Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough information to be useful, little enough to keep it interesting.
A well written account of a solo (if you do not count the Craig, the bike) trip across France followed by some assaults on famous Tour de France climbs. Interesting, amusing, informative and hard to put down. One I am going to keep for future reference as the useful information is summarised at the end of each chapter.
Published 19 months ago by Mr. K. Prior

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just an ok read
just an ok read. really let down because there are no photographs(no not a single one), no maps and no planning tips.....just how was all the accommodation booked for instance ? as it was all obviously booked in advance........cost of travelling was also high for a cycle tour.....approx 70-100 euro a day for all the good food/drink and accommodation..........
Published 17 months ago by benmac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good read if you are a cyclist or even if you are not, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He takes you through France and highlights places of interest. He rates the places he stayed at and gives an idea of the price.

I reduced my rating by one star because at the end he wanted to ride most of the major climbs that were taken in by the Tour De France. I felt I was already familiar with these and did not need telling about them. However others could find this section interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars French travels with Craig and relatives, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A cycling book written from a different perspective and non the worse for that.. Steven Herrick manages to entertain, educate and amuse in pretty much equal parts.
The bonuses come in the form of places to stay along with details of routes, kilometres covered and height climbed.
Well worth a read and as they say in France: Chapeaux!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring to read!, 25 Oct. 2013
Simply put, I loved this book! The bike names, the food eaten, the stays in the various lodgings, the people he encountered enroute and the joy that the author experienced all go well together to shoe cycling in its best light. I'd heartily recommend this to anyone, cyclist or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Baguettes and Bicycles, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy reading but it has become a little repetitive. Get up - ride Bike - eat lunch - ride bike - find bed - eat diner - go to bed. I have enjoyed following the route with Google maps but have still to finish after 5 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspirational book for any middle aged men (or women) contemplating a mid life crisis on 2 wheels. Maybe not the hill climbs though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good holiday read especially if you are in France., 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought back good memories of a similar trip I had been on. Cycling in France is as much about the food as the scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite entertaining and hes clearly a very good writer but its written in such a weird format, if he had really gone into detail on each place id have given another star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable (and useful) travelogue, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
I. Curwen "Ian Curwen" (West Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book, which is a witty, fast-paced trek across France. As a cyclist and a lover of France, I found Stephen's descriptions of his journey, the places he visited and hotels in which he stayed, fascinating. Each chapter includes a helpful summary of the day's journey, including where to stay and where to visit. This information would be useful for anyone considering a similar journey, especially for the Tour de France climbs he undertakes towards the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read, 15 Aug. 2013
Having cycled the the same route, although in the opposite direction a year before,
I obviously had to read this book. So glad I did, I now have to go back and tackle the mountains as did Steven. If you enjoy cycling at any level, read this book. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food France and Bikes., 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read, time to get the Lycra out! And sharpen the knife and fork. An adventure for men "of a certain age".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

baguettes and bicycles: a cycling adventure across France: 1 (Eurovelo)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews