Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done Paul
I'll put straight up front that I am a Kiss fan and have been for a long time. I've also read all the other three autobiographies and reviewed the one by Peter Criss here. In order of preference, this is the best. Quite simply it is the most connected and reflective. Paul does not descend into the somewhat sexually embarrassing boys tales that I felt marred Peter's book...
Published 6 months ago by mark eliot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fans book
This book was just as I thought it would be. As a long time KISS fan i though it gave an insight in the formation of the band and it did.
Slightly self obsessed at times but never the less I enjoyed Paul's account of the early years. How it holds up the the other members book's on sale I don't know but I shall find out.
Would I recommend this book if your a fan...
Published 5 months ago by David Corringham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done Paul, 24 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll put straight up front that I am a Kiss fan and have been for a long time. I've also read all the other three autobiographies and reviewed the one by Peter Criss here. In order of preference, this is the best. Quite simply it is the most connected and reflective. Paul does not descend into the somewhat sexually embarrassing boys tales that I felt marred Peter's book and it is more detailed than Gene's. Ace unfortunately was too far gone too much of the time to really remember what happened at all. Obviously, like any work in this nature, it is the viewpoint of the writer and we have Paul's perspective - but I think it comes as no real surprise to any Kiss fan that Paul (and not Gene) was driving the wagon throughout the 1980's. He does show his frustrations on the other band members, and I probably do see where he is coming from. Interesting are his thoughts on Eric Carr, and I feel these are very honest and don't always show him in a good light, which he admits, but at the same time show a troubled mind in Eric Carr. Perhaps now that the band are settled and happy, albeit in the last stages of their wonderful career, this reflective and honest piece can be read and accepted even by those who do not always come over in a good light. Lastly I did enjoy the early stages of Paul's life which he recounts. It is worth a read, and too often people skip on to the Kiss section they are interested in. Don't! Its definitely worth reading. One of the other reviews said that it was too egocentric - but this is an autobiography! What do you expect if you buy a book called Paul Stanley and it is by Paul Stanley, it is really ridiculous to complain that the content is about him! If you want a book about another band, or person, then don't buy this! And the reason this band made it is largely due to Paul's energy, stage personality and songwriting; with the image and grit of Gene in the mix. It's worth the five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Sad Child To Starchild...., 8 Jun 2014
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...What a journey! with the other three books,you deep down knew that Ace & Peter 's would be a dialogue of screw ups and with Gene's any interesting parts would be overtaken by his arrogance but Paul Stanley,well what a surprise his travel from sad,shy child thru stardom whilst still being a tortured soul,is mesmerising.

Whilst Ace and Gene had always been the stars as far as i was concerned,i had an admiration for the Paul Stanley i thought i knew,you know the one, supremely confident,articulate,a superstar frontman with one of the biggest bands of all time,who knew the pain he was going thru,he hid it well.

Anyone with a child with any 'disability' can relate to his childhood where he didnt get the support he needed,you can feel his sadness seep from the pages of the book.

Its plain his childhood left him with issues ,a desire to succeed and an almost pathalogical mistrust of most people,expecting to be let down and retreating further into himself everytime it happened.

His band mates take a beating,Ace and Peter,no surprise there,more surprisingly Gene cops a lot of flak and its really depressing his 'relationship' with Eric Carr.

Ultimately its an eye opening journey from Mr Stanley,it shed some light(maybe not enough) on the bands 80's and 90's phase when members came and went and the albums seemed disjointed.Thankfully he's in a happy place now,personally and musically,40 years !!! he finally got there.

All in all a great read,its his story not the KISS story,and thats as it should be,well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starchild made the best autobiography of all the KISS members, 10 April 2014
‘Face the Music: A Life Exposed’ written by KISS rock band frontman Paul Stanley, known also as a "Starchild", the last in a series of group members autobiographies, although with its quality is not among the last.

Paul Stanley, born as Stanley Bert Eisen back in 1952 of Jewish and German origins, is the most versatile member of the band KISS, which due to their extravagance and the inevitable scandals that followed them throughout their career always caused attention.

Besides being group frontman, Paul was also songwriter and painter, and those who were more familiar with this band often say that this is a man who of all four band members had the most credibility, being the most honest and possessing the best human qualities looking in general.

The key question that will be asked by people who have already bought some of autobiographies or especially those that have not purchased any - does it pay to purchase this book, and how many new things it offers compared to the already published ones?

The answer is two-fold; if we're talking about quality, in my opinion this book if you have not purchased any before is imposing as the best choice together with one of Peter Criss, but on the other hand, if you already have some of the published autobiographies, unless you a very big KISS fan, I cannot fully recommend its buying because it does not offer much new content.

The book seems honest and author inside its covers in very thoughtfully manner handles many famous and not so famous events of his life and the history of the band, although it seems that he still cannot help himself constantly talking against Gene Simmons. And besides Paul childhood this is the part of book that brings the most unknown details so if you are interested in this aspect of the KISS story you'll find a lot of interesting material.

It is interesting to read how Paul is self-critical, unlike other members of the group, and rock stars in general, therefore, on this point he is also not so common character in the history of rock music.

So I will repeat what someone here already said that this book, or even the choice of KISS autobiography that you will read, is the most conditioned of band musician you liked the most - in case that Starchild is your choice then you have my recommendations for reading his autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing, inspiring read, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a fantastic read marred only by the fact I think it could have been two volumes rather than rushing some parts of the bands career. It's a cliche, but you really feel like you know him a little after reading this, and I'm glad it wasn't just me that thought most of Gene Simmons songs were utter garbage! Paul is painfully honest at times, and whilst yes, he may blow his own trumpet a bit at times, why not, as after all, if he hadn't kept it all together, Kiss would have disintegrated years ago. Highly recommended to Kiss fans, and music fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exposing where the real talent in Kiss was, and is!, 15 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On to my 3rd bio (after Ace and Gene), and as I suspected, this is the most "horse's mouth" so far. Wonderful to finally get the truth on so many legendary tales, and the inside word on a whole lot more incidents. It makes for a really "satisfying" read, for me at least. Surely there can be no disputing certain facts now, e.g. when Paul, Gene and Bob Ezrin have all - independently - gone into great detail on episodes involving Peter's relative ineptness as a musician, you KNOW it must have been true, however rose-tinted your glasses were. I felt for him, having to listen to Peter's airhead partners claim that Peter was the true talent of Kiss, etc. (It's pointless arguing with such illogical cretins.) However, Paul doesn't escape a total hero in my yes. For starters, the "ear" business. Now I hadn't the slightest inkling of it, as big a fan as I've been for decades, so he did well to keep the matter hidden (and deserves praise for not letting it put him off making music). But even after it's treated, he still goes on and on and on about it. Why? Yes, he was bullied as a child. But by early 20s he was a millionaire with the world at his feet. Any other bullied kid in that position would say "I've won!", and that would be an end to it. Likewise, kids with a physical disability grow up worrying about it affecting their intimate relationships, and wonder if they'll even ever have one. But by early 20s he'd already slept with dozens (hundreds? thousands?) of girls, so again, he was one up on his detractors. Why the continual moaning about needing a psychiatrist? It didn't make sense. Also, he reaches a time when he realises his wealth and material possessions aren't making him happy. He seems to indicate we should respect him for pulling the plug on it, but even though he stops buying himself things, he continues to spend millions on ungrateful, gold-digging partners. It's like he hasn't learned a thing after all. Anyway, he still gets my vote for (at times single-handedly) keeping Kiss alive, and I wish him many healthy years yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems honest, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Paul Anderson (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read samples of all four autobiographies before settling on Paul's. I've been a KISS fan since 1976, so was dying to read all the gossip, but I was surprised at how open and honest he came across.

As an insight into how four dysfunctional misfits created the most famous rock band in the world it was fascinating, and he pulls no punches about his own faults as well as those of his fellow band members.

I'd thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and entertaining, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and entertaining. Even if you don't like kiss. Stanley appears to be honest, which makes the book a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul's book was riveting and thoughtful. I understand his music so much better now, knowing his life and background. A brave man who deserves all the success he has etched out for himself through determination and hard work, while his other band members went off the rails. A great read even if you're not a KISS fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Kiss Army Veterans, 11 July 2014
By 
Thomas Skiens (Sacramento, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my son, a former member of the Kiss Army. He said it was great, he loves it.
Tj
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to meet you Paul, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a nice if somewhat condensed bio giving personal insight into the amazing career and personal life of an amazing showman, performer and rock n roll legend. without KISS in my life from age 12, no idea where I would be now. and to now have a glimpse of the Starchild and having already read the Demons bio I am so glad I have, like millions of others around the world, KISS and their history both personal and band oriented to shed light on the greatness that is simply the best. You wanted the best and you got the best. the hottest band in the world (and beyond) KISS!!!
drop the backing curtain and hear the roar and let the legends of rock blow your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Face the Music: A Life Exposed
Face the Music: A Life Exposed by Paul Stanley (Audio CD - 8 April 2014)
£29.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews