Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
101
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2013
This book is purely for the UK market which was important to me.
It is simple, logical and makes sense. I should say I am not entirely sure I would go with the author's recommendation to go for 1 bed flats but that does not detract from my opinion as I still feel the overall advice is sound. It provides good practical advice on the process of property selection, using various websites and other straightforward advice which makes it worth the price. He does not make any outrageous boasts or daft recommendations like buying bargains at auctions - which surely is the preserve for only the really experienced property people rather than the people who might be interested in buying such a book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Loved the simplicity of this book. Loved the nerdiness of formulae and his approach to internet research.
A big , drawback for me was that the issue of service/maintenance charge in leasehold properties appeared to be ignored. He suggests paying for a fully managed letting service so with that and the maintenance charge I think you might struggle to cover the mortgage.
He does not have an exit strategy. He assumes prices will continue to rise and he will recoup his deposit by refinancing
His strategy undoubtedly worked during the long property boom of the mid-nineties to 2008 especially as there was plenty of easy credit to be had. Not so easy now. Maybe that's why he is writing books and running a subscription based website.
Despite my reservations I did enjoy this book and I would recommend it for people like myself who are just thinking of taking the plunge.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
I've often been frustrated with property investment books as they are either full of theory with nothing of practical value, or they are based 100% on the US market. Given that the UK market is very different to America (in fact, I believe every country has a unique property market) it was great to find a book that not only is 100% focused on the UK, but that is also full of practical tips that you can put to work immediately.

As an added bonus, the book is well well written and well formatted for the Kindle and I would strongly recommend it to all UK investors.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
The book demonstrates a process to find flats at a discount price. It uses property portals and area stats portals to provide the initial 'sort'. The author concentrates on 1 bed flats (don't think this is fully explained why). Because of this the potential yields will always be reduced due to the service charges. This doesn't seem to bother the author but an explanation of why would help.
I wouldn't pay full price for this book for the information it contained.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
This is a very useful book based on the experience of the author in buying one bedroom flats in seaside towns. Many other strategies are not included in the book though the principle could be replicated probably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
The book does a good job of explaining what below market value means, and how to find properties that fall into this category. Google Street View is mentioned - something I would never have considered before. The book details what properties to avoid too - so that's worth knowing too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Simplifies all processes and keeps everything very clear and easy to understand.

Step by step guide to making wise property investments and a must have for anyone ready to take the plunge. Method is very strong and reduces almost all risk due to fantastic method of filtering properties that are not worth investing in. Very thorough.

If you have some capital (you don't need much more then 14k) this is it. Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Sure, it may be written as if a garrulous geezer in the pub is giving you the skinny on a slightly dodgy deal, but don't let the writing style put you off!

This pamphlet is a simple and great formula which will hook you in and have you glued to RightMove, with purpose, hawking for your first investment. If a practical guide for beginners is what you need, and you've got a couple of spare hours, then this should be right up your street...did you see what I did there?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
A carefully laid out and simple strategy. It is rare to find a template for success so well documented. I can't give it 5 stars as I have not yet been able to test the theory but having done some research it looks promising and I will be giving it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
The author may have done well but I fear that is more by luck than design. The writing style is pretty hard to follow in places and the pseudo-economic arguments used to back up claims about the housing industry are basic and flawed.

The recommendations to buy a property BMV (below market value) using an iffy process and then tricking a mortgage company into giving your property a higher value is frankly dangerous and could lead to people being over-leveraged if their is a downturn.

There is so little focus on rental return that an increase in interest rates could see people unable to cover their mortgage payments if they follow his advice. Also, using a letting agent, who consumes up to 15% of rent will almost certainly mean any mortgage payments will not be covered by the rent, unless you've got a truly cracking property, or rental prices are on the rise.

There are much better books out there. I suggest Richard Oldacres book, 'how to buy to let property properly' as a far more balanced approach.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)