Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zen and the art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half fullapproach to organisational development
This is an accessible book, written in plain language with a unique blend of personal journey and the principles and process of `appreciative inquiry'. The book gives practical knowledge on `how to' do AI but more importantly promotes finding ways to be open to opportunity, look at things differently and promote transformational change.

There are a number of...
Published 16 months ago by Roger E

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no Zen
no Zen - doesn't cover the topics in the title. AI discussion is patchy. not related to Zen at all.
Published 12 months ago by j reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zen and the art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half fullapproach to organisational development, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
This is an accessible book, written in plain language with a unique blend of personal journey and the principles and process of `appreciative inquiry'. The book gives practical knowledge on `how to' do AI but more importantly promotes finding ways to be open to opportunity, look at things differently and promote transformational change.

There are a number of books on the market that describe the Appreciative Inquiry process, so in that respect Roger Rowetts book is part of the body of literature that offers an alternative to more traditional forms of evaluation / inquiry to aid organisational development through people.

What is refreshingly different is that Rowett uses his own journey, through personal and professional development and experiential learning to illustrate why his passion for appreciative inquiry is central to his work with people and organisational development.

He takes a refreshing original approach to thinking about the 5 D process, with a range of thought provoking references from a range of inspirational sources and (my personal favourite) Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance. For those of us of a certain age and background this will resonate with you. It's a book of many perspectives including personal centred psychology, organisational development, martial arts philosophy (seriously), motorbikes and career references from teaching, youth work and being a HMI and care standards inspector too (amongst others). There is a load of Zen in there too - as long as you do not look for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for managers who want to avoid the blame game and build on what works, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
I am not a touchy-feely manager and I'm wary of management texts that promise organisational change through caring and sharing. But I was intrigued by the glass half full' approach described by Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry - too often businesses focus on finding the bad and then looking for someone to blame. This book shows you how to avoid scapegoating and look for solutions in what you are doing well.

It focuses heavily on the social services sector, where the author has worked most, but I still found the process described easy to follow and the case studies easy to understand and very useful. It explains the management philosophies behind AI, the process in detail, and gives good examples of how the methods could be used to build change out of what is working in an organisation rather than continually picking at what is wrong.

I have already found myself using some of the questioning techniques described in the book to get people to think beyond where they are at and imagine a more productive, more fulfilling work environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A personal introduction, 15 Aug 2014
By 
Simon Osborne (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
This short and succinct book provides a very personal, accessible and gentle introduction into Appreciative Inquiry.

Roger quietly familiarises you with the subject through personal contexts which gives a tangible feel to the content.

AI is set out to be a positive intervention methodology and Rogers's book certainly portrays and reinforces this concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How seeing the good is always the most constructive, 10 April 2014
By 
Pieter Egriega (Macclesfield, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
Don't buy this book if you want to find out what's wrong with your organisation...it's not the way it works. This book will help you find out what is right in your organisation and spread it across the board so that everything improves.

Roger Rowett fundamentally understands that when you lift the hood off any organisational structure, you can't fix what's wrong by yanking out the bit that's not working...

His writing style is friendly and inclusive and he provides many useful examples.

I passed this book on to my local NHS Hospital Trust so they could start the process of working on what is right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best and easiest introduction to AI on the market at the moment, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
Whether you are a seasoned practitioner, an academic or new to Appreciative Inquiry (AI), this book is a great and easy read. Roger has made the theory and practice of AI accessible to everyone. What I enjoyed particularly is Roger's openness and willingness to explore which gives us an engaging reading experience different from most AI books that I know of. Roger stays open to and lives social construction through his experiences. Quoting from the book; "these discoveries are important to me because I experienced them".
As the convener and lead trainer of the Lincoln Workshop Series where we have trained people in AI for the past 14 years, I can honestly say that this is probably the best and easiest introduction to AI on the market at the moment. In addition the book has a wonderful Zen-like quality in both text and lay-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An engaging & informative read - great for a newcomer to Appreciative Inquiry, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
As an HR Director I have heard a lot in recent months about Appreciative Inquiry, and so was intrigued to learn more about the theory and its application in a business context. This book is the first I have read on the topic & can highly recommend it to any newcomer to the principles of AI. Rowett writes in an extremely engaging, warm & accessible style, with his many personal experiences helping the reader to bring the concept of AI to life. I felt as if I was actually on the same journey that the author was on, which made it very enjoyable to follow and understand.

This book provides a very clear and easy to understand explanation of the theory, followed by lots of excellent practical examples of how to apply each of the stages in a work environment. It is so refreshing to discover such a positive way of helping to improve work practices, and I have come away with some really good ideas provided by the author which I am already thinking putting into practice.

A highly recommended, informative and easily accessible book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely blend of practicality and warm personal reflection, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
Being relatively new to the AI approach but interested in mindfulness I was intrigued to see how the author would combine both the technical aspects and explanation of AI with a wider sense of spirituality which the title would suggest. I wasn't disappointed and found the book warm and engaging from the first page, whilst learning enough about the process to feel confident in applying some of the aspects to parts of my work straight away. This book really does embody a sense of positivity which motivates the reader to focus on the strengths within a change process rather than the difficulties which is so often the case.

I am sure this will enable me to be more successful within my work in the corporate world and will benefit the many people who struggle to find a sense of meaning and purpose when faced with huge upheaval and organisational change. If only we all focused on the positive explanation that any change can bring if allowed.. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars practical wisdom grounded in real life experience and warm humanity, 2 Jun 2013
By 
N. Andrews (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, not least because of the authors warm humanity and integrity which shines through. The world of social care within which I work is often dominated by a focus on compliance with impersonal processes, polices and procedures. By contrast, the author calls for a greater emphasis on meaningful relationships and conversations, which my own experience tells me can deliver far more positive outcomes. I am reminded of the words of Jonathan Aitken who spoke on Radio 4 in response to the MP expenses scandal in 2011, when he said that 'compliance has replaced conscience'. This book restores 'heart and soul' to both our thinking and our practice and its simple, but not simplistic message should be heeded by both policy makers and practitioners.

Carl Rogers once said 'that which is most personal is most universal'. I think this book is a good illustration of this truth, as I could relate to so much of what is written thanks to the author's personal self disclosure and real life practice examples. I recommend this book to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you will ever need...., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
I love this book. It's full of wisdom and joy, written engagingly from a personal perspective and bringing great clarity to a wonderful approach. Appreciative Inquiry is the search for what gives life and you'll find plenty of it in here. Read it, enjoy it and make what you will of it - it's offered in the spirit of openness and reflection and is a great ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Read...., 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development (Paperback)
When I ordered the book, I anticipated it being another organisational development book that would encompass the same old stuff, mixed up, and set out in a slightly different way. How wrong was I?
Roger has taken the art of Appreciative Inquiry and laid it out in an easy to read, simple to understand format, that encourages you to keep reading.
I tend to 'dip into' organisational development books, and take from them a snippet here, and a thought there. Not so with Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry, I've read and reread every page, just to make sure I've not missed anything!
I'm not going to write about the contents, suffice to say it is well worth reading if you have anything to do with organisational development. It is also a must for anyone's bookshelf if there is a need, or supposed need for change in their lives. The book has been written with a view to providing a positive alternative to the usual organisational development books, but I feel many of the principles can be applied to your personal life too.
I'm doubtful there will be a sequel to Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry, but I'm hopeful that Roger will be encouraged enough by the response to Zen, to write another book, I guarantee I will be buying a copy when he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zen and the Art of Appreciative Inquiry: A glass half full approach to organisational development
11.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews