Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book!
Well, I was somewhat negative about the freshwater companion to this but this offering on saltwater fish is markedly better. The layout and proofreading as well as relevance is far superior (only a few typos) and it's the perfect pocket guidebook. Some of the illustrations are perhaps not accurate in terms of colour compared to real fish but this is only a minor glitch on...
Published 14 months ago by Snapper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor illustrations, not much text.
Almost a good book. Not bad, but could be much better.

Main gripe: the illustrations are sadly lacking colour-wise -I think this is due to being cheaply produced by people who've never seen fish with their skins on. Fish colouring can vary within species, but I've never yet seen a yellow and black mackerel!

The title states that this book is for the...
Published 11 months ago by PZ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor illustrations, not much text., 7 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Angler's Book of British Sea Fish (Paperback)
Almost a good book. Not bad, but could be much better.

Main gripe: the illustrations are sadly lacking colour-wise -I think this is due to being cheaply produced by people who've never seen fish with their skins on. Fish colouring can vary within species, but I've never yet seen a yellow and black mackerel!

The title states that this book is for the British angler, but info on each species is pretty minimal. Basic diet of each species eats is given, but brief suggestions for baits/lures rigs etc could be added. There would be space for this if the layout was improved within the current one-page-per-species paperback-sized format. There could also be more specific distribution info or even small maps like in bird books. A good number of species are covered, but there's no mention of slob/sea trout or Atlantic salmon although Coho salmon is there.

Given that this book might be used by anglers for species identification, and that there is already an alphabetical index of species at the front (which should be at the back!), I'd prefer the book to be in order of the physical appearance of fish rather than alphabetical. -So flatfish together; dogs, tope & sharks together; gurnards & gobies together; etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The text is sparse and on the ipad I was expecting to see some stunning pictures/photographs. Not so. You would be better getting off down to the library and getting out a Collins book of fish or similar. Really disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disapointed, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Angler's Book of British Sea Fish (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed with this book for the price, as this was a birthday present for a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Angler's Book of British Sea Fish (Paperback)
I liked this book but one or two of the pictures were not as photos I have seen in top quality fishing magazines. However a good guide to the species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book!, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Angler's Book of British Sea Fish (Paperback)
Well, I was somewhat negative about the freshwater companion to this but this offering on saltwater fish is markedly better. The layout and proofreading as well as relevance is far superior (only a few typos) and it's the perfect pocket guidebook. Some of the illustrations are perhaps not accurate in terms of colour compared to real fish but this is only a minor glitch on very few of the species.

Yep, it's a lovely little book; please do an updated version of the fresh one to match this standard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the anglers book of british sea fish, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was a very good read lot of tips in it for me to try. I have told all my friend s about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Angler's Book of British Sea Fish (Paperback)
So that's what that thing on my line is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Angler's Book of British Sea Fish
The Angler's Book of British Sea Fish by Paul Duffield (Paperback - 19 Feb 2013)
12.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews