Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The author not the nanny
I enjoyed finding out about P L Travers. If you want to know more about the author of the Mary Poppins books it's worth the time reading it.
Published 13 months ago by Riven

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good general overview, but light in detail!
As the title of my review would suggest, I found this book interesting, but there were many times within it where I felt there was a jump or a gap. Throughout the book you are given snippet insights into the working life of Travers, however very little is told about her as a person in any real detail at all.
For the price, it gives you a good general...
Published 14 months ago by katie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The author not the nanny, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed finding out about P L Travers. If you want to know more about the author of the Mary Poppins books it's worth the time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on Mary Poppins, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Mrs. F. S. Rogan "Felicity" (Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Paperback)
Having seen the recent film starring Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, had to read the book. Not disappointed. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Life Mary Poppins:The. Life and Times of P.L. Travers, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read this account of Pamela Travers, and also having seen the film "Saving Mr Banks", it really puts a different light on the film " Mary Poppins", in fact makes it more enjoyable, and understandable, knowing how and why the characters were created.
This little biography is truly well written, and is extremely enjoyable.
I would recommend it in every way, then download and enjoy the full "Mary Poppins"collection, as I did.
Believe me,there is an awful lot of reading there, approx 8 full books in total, and a lot of them not included in the film.
Regarding the film "Saving Mr Banks", Tom Hanks makes a wonderful Walt Disney, but be prepared to take a
Couple of tissues with you, as it is a bit of a tear jerker!
Well worth the read in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good general overview, but light in detail!, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title of my review would suggest, I found this book interesting, but there were many times within it where I felt there was a jump or a gap. Throughout the book you are given snippet insights into the working life of Travers, however very little is told about her as a person in any real detail at all.
For the price, it gives you a good general overview,however, if you're after a detailed read this book may not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars real life mary poppins, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
short novella on the life of mary poppins. interesting, but at times dry; although as ms travers went to great lengths to keep her private life out of the media; I do not think any wriitngs about her would be any better a good all round biography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly edited, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was laden with errors and had an annoying use of present tense. The adoption of her son was barely mentioned. It felt incomplete and generally disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it provides a good summary of her life and her works, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Paperback)
At only 72 pages, it provides a very brief overview of the author's life. As a result, it has to skip over many aspects of her life such as her adopting a child. nevertheless, it provides a good summary of her life and her works, namely her Mary poppins books. As such, it is a good intoroductory work. recommended for those who would like short works about famous authors and for those who would like to explore more about this author in subsequent, lengthier biographies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatic, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable to read, couldn't stop reading till it finish took me a day....but the film saving mr bank is much better,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poorly written - English grammar appalling, tenses all over ..., 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
poorly written - English grammar appalling, tenses all over the place and 'missing links' - ie referring to a person by name with no explanation (and this person was key to PL Travers life!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Irritating read, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
interesting content but the whole experience was marred by the irritating tense changes for no apparent reason. I am amazed that this was not picked up on during proof reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews