Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
8
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2015
Be Catholic in the true sense of the word.

I think that's what Weigel is asking us to be.
Suspend all partisanship. Embrace the truth of the Faith within what the Church teaches and allows and go out into the World and live the Faith in the everyday.
It's the way to to effectively evangelise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Written in such a textbook form that it essentially just reels off the right formulas vs the wrong ones. I couldn't get through a chapter without having to break from the bombardment. Generally, I thought this type of discussion is precisely what turns people off but Weigel is obviously a stickler. To be fair, though, I did enjoy the sporadic historical reflections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Some good ideas but generally it was a long rant about things Weigel doesn't like in the church such as the priest facing the people at Mass, some hymns and people living together being allowed to get married.

His definition of evangelical catholicism had a great deal to do with telling people how to behave and not much on how to show God's love in the world so as to build up God's Kingdom.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
This bok claims to be about Evangelical Catholism, but it keeps refeering back to sacramental aspects, whic we have too much of.It has some positive suggestions and is worth reading, but is a bit disapppointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This an excellent manifesto for authentic reform in the Catholic Church. A call to all to return to the true roots of the Faith and accept our call to be disciples of Christ and proclaimers of the Gospel through the Lord's Church.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I had to give up in Chapter 3 when I read that Counter Reformation Catholicism " did not lay much stress on sanctification through a regular encounter with the Bible and frequent reception of holy communion (a lacuna that eventually had to be addressed by legislating the annual reception of communion during the Easter season)."

Any informed Catholic knows that there was no lacuna to be addressed since 1215 and the Fourth Lateran Council. That council, long before the reformation, famously imposes excommunication on adult Catholics who do not receive Communion "at least at Easter".

It was not just the error but the hectoring tone of the word "eventually" which reoccurs in this book prevented me continuing. It is the tone of a street fighter.

PLEASE MAY I HAVE MY MONEY BACK

It makes you wonder how accurate the author was years ago when he wrote a biography of Pope John Paul II.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
George Weigel has not published a book which failed to hit the target. This one is no exception. Thought provoking, learned while being very readable. Needs to be read more than once for the wisdom it contains
Kevin Keeley.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
this author has such vision and it's so full of common sense - I wish he was advising the curia in Rome
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)