Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book
Shearer's poeticism does Patanjali's aphorisms justice. This book is beautifully written, with uplifting translations. Though I myself am an author of a Patanjali book, I carry this one around with me, too!
Published on 4 Jan. 2009 by Dr. Jacqueline Koay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Text is wonderful - but poor printing and hundreds of typos
The Sutras are fantastic, but this edition requires a serious proof-read! There are hundreds of typos and misprints, the cover image is of poor quality and pixilated, there's no consideration of text layout...
Published 8 months ago by Jess


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 4 Jan. 2009
Shearer's poeticism does Patanjali's aphorisms justice. This book is beautifully written, with uplifting translations. Though I myself am an author of a Patanjali book, I carry this one around with me, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A supeb introcduction to Pananjai's Yoga Sutras, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beatifully written and accessible commentary to Patanjali's great work. I find other commentaries to the Yoga Sutras are unduly complex but his book by contrast is lucid and helpful. It does not set out to be a 'Teach Yourself' guide but is an inspiring book for a seeker new to yoga or an exprienced traveller on the Way. As a priest and meditation teacher this is in my lifetimes top ten books.

The1982 edition was acompanied by lavish phoographs of sacred sites by Richard Lannoy which are not inluded in this new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars authentic true self philosophy, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a fantastic philosophy to live by. at last I have found my authentic true self. the "limbs of yoga" filled my spiritual needs without the burden of religious rituals. I have my faith, karma will reward or reprimand. I've handed my trust to karma to punish me or reward me, as it will thos. who have wronged me. ahimsa - do no harm a good grounding
om shanti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Text is wonderful - but poor printing and hundreds of typos, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali (Paperback)
The Sutras are fantastic, but this edition requires a serious proof-read! There are hundreds of typos and misprints, the cover image is of poor quality and pixilated, there's no consideration of text layout...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali (Paperback)
Clear interpretations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali
The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali by Patanjali (Paperback - 22 Feb. 2013)
£4.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews