Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone who knows nothing about Chrome book.
Good reading, but I am not an expert on pads, books,or laptops. I am still not sure which way to go.It has given me an insight to chrome.
Published 13 months ago by Frederick Stephenson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide?
I purchased the 1st edition of this publication and was not impressed. I had sight of the 2nd edition and like a significant number of reviewers was similarly underwhelmed (see reviews on 2nd edition). I have now had the opportunity of reading an acquaintance's copy of the 3rd edition and I have to admit this edition is a considerable improvement on the previous two,...
Published 16 months ago by Falling Sands


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide?, 14 Mar 2013
I purchased the 1st edition of this publication and was not impressed. I had sight of the 2nd edition and like a significant number of reviewers was similarly underwhelmed (see reviews on 2nd edition). I have now had the opportunity of reading an acquaintance's copy of the 3rd edition and I have to admit this edition is a considerable improvement on the previous two, although to describe it as 'the essential guide' is stretching the nature of it's value in my view.

This is a bigger book than the previous two editions running to 148 pages spread out over 13 chapters. When one realises over half the chapters cover familiar or otherwise generalised subjects, e.g. the case for cloud computing; Chromebook computers; Gmail, contacts and calendar; Google apps; Web apps and the Chrome Web Store; your Google account; cloud computing "conundrums" and "a case study", one is left asking whether the "update" is little more than padding out what already existed.

When alls said and done this is a brave attempt to improve on what has gone before and to that extent is to be applauded. If you are an absolute beginner this is the book for you, although a tad expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Chrome Book, third edition, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook (Paperback)
This has much more useful information than the second edition.
I still have difficulty using my Acer Chromebook without WiFi, as mentioned, as the machine demands a connection before signing in. There could be more on this in Edition Four!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone who knows nothing about Chrome book., 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook (Paperback)
Good reading, but I am not an expert on pads, books,or laptops. I am still not sure which way to go.It has given me an insight to chrome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chrome book, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook (Paperback)
Perfectly adequate for learning about the chrome book and cloud competing, not really a lot more to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Chrome Book, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook (Paperback)
Having plenty to learn about computing, i found this book very informative after purchasing my Samsung Chromebook.
For a very experienced user maybe there is not a lot to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a computer genius, is why I bought it!, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook (Paperback)
The author obviously thinks we are all computer experts. Written in jargon. I don`t give a toss about his business problems and what he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dummies Guide ? :(, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was hoping this would be like a 'dummies guide' but actually its a lot more complicated than that, I'm just going to have to sit down and concentrate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 25 Oct 2013
By 
D. J. M. Hardie (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
still not sure why chrome / android on phone and mobile not the same product on chrome book. pity. pity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Basics, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook (Paperback)
Some basic problems ,in my view as a learner, such as why The Chromebook goes offline for no apparent reaso ,and how to get it back online again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything fine., 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook (Paperback)
Four stars, because nothing is perfect. Packing, delivery & goods all fine and I would recommend this item to anyone. John Oughton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews