Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars6
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£25.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 8 February 2015
This is the first book in the new (sub)series by Lindsey Davis, which features Flavia Albia, daughter of Falco (the protagonist of the main Falco series by Davis). I picked up the second book in this Flavia Albia series, Enemies at Home, and read it before I went back and read this one. Oddly enough, I think if I had read this first book in the series previous to reading the second one, I may well not have gone on to read any more, because I did not enjoy this first book quite as much as I enjoyed the second.

In the first half of the book, Flavia Albia comes across as someone with a chip on her shoulder as big as the Colosseum, and it became rather irritating after a while, when she kept dismissing everyone she came across as either beneath her notice or a lying hypocrite. Happily, the second half of the book came across much better; the plot of the story picked up, and the characters as a whole in the story became much more interesting.

Flavia Albia is an informer in Rome in the reign of Domitian, a rather unpredictable emperor on whose wrong side it was not wise to get; and the life of an informer could be rather dangerous, let alone for a woman. Luckily Flavia Albia had a good upbringing with her loyal and loving family after a rocky start in life, and she is no ordinary shrinking Roman matron. When she is asked to investigate the sudden death of one of her clients, she at first dismisses the notion that the death was anything but natural. But delving further into the underworld of Rome, she finds a number of apparently unlinked but sudden deaths. Could they have any relation to the death of her client, and what could their links be?

This story certainly picked up in the second half, and got better as it went along. On the strength of my enjoyment of the second book in the series, I will most definitely look out for the third book. Hopefully Flavia Albia continues to find more mysteries in the world of Rome in the first century AD.
1515 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Ides of April," set in Domitian's Rome, introduces Flavia Albia who had been a minor character in some of the author's previous books as a detective in her own right. It follows on from the twenty excellent detective stories which Lyndsey Davis had previously set in Vespasian's Roman Empire and which featured the informer Marcus Didius Falco as the main character.

Flavia Albia is Falco's adopted daughter. As this begins in 89 AD, a dozen years after the last Falco book "Nemesis: (Falco 20), Flavia is a widow in her late twenties having enjoyed a happy but tragically brief marriage a few years previously. Her family are wealthy enough that she could have enjoyed a life of leisure but being very much her own woman, Albia has set up independently as an "informer" e.g. private detective like her father before her.

The book begins with the tragic death of a little boy in a genuine accident: having been hired by one of the parties to the subsequent lawsuit Flavia finds that various clients and witnesses suddenly start mysteriously dying. Flavia becomes more and more convinced that these subsequent deaths are not accidents at all, but are part of a pattern of murder. While investigating, she meets two characters from the office of one of Rome's senior magistrates, an Aedile called Manlius Faustus: one is the surly and obnoxious Tiberius, the other is the handsome and suave Andronicus. But is either man quite what he appears ?

As the death toll mounts, Albia, Andronicus and Tiberius try to catch the killer, but it becomes more and more apparent that danger is very close to home ...

This story is based on a real historical incident: a historical note at the end of the book, quoting Dio Cassius's Roman History, gives the source for the actual event. If you're interested here's a link:Dio Cassius: Roman History, Volume VIII, Books 61-70 (Loeb Classical Library No. 176), but read "The Ides of April" first as knowledge of what actually happened will be a spoiler.

The novel contains Lindsey Davis's usual mix of ironic humour about human relationships, generous nuggets of information about the society and politics of first century Rome, and an intriguing detective story.

The original Falco series, in chronological order, consists of:

1) The Silver Pigs
2) Shadows in Bronze
3) Venus in Copper
4) The Iron Hand of Mars
5) Poseidon's Gold
6) Last Act in Palmyra
7) Time to Depart
8) A Dying Light in Corduba
9) Three Hands in the Fountain
10) Two for the Lions
11) One Virgin Too Many
12) Ode to a Banker
13) A Body in the Bath house
14) The Jupiter Myth
15) The Accusers
16) Scandal taks a Holiday
17) See Delphi and Die
18) Saturnalia
19) Alexandria
20) Nemesis

And as mentioned, this book "The Ides of April" picks up the story again a dozen years later.

Funny, exciting, and based on a painstaking effort to re-create the world of the early Roman empire between 70 and 89 AD.

It isn't absolutely essential to read these stories in sequence, as the mysteries Falco and Albia are trying to solve are all self-contained stories and each book can stand on its own. Having said that, there is some ongoing development of characters and relationships and I think reading them in the right order does improve the experience.

The author has also written novels about the two Emperors who were in power in Rome at the time these stories are set: "The Course of Honour" about Vespasian's love affair with his mistress Caenis, and "Master and God" about his son Domitian.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
The plot line sits firmly in the tradition set by her earlier Falco novels. I enjoyed the pace and felt that the book should be recommended as a good and absorbing read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Enjoyable listen, she has potential to be as good a character as Falco. Good delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
This book picks up from the last Lindsey Davis book, from when Albia run's a way from the chief spy. it a good read and I am looking fourwould to the next story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
love it to death.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse