Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always more to discover in Edward Thomas
I've owned an original edition of In Pursuit of Spring for years but until this Easter had merely skimmed it looking for the passages in which Robert Frost saw Edward Thomas's potential as a poet. Now thanks to Matthew Oates' programme I am reading it and really enjoying it. It's quietly witty, really humourous at times. It's excellent on birds - he can convey the...
Published 22 months ago by Elisabeth T.

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book - terrible edition
Let me say, first of all, that Edward Thomas is one of my favourite writers and that this book is a superb evocation of the English countryside on the verge of WW1. That is why this centenary edition is so disappointing. A total lack of care has been exercised in its compilation, with a host of grammatical and typesetting errors and words and sections of text missed out...
Published 18 months ago by theleveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book - terrible edition, 15 July 2013
By 
theleveller (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me say, first of all, that Edward Thomas is one of my favourite writers and that this book is a superb evocation of the English countryside on the verge of WW1. That is why this centenary edition is so disappointing. A total lack of care has been exercised in its compilation, with a host of grammatical and typesetting errors and words and sections of text missed out. It seems obvious that no proof-reader has been employed to check the text before publication.

Now to the cover itself. Much as I love the paintings of Van Gogh, why, oh why, choose a French painting for the cover of what is a quintessentially English book? The logic escapes me!

In the introduction, the anonymous editor says: "Graham Hill Classics is honoured to present the Centenary Edition of 'In Pursuit of Spring'. Hope you enjoy reading it." Well, apparently not honoured enough to take the necessary care with its compilation. And, yes, I did enjoy reading it, in between being furious at the mistakes. A very poor effort, Graham Hill; Edward Thomas deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always more to discover in Edward Thomas, 6 April 2013
By 
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Paperback)
I've owned an original edition of In Pursuit of Spring for years but until this Easter had merely skimmed it looking for the passages in which Robert Frost saw Edward Thomas's potential as a poet. Now thanks to Matthew Oates' programme I am reading it and really enjoying it. It's quietly witty, really humourous at times. It's excellent on birds - he can convey the movement, sound and shape of birds like no-one other than Hopkins. His views of villages, farms and churches, inns and roads, bring them to life.
Above all we sense the man himself - reflective, original in his approach and reasonably even-tempered and content, it seems. That was a surprise to me as I had always understood 1913 to be his most unhappy year.

There is a chapter on three poets, one of whom is Hardy. Fascinating to think that at that very time Hardy was writing his best poems, the Emma sequence. I would love to know what Thomas would have said about these poems on the theme of guilt for mis-treating your wife! More important is the chapter on Coleridge at Nether Stowey, a poet and critic he admired so much - (oh dear, another appalling husband, the worst of the lot!)

As Thomas moved further west, away from London, the writing becomes more relaxed, unfussy, closer to the voice of the poems. It's great to observe the development and I'm really sorry that as a student of and writer on Thomas - '[[ASIN:0956424236 A Conscious Englishman] -I haven't read it before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, relaxing, but who set the type?, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition) (Paperback)
There are books which won't allow anything but a speedy reading pace to match their plot, sometimes coming and going in a day. Then there are books like this. At the time of writing I am about half-way through journey and thoroughly enjoying meeting Thomas' gently unfolding narrative in the manner in which it was written; without hurry and savoring every detail. As I read, I am on the lane, in the wood, by the river. The town scenes in which the journey commences navigate within a hair's breadth of purple but with the open country the breathing becomes relaxed and observations of all things natural are never in need of heavy metaphor to allow them to drift from the page and into the senses. Reading this book has produced a strong temptation to retrace the journey but I fear that the passing of a hundred years will have reduced too many of the locations to mere echoes, so I shall remain content with the powerfully evocative writing of a gifted author, sound in the knowledge that at least it was once as described. One minor irritation with this version but one which is surely unnecessary: I have encountered more typos than I care to count, on which I have stubbed my toe as I amble along. A hasty compilation as the centenary approached, perhaps? Never mind, back on the bike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor production, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition) (Paperback)
It is riddled with typos - it obviously hadn't been properly proofread. And it had dropped the maps from the original edition, which for a travel book is absurd. All in all, I thought it was a poor production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Pursuit of Spring, 28 Mar. 2013
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition) (Paperback)
One of the most wonderful books in the English language. Thomas was way ahead of his time, and is speaking to us as much from the future as from the past. Many of the passages are amongst the most soul-touching you will ever read. Essential and unforgettable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, poor edition!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition) (Paperback)
As others have said this is an excellent book crying out for a bit more TLC in the preparation.

There are scores of typesetting errors throughout the text that indicate this to be a 'cheepo cut & paste edition'.

What would be really good would be a thoughtful 'illustrated' edition with maps, photos from the 1913 period and modern day of the places visited and the flora described. All this plus notes and an introduction by, say, Robert Macfarlane wold be capital!

The publisher could also chuck in a CD or download of the BBC radio series broadcast in March 2013 to celebrate the books centenary.

Sadly the above is unlikely to happen...in the meantime this is better than nothing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read! Read! Read!, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! a great work of prose from a great poet! I walked with him, my imagination stimulated by the power of his words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Age sometimes withers, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition) (Paperback)
Yes, the book isbeautifully written and all that but it shows its age. I find it very slow reading. Interesting though it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Paperback)
Good read - interesting perspective of travelling 100 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Already have it., 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition) (Paperback)
Unfortunately I bought this book for my partner and she already has it. I hasten to add she says it is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition)
In Pursuit of Spring (Centenary Edition) by Edward Thomas (Paperback - 11 July 2013)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews