses were the true religion for 40 years I wish I had read this book years ago. Very frank but none of it bitter or angry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest book, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
Half way through the book I have learned that some decisions made buy some men made without putting much thought into them, negatively impacted the lives of many individuals whose circumstances varied but to whom the same policy applied to avoid excommunication. Later some of these decisions were reversed. Unseen inner power-struggles existed within the leaders but not revealed in their history book. The distortions, half-truths and twisting of texts/scriptures that are attributed to apostates, also seem to be employed by the Watch tower to justify and cover-up errors. I can't give a detailed review as my mind can't remember half the book I have read in just 2 days because I am so eager to learn everything in it, however I felt obligated to share with you my view cause this book is a must for any serious truth seeker who wants an unbiased, candid presentation of facts pertaining to a group that only publicizes selective information that suits the needs of their organization which they believe to be divinely established and must be defended. 1914 is a strong example of this. On this date rests their entire authority structure, although the historical facts prove it wrong, they insist on it, otherwise this structure would collapse. False predictions are numerous with well presented evidence. Hypocrisy with regards to neutrality-policy for their followers in Malawi compared to the ones in Mexico is quite disconcerting. I look forward to start reading from where I left, which is about the year 1975 which they pointed to implying in the minds of people that the world's end would arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Experience of a Jehovah Witness Insider, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
This is a very good book on experience of a Jehovah witness Raymond Franz who has described his honest viewpoint of almost half of his life in Watch Tower head quarters. Form the very beginning you can see his unbiased approach. He was given a duty of compiling the World New Translation Bible of JW. He had different views with other colleagues on different topics including interpretation of the Bible.
A very good Book Who want to know what is going on in Watch Tower Headquarters.
Must read for Jehovah Witnesses or Non Jehovah Witnesses and Religious or Cult Researchers.
Best Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Aid to understanding", 20 July 2013
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
"The primary goal of all institutions and subcultures is self-preservation. Preserving the faith is central to God's plan for human history; preserving particular religious institutions is not. Do not expect those who run the institutions to be sensitive to the difference. God needs no particular person, church, denomination, creed or organization to accomplish his purpose."
In The Myth of Certainty
Ray Franz in his book illustrated the wisdom of the writer above. What makes this book more significant than other academic works of Jehovah`s Witnesses is that Raymond Franz was privy to information that only few in this organisation could attain.
The information in the book helps the doubting Jehovah`s Witness to make some rational conclusions to the false claim this is God`s organisation.
Granted, the book may leave you in a dark place but "In search of Christian freedom helps the one making for the exit door to attain a Christian freedom that inspires confidence.
May I also recommend the book "Sway: The Irresistible Pull of Irrational Behaviour "for one who desires to come to terms with the trauma of leaving this organisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Insights of this book, and the WTBTS apply to many other faiths, 5 April 2014
By 
J. L. Threadgold (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
The author Raymond Franz,was a member of the Governing Body of the Watchtower Bible and Tract Society. The author is knowledgeable, and rights with insight and integrity. His honesty knowledge and intelligence shine out, as he explores how a religious organisation can be swayed by a myth that allows it to be in direct opposition to the values and beliefs that it publically promotes. The insights about the WTBTS are not just applicable to the WTBTS, but are a warning shot to all religious organisations, were those in power, become blind to their own fault lines, and blind spots, and act in ways that cause hurt, pain and are destructive to its members. He also honestly explores his own reactions to the decision of the Governing Body, and his own 'crisis of conscience' and his challenges to the organisation that resulted in his disfellowshipping from the organisation. Its a challenging read to anyone who is or has been in a faith organisation, and its insights apply to any organisations that man has created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brand New., 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
Very informative book as I want to do research on the information that is provided in the book for my studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
As a fader JW i definitely recommend this book for all who are questioning the Jehovahs Witness religion. There is no spite or malice from Franz and has helped me see that some who remain there just need pity and prayers to help them see how things are and have been covered up or twisted. The amount of changes and constructed information without scriptural support is an eye opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Brainwash Some of The People All of The Time..., 16 May 2014
By 
Mr. Edward P. Campbell (Brighton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis of Conscience (Paperback)
What impresses me most about the local organisations of JWs is the way they close ranks when any of their senior elders is accused of anything improper: like extra-marital affairs, double-book keeping and dodgy business dealings, (as related to me some years ago by a fellow 'worldly' worker in a certain elder's firm). This very senior Brighton elder in Sussex, England, who helped build the convention hall at Hays Bridge, Surrey, UK, resigned rather than face his congregation committee - accompanied by a district overseer I complained to (because no elder would listen). "We lost a very good elder" was a typical comment of other elders when he resigned...

Within a year this unrepentant elder was 'back in business' with all his original public talk and district assembly talk status and privileges, as if nothing had happened. This is typical JW committee behaviour. They invariably attack the accuser or the victim, and frequently brand them as being "an agent of Satan", never condemning the high-status perpetrator.

Countless millions of dollars, withdrawn from the Worldwide Work voluntary donations, have been misused to defend many high-profile child molesters within the organisation; or pay off victims who are then sworn to secrecy. The FBI has been repeatedly denied access to the secret JW database in New York which lists 23,000 alleged JW sexual perverts, including Bethalites and Congregation Overseers - claiming "religious privilege".

This sanctimonious attitude is more hypocritical than the imperious Catholic Church, where Watchtower and Tract Society Committee members and the President have refused to make any comment about whether or not this database even exists. Meanwhile, face-saving, ineffectual 'guidelines' have been sent out to congregation committees, which in reality ensure that little or no cooperation with police or courts ensues, and the sexualised skeletons remain firmly locked in their respective congregation cupboards - or worse, the childhood victims are even disfellowshipped.. "for bringing 'Jehovah's Organisation' into disrepute"..!

Meanwhile, many thousands of children of JWs have grown up with a disabling sense of betrayal and victimisation, (whole congregations turning up to court to support the perpetrator and decry and ostracise the victim) while the organisation which has vowed to protect them has in practice only cynically protected the perpetrators, and conducted clandestine witch hunts against, or suppressed, the often-many victims of one evil person.

Doubtless brainwashed JW youth (I used to be one, from 1954-2000) will be in hysterical denial about such things, as is to be expected - but if you think this is a fantasy please visit silentlambs.com. Set up by an elder who was hounded out of 'God's Organisation on Earth' for defending a victim; and see for yourself the litany of innocent suffering which continues unabated, denied and mostly unrepented... Yet this 19th century Russellite organisation has had the gall in the past to call the Roman Catholic Church, "The Mother of Harlots". Throwing stones from glass houses comes to mind...

Christianity is about responsible behaviour - not well-meaning words and wishful thinking; or bogus, fear-instilling, Doom laden 'prophesy'.

I have just ordered this book, which I shall read with great interest, and recommend to any future JW knocking at my door; along with suggesting that they review 'silentlambs.com' for the lowdown on their organisation's unconscionable dealings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crisis of Conscience
Crisis of Conscience by Raymond Franz (Paperback - 2 Nov 2004)
7.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews