Customer Reviews


327 Reviews
5 star:
 (231)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conn at his best
Review
So after a gap of 8 years since the last book in this series
Emperor
1. The Gates of Rome (2003)
2. The Death of Kings (2004)
3. The Field of Swords (2004)
4. The Gods of War (2005)
5. The Blood of Gods (2013)
How does this new offering stack up? does it have all that the early books did? or has it progressed with the writers...
Published 18 months ago by Parm

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ooooops
Conn's books up to now have been among my favourites of all time, with the Emperor series particularly high on my list, so I must admit to being quite excited when I got this. I was crushingly disappointed. Even being a history buff, I didn't mind that throughout the Emperor series, history had been changed here and there to fit in with the story as the books were such an...
Published 17 months ago by bob blake


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ooooops, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Conn's books up to now have been among my favourites of all time, with the Emperor series particularly high on my list, so I must admit to being quite excited when I got this. I was crushingly disappointed. Even being a history buff, I didn't mind that throughout the Emperor series, history had been changed here and there to fit in with the story as the books were such an enjoyable read, and the introduction of fictional characters and the omission of quite important characters in the real story bothered me not at all, such was my enjoyment. So what happened here?

Brutus hardly knows Octavian in the new book which is surprising considering how much time they spent together in the last 4. what happened to Domitian, Ciro and the rest of the crew, surely just a paragraph to either kill them off or retire them would have been tidier. It seems with the introduction of some of the real historical characters and trying to be a little (not much) closer to actual history, this book lost its soul along the way. For those readers without a passing knowledge of the period but who have enjoyed the 4 previous books, there would have been a lot of "where the hell did he come from? " going on.

This would have been far better billed as a stand alone book, not as No5 of the series, with a footnote distancing this book from the rest. Then I would have been able to fully enjoy it, as it actually (once I got my head around it) is really quite good.

So in conclusion, don't read this expecting it to be No5, it isn't, but saying that I hope Conn now tidies it all up and does the final book and documents the fall of Antony and expands the story of Agrippa who was quite an extraordinary man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conn at his best, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review
So after a gap of 8 years since the last book in this series
Emperor
1. The Gates of Rome (2003)
2. The Death of Kings (2004)
3. The Field of Swords (2004)
4. The Gods of War (2005)
5. The Blood of Gods (2013)
How does this new offering stack up? does it have all that the early books did? or has it progressed with the writers skill?
I'm happy to say that the book retains the passion of the early Emperor books, but incorporates all the lessons learned since that time.
As usual with this series you have to accept the authors slight meddling with the timeline for places and character names, this as per previous books is done to make the book a tight, fast paced novel, whilst retaining the integrity of the history (it is fiction after all). All those niggles the purist may have are answered in the author notes at the back of the book.
This book tells how Octavian starts his rise to power, how does a young boy of 17 take over from his adopted father? how does he suddenly take on the devious and wily Liberatores, the men who killed Caesar? And how does he command the respect of the people and legions of Rome?
Conn gives a convincing and powerful portrayal of this young man and his two friends Agrippa and Maecenas, their journey from adolescents enjoying leave in Greece, to absorbing the news of the murder of the greatest man of their age and then the audacity and prowess needed to take on the might of the senate, Cassius, Brutus, Mark Anthony and the systemic corruption and arrogance of the Roman elite.
Conn charts this progress with skill and believability, we know Octavian managed all this, what many know is how, the high level story but we don't know all the problems he faced along the way. One of the best parts of Conn's writing and research is how he mixes in all the little facts, the nuggets that are so strange they sound like fiction, and turn out to be true. When you couple that with his natural storytelling skill, you get a stunning novel.
You know the type of bloke, a person who in face to face in conversation can just keep a whole room captivated. He is the type of guy you either hated at school or wanted as your best mate. I think we just need to be thankful he became a writer so we get to enjoy that natural storytelling talent, rather than him being the centre of attention in the pub on a Friday night.
Are there issues with the book?
Yes, it's not long enough this story deserves a whole series all on its own, the story of Octavian is just as epic as Gaius Julius Caesar, in fact possibly more so, Octavian was thrown in at the deep end Caesar had time to build and learn. Octavian was the true father of Imperial Rome and ruled until the age of 75, which in Rome is unprecedented. This series was supposed to end with book 4 and yet we have book 5 and WOW am i glad we do...will Conn cave and do book 6? I doubt it but never say never. I still hold out hope of another Genghis book but don't ever expect to get one.
After this brilliant book we have a shift in time periods for Conn his next book is set somewhat later than this series, and when i have more i will blog on it, he will be at a new publishers also, so we should see some fantastic new cover styles to compliment the book.
Many thanks to Harper Collins for bringing us such a fine writer and so many brilliant tales.

But for now, Conn signs off with Harper in style, with a truly powerful dramatic tale that fulfilled almost every expectation I had for Octavian's rise to power.

Very Highly recommended
(Parm)

Conn made my Top 10 books list, see which book and wherehttp://headofzeus.com/article/my-top-10-books-robin-carter
For Conn's other books see below
Emperor
1. The Gates of Rome (2003)
2. The Death of Kings (2004)
3. The Field of Swords (2004)
4. The Gods of War (2005)
5. The Blood of Gods (2013)
Gates of Rome / Death of Kings (omnibus) (2009)
Emperor: The Gates of Rome / The Death of Kings / The Field of Swords / The Gods of War (omnibus) (2011)

Conqueror
1. Wolf of the Plains (2007)
aka Genghis: Birth of an Empire
2. Lords of the Bow (2008)
aka Genghis: Lords of the Bow
3. Bones of the Hills (2008)
4. Empire of Silver (2010)
aka Khan: Empire of Silver
5. Conqueror (2011)
Conqueror and Lords of the Bow (omnibus) (2009)
The Khan Series (omnibus) (2012)
Conqueror Series 5-Book Bundle (omnibus) (2013)

Tollins
1. Tollins: Explosive Tales for Children (2009)
2. Dynamite Tales (2011) (with Lizzy Duncan)

Quick Reads 2012
Quantum of Tweed: The Man with the Nissan Micra (2012)

Novellas
Blackwater (2006)

Non fiction
The Dangerous Book for Boys (2006) (with Hal Iggulden)
The Dangerous Book for Boys Yearbook (2007) (with Hal Iggulden)
The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Things to Do (2007) (with Hal Iggulden)
The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Things to Know (2008)(with Hal Iggulden)
The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Wonders of the World(2008) (with Hal Iggulden)
The Dangerous Book for Boys Kit: How to Get There (2008)
The Dangerous Book for Boys Kit: Nature Fun (2008)
The Dangerous Book for Boys: 2009 Day-to-Day Calendar(2008)
The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Facts, Figures and Fun(2008)
The Dangerous Book of Heroes (2009) (with David Iggulden)
The Dangerous Book for Boys 2010 Day-to-Day Calendar (2009)(with Hal Iggulden)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The aftermath of the assassination of Julius Caesar, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I have either read or listened to a number Conn Iggulden's historical fiction books and CD audio books. They have all been, for me, very well done and highly entertaining. Dare I say that his books set a high standard across the board for `historical fiction'. Mr Iggulden's first presentation was a book called `The Gates of Rome'; this was to be first of a series of five books of what is now known as Emperor Series.

The series is based around the life of Julius Caesar, from juvenile to his eventual betrayal and death (The Gods of War). The author's ability to cleverly entwine fact and fiction, in seamless fashion is truly flawless in my opinion, and this really makes his books work. This range of books has proved so popular that a film company has optioned the rights.

In this concluding book in the series Conn Iggulden gives a superb account of the aftermath of Caesar's assassination and the resolute mission of his adopted son Octavian to hunt down his killers. This is familiar history - but Iggulden has breathed new life here especially thanks to his recreation of Octavian, his friends and Mark Antony. Agrippa is my particular favourite here. A superb novel where the narration is top notch and crisp in its delivery as we see a nation that is in turmoil looking for revenge, which will be paid in blood on the battlefield at Philippi - who will be the victor and control Rome Mark Antony, or the untested Octavian?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I did enjoy this book to be fair it left me wanting more. I've enjoyed all the series and waited with anticipation on the arrival of the final book but didn't think it was up the previously high standard set by Conn Iggulden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review by Robin Hazelwood, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book like every book Conn Iggulden writes is absolutely enthral lying. He really gets into the characters minds and whilst he slightly changes some facts to make the story flow it is historically correct. A fascinating read which makes you want to research that period in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emperor Blood of Gods, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read by Conn Iggulden, he is the master of this genre and I would recommend him to anyone who loves Historical fiction. Note the small 'f' in fiction as he does research his subjects so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, the started the series again!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In a market awash with this genre of historical fiction Conn Iggulden is the stand out author!
The pace and ocntent of the book always keeps you entertained and wanting to read more.
I finished this book then started the series again and am back onto Book 3.
The book just kept me fascinated from start to finish and i couldnt put it down.
If you like the Emperor series i'd highlighly recommend the Conqueror series and Conn's short storeies novels which are outstanding for the commutes to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait!, 23 Feb 2014
Iggulden is a brilliant story teller! The Conqueror and Emperor series both had me hooked from the outset and I was very excited to pick up this series in the aftermath of the Ides of March. Hopefully we can look forward to another chapter in the Roman power struggle yet to come between Octavian and Marc Anthony and see how an Empire was born! Brilliant .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Caesar, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fairly new reader of this author, both I and my son, have been swept off our feet by the scale of this series. A really great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When is the next instalment?, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant. It was too short, can't wait until the next one! I was gripped from the start and couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blood of Gods: A Novel of Rome (Emperor)
The Blood of Gods: A Novel of Rome (Emperor) by Conn Iggulden (Audio CD - 2 July 2013)
£18.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews